We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very cool place, fantastic food, service was a bit rough”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Market 17

Market 17
Reserve with OpenTable
Market 17 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #19 of 1,326 Restaurants in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Eisenhower Blvd & 17th St
Transit: Water Taxi & Bus
Description: Market 17 is proud to be serving delicious, creative dishes that are literally from the farm right to the tables of our diners. We call this "wine country cuisine" because the emphasis is on fresh, clean food from top purveyors along with an abundant wine list. For the more adventurous diner, Market 17 offers 'dining in the dark'. It is our chefs table in a private room that allows a new way to experience food. Once your sight is turned off, all the other senses are heightened. It's a fun and unique experience to enjoy our food. (Due to limited seating, reservations for dining in the dark can be requested via open table notes but are not guaranteed. Please call 954.835.5507 to confirm dining in the dark reservation requests.) Our menu will change daily and we'll always offer amazing tasting menus for you to sample what the chef has created. Come and experience for yourself what all the buzz is about!
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
138 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Very cool place, fantastic food, service was a bit rough”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

We made the classic Valentine Day mistake, and decided to go out to dinner. The food here was so good that we will definitely go back. The service was a little rough (nothing to do with attitude or ability, just slammed and too many customers not enough staff), and it was a little pricey, but the quality of the food and the overall impression were great. Will return soon

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Crabjunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    392
    132
    35
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Birthday Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

I went to celebrate a birthday dinner on a Sunday night. I called in for reservations and the staff was very nice and tried to accomodate me. The food was to die for and the service was amazing!!! The best food I have ever tasted in my life! Go try this restaurant and you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jcgirl1223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

This was the most perfect restaurant experience we had in Fort lauderdale! And we only did happy hour with appetizers. Organic fresh coctails mixed to perfection by fantastic bartender Alice, microbrewery beers and designer appetizers. The interior is chic yet calm, the staff very professional. We are done searching for a favourite place. Market 17 is everything a restaurant should be and more.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FloridaBabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

great food, ambiance and service. All 3 courses were fabulous. Not expensive compared to other restaurants.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank zaliana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing Food, Odd Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

we went here for dinner mid-week around 9ish. the surroundings are a little spooky (as in a deserted shopping plaza reserved for yacht sales), but the restaurant itself is beautiful....everything (once you find it) from the area reserved for patio dining to the bar and restaurant itself.

they have an extensive wine list and offer mini portions of wine (i believe these were 3 ounces), which i found to be a bit odd. but part of their concept included a tasting menu, so i guess the wine is available for sampling as well.

their ceviche was fresh but a bit dry and bland for my taste, but most places dumb the flavor of their food down for american (and tourist) tastebuds. we had the petite entrees (grouper and snapper), which were both delicious. the forbidden rice was heaven on a plate. i was tempted to order a side of this alone after i tasted it...as well as another petite entree of the duck after i spied it on the table next to us.

we shared a dessert (brownies and ice cream) that was very good as well (but the ice cream seemed overly sweet). all in all, i would highly recommend market 17. the crowd was of varying ages - some people look like they had been there since happy hour, a few families, a few couples, etc.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peepthischica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Market 17 also viewed

Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 

Been to Market 17? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing