We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hawaiian Theme & Food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Da Big Kahuna

Da Big Kahuna
Ranked #920 of 1,320 Restaurants in Fort Lauderdale
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Indiana
Level Contributor
107 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nice Hawaiian Theme & Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Had a great view of the beach and ocean from our patio seats.
Here's what we liked:
+ Menu size and variety (pork, rice, and other Hawaiian dishes were great)
+ Great location. Right on the beach but high enough up to not see too much of the traffic.
+ Reasonably priced...not too expensive $10 to $20 pp
Disliked:
- Service was just ok
- Bathrooms were filthy...this always concerns me. If a restaurant doesn't care enough to keep their bathrooms clean for customers, how sanitary is the kitchen??

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hoosier_Packer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    52
    45
    26
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Service at Da Big Kahuna!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

We decided to host a small gathering before our wedding on December 27th at the Big Kahuna in Ft Lauderdale. After all the hectic and stressful planning, we wanted a laid back no-hassle place to gather some friends, have some nibbles and drinks.

The chef did an amazing job accommodating us with some great food and amazing cocktails.

We really wanted to thank everyone at Big Kahuna for accommodating us so quickly and for the great service!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sylviagoulart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westlake village, ca
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Went for dinner and it was next door to Hooters. We assumed we were picking the lesser of two evils - foodwise! Boy were we surprised! The food was fantastic, the fish was fresh, the salads were large, the service was great! Sit upstairs for ocean and sunset views. It id did not disappoint!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank moneyplays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere - A Fun Place!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

We were staying at the Westin (about 2 blocks away) pre-cruise. Our room wasn't ready and the staff at the Westin said to "go right" (withing walking distance) and there were all types of places to eat and drink. We decided on this establishment as we wanted seafood. We had a blast (2 couples). Our waitress, Jackie, was awesome. We ended up drinking their Tequilla Sunrises, special pricing and enjoyed appetizers (enough to share) and their shrimp and fish. We stayed close to 3 hours. We had a table on their outside bar area and had a great view of the beach (right across the street). It was a warm day, but cloudy. Otherwise we would have been poolside at the Westin. So, needless to say, this was a pleasant surprise. We would definitely visit this restaurant in the future. Decorated for the Holidays and great music. We saw tons of people come/go (young, older, vacationers, residents). So, you know it's a good place when you see the locals hanging out!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A Room with a View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

On a recent December Saturday afternoon we had a few hours to kill waiting for our room @ the nearby Westin Beach Resort and Spa, it was cloudy but warm and we needed an option with a nice view of the beach to get us into cruise mode. We stumbled upon Da Big Kahuna Restaurant and Tiki Lounge perched on the 3rd floor of a mixed use mini-mall of sorts housing all types of restaurants, bars and stores. Business was slow on this Saturday afternoon. Our party of 4 found a nice outdoor table looking directly at the beautiful Atlantic Ocean. We're a late 40's/mid-50's group but we enjoyed all the kitsch. This is a place that transforms itself depending on what time of day it is. At night it's a busy bar/dance lounge by day it's lunch/happy hour with guests of all ages. The menu has something for everyone. The food was surprisingly decent. We'd skip the crab and spinach dip - pretty bland. The peel and eat shrimp were fresh and perfectly spiced. They have all kinds of drink specials so be sure to ask or go to their website and check. After we'd been seated we found out someone on ground level was soliciting guests by giving a white wristband that entitled the guest to a buy 1 get 1 drink free. They weren't offered to us and we were a little miffed especially since our group shared appetizers and everyone ordered lunch plus a few drinks. Our waitress said they were very strict with them and there was nothing she could do although she did find one unused one and let us use it. Drinks are served in basic plastic glasses (think college bar). Nothing fancy here but a beautiful view, great burgers and wraps and friendly efficient service. Noise level was moderate during the day. Lots of nice festive Christmas lights wrapped around the railings. It's definitely worth taking the escalators or steps if you want a moderately priced lunch or happy hour. It's also just adjacent to the CVS so if you need to pick up beach, hotel or cruise supplies you're in the right place. Don't pay high prices to sip fancy drinks at the hotels along the beach. Da Big Kahuna definitely should be on your list if you like casual.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Da Big Kahuna also viewed

Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 

Been to Da Big Kahuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing