We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“unique eats”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Market 17

Market 17
Reserve with OpenTable
Market 17 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #19 of 1,326 Restaurants in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Eisenhower Blvd & 17th St
Transit: Water Taxi & Bus
Description: Market 17 is proud to be serving delicious, creative dishes that are literally from the farm right to the tables of our diners. We call this "wine country cuisine" because the emphasis is on fresh, clean food from top purveyors along with an abundant wine list. For the more adventurous diner, Market 17 offers 'dining in the dark'. It is our chefs table in a private room that allows a new way to experience food. Once your sight is turned off, all the other senses are heightened. It's a fun and unique experience to enjoy our food. (Due to limited seating, reservations for dining in the dark can be requested via open table notes but are not guaranteed. Please call 954.835.5507 to confirm dining in the dark reservation requests.) Our menu will change daily and we'll always offer amazing tasting menus for you to sample what the chef has created. Come and experience for yourself what all the buzz is about!
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
182 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“unique eats”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

filled with unique eats and exotic choices
was very enjoyable, able to do full course or 1/2 course to increase the selection and simply try more of the menu !

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank badrax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    392
    132
    35
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tamarac, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dining In The Dark”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

My Fiance and I had the opportunity to attend the Market 17 Dining In The Dark. The event was fabulous and it's worth a look online. You are seated in a completely dark dining room, the servers wear night vision goggles so they can see but you can't. It's unbelievable for those of us who take our sight for granted. The sounds and smells roar and the meal is the most delicious combinations and courses.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 2newFeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Favorite Fort Lauderdale Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Our favorite place in Fort Lauderdale, good food and service, a bit overpriced for what you get but there are not many better values in the area.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank SpartanFan73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The best food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

This place has the absolute best food. Great selection of wine and good ambience. We had a table for four and every dish was wonderful.

Helpful?
Thank SueD99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, Colorado
Level Contributor
103 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great food, great location, great cocktails. But...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

This is a fun place to eat! Market 17 prides itself on using locally sourced grass fed beef, pasture raised chicken, local pork, locally caught fish and local veggies. It shows in the quality and freshness of the food!
We tried the tasting menu with wine. The food was outstanding and the chef did great job of pairing the wine with each course. 6 courses, six wines. And, the chef was very willing to make changes based upon dietary restrictions. My wife is allergic to shrimp and cannot each chocolate. So- the first course ceviche was made just for her without shrimp. Dessert- (amazing by the way) heavily featured chocolate. Her dessert was prepared just for her... and wasn't just thrown together. It was equally wonderful.
Our server, Karen, was fun, attentive and very knowledgable. She was outstanding!
So, why the "But?" While the food was truly outstanding in taste, the portions, even taking into consideration that this was a six course tasting menu, were small. I would guess that each piece of meat was less than 2 oz- 2 or 3 small bites. While I don't want to walk away from a dinner feeling stuffed and uncomfortable, I do want to walk away feeling satisfied and not ready for sushi. At $125 per person, a bit larger portions would have been appropriate.

None the less, well worth a visit. The effort of using sustainable and local food translates to deliciousness on you plate!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jeldenbailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Market 17 also viewed

Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 

Been to Market 17? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing