We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flatbread!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandbar Grille

Sandbar Grille
Ranked #56 of 1,320 Restaurants in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Kids, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Paducah, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Flatbread!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

We ate breakfast the first morning we were there. The flatbreads are awesome! We also had the flatbreads for supper one night. The shrimp was excellent. They also make the best Bloody Mary in town!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    80
    23
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NEW BEDFORD
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

The food and selection were great but what sets this place apart from the others was that is was such a great value. While not the quickest place to eat if you're in a hurry our waiter Mike was a great guy. He takes the time to talk a little and it added to the overall experience sitting directly overlooking the beach. If you are staying at that end of the beach it's just a perfect spot with very budget conscious prices.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sean148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
127 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Some of the best ..... Some of the worst”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

The food is still exceptional, fresh and well-prepared and since you sit directly on the beach the formula is perfect ....... except for one thing. Service. We are regulars (probably not for long) and we have seen a progressive slide into some of the worst service on the beach. Invariably at least one waitperson and one kitchen employee call in sick, can't start their car, etc, etc. That wreaks havoc in the "front of the house", where every step from ordering to paying is so painfully slow that the whole restaurant is full of anxious people. Food frequently comes staggered so only one person is eating at a time and the appetizers invariably are brought with the entrees.

The prices are very low, making Sandbar an insanely good value. I normally appreciate that, but in this case, I'd rather pay $5 more for my entree and get good service in the process.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JMETravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
363 reviews
256 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Excellent in all categories - especially during Happy Hour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful view and very good bar food. Our waiter, Mike, made us feel like restaurant regulars - chatted us up but not at the cost of avoiding others. A delightful experience. Very friendly service staff.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank trawlerdoxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Out of the Rain!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

We went on our first night and it was a tropical storm! Yikes. When wet there is not much seating. The Boston bartender was super friendly and helpful. I ordered the fish tacos which were good and my husband ordered a burger (which was also good). The hotel gave us a 15% off which was part of our room package which was nice. The view of the beach would normally be great but with the flooding happening we were just happy to not be in the weather and still get good food. I'd say the food was satisfying although not amazing - I like more "flavor" according to my husband. My sister is a foodie and we've talked about starting a business and I like more creative flavor food. So good, but not great.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachVacationTravele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sandbar Grille also viewed

Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 

Been to Sandbar Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing