We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bait and switch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Ranked #17 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
boca raton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Bait and switch”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We booked the upgraded junior suite with ocean view. Arrived early and confirmed with front counter who told us they had us in "partial ocean view". But she was changing our room to give her a few minutes. 4 hours later I asked about room and we're told our room was ready. Was given a lovely highway view room that you could smell the ocean from. Checked with manager who said he was sorry but they don't guarantee views. This place is a dump to begin with. Don't waste your time and money.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ashimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Ashimmy, my apologies if we did not provide the room that you expected. I verified your reservation and it was indeed made for one of our B Enhanced suites. We have 2 of these suites per floor, one facing South/East, and one facing North. Unfortunately, as hard as our team wokred to find one with a South/East facing view, there were none available at the time you arrived. The team continued to monitor any cancellations that came through during the evening but nothing became available. We did honor your reservation but were unable to provide you with the view requested.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,178
    916
    322
    131
    68
See reviews for
631
1,077
125
257
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (706)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We stayed three nights after cruising and found the location absolutely perfect!
The hotel is cleaned, the staff is very nice, the room is large and you have fantastic windows that gives you a view on the beach.
The bed was very comfortable with great pillows.
Beach is across the street, cheap breakfast and pizza located nearby. Subway popcorn and Ice cream bar, souvenir shops , every store is walking distance.
We treat ourselves to breakfast in their bistro.It was a bit pricy but the coffee was real good. Staff was very polite and professional.
We also tried the restaurant. If you not a sushi fan you think there is nothing on the menu you will like.You actually have no idea what to order and you would be incline to leave,Wrong! After we asked explanation, my husband had Kobe steak that you cut with your fork and I took tempura shrimps in a sauce to die for with rice. It was excellent and I planned to go back and have the same plate as It was really good.
I think they should advertise more this type of food is available at the restaurant in the hotel rooms. If people knew the restaurant would be filled.

Room Tip: Tell them you found the hotel on trip advisor, that their reviews were good and were told to get a h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank retraite10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear retraite10, many thanks for your thorough feedback. Looks like you took the opportunity to enjoy many of our facilities and restaurants. Glad you discovered our great menu at SAIA!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

I think had I chosen a chain hotel I may have had better luck. The view was terrific but the room definitely was worn out and I had the "stunning" room / room rate. Mold in the shower, stained carpets, dirty walls, etc.

The pool and pool area was tiny - I think the pool in my backyard was bigger. Some of the front desk team was nice (the males were very pleasant and helpful, the females were not so customer friendly nor helpful).

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vickimood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear vickimood, my apologies for not meeting your expectations. I am disappointed with the comments pertaining to your room and service at the front desk. We strive to provide a great room with excellent customer service but we obviously fell short during your stay. I did share your feedback with everyone on our team to highlight the importance of providing a great experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
87 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

The B Ocean is a modern hotel situated in front of the beach.
The rooms are nice (not so big, but aceptable), clean and comfortable.
The reception is allways busy but people are very kind.
The restaurant is the only disapointment in the hotel. The restaurant itselfs Is very small. But the tables (most of them) are ridiculously small not enough for a couple. The breakfast is nice, but dinner is expensive, bad service and small choice.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cristovao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear cristovao, thanks for sharing your comments. I appreciate the kind comments about our staff and I am glad you enjoyed the room offerings. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy our restaurant experience and have shared your feedback with our entire restaurant team to make sure they understand the importance of providing a great dinning experience to all our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

I had read a bunch of reviews and ruled B Ocean out. I then purchesed a room through Hotwire and wound up getting B Ocean. What a pleasant surprise. The hotel is very clean and modern. The staff is friendly and helpful. the only complaint I had was it was a 27 dollar cab ride from the airport

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Steve32123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Steve32123, thanks for sharing your comments. Glad to see that we exceeded your expectations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We stayed here one night in April 2014 and really enjoyed it. Very clean and stylish. We arrived late but had no problems checking in, except that we missed the turn to the hotel the first time since it was so late and it's a little hard to distinguish the hotel entrance from the entrance to the little shopping strip right behind it. Lucky we did this because we saw the 24 hour pizza place on the corner and we were starved from our flight (don't recall the name but if you stay here definitely pop over and have a slice of pizza or a burger- really friendly place and great food- and cheap!).

B Ocean staff were all super friendly. If you are a government worker check out their government rates- really good deal. We would stay here again if we came for a longer trip to Ft Lauderdale.

Only a couple negatives:

1) $28 to park your car per night. Seems like a lot, but there is literally no parking lot for the hotel- it's all valet. Still, valet and bell staff were all great so not a huge complaint as long as you know about the price before you check in.

2) Bathroom is sort of weird. I don't know, it was very modern and stylish, looked beautiful...but there is an opaque window in the wall of the bathroom, so if you are sitting on one of the beds in a Captivating room you can literally see someone sitting down on the toilet! Now, it's not a clear plate glass window, so you can't see any details, but really- who wants to watch someone go to the bathroom? A little creepy! We had fun with it, though, so your mileage may vary. Also the bathtub doesn't have a shower curtain, just clear glass that only covers half the tub! So if you have a family, make sure to lock the door when you shower- no kids coming in to use the toilet while you're in the shower or they might be scarred for life.

Overall I loved the hotel- the weird bathroom just gave us something to talk about later, but if you're an especially private person you might want to ask if all the hotel rooms have a window in the bathroom.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gimmeshelter123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear David H, thank you for sharing your feedback. Love to hear that you truly enjoyed your stay with us. Parking is a commodity on the beach and most hotels on the beach can only offer valet service. The frosted window is a design element that allows daylight into the bathroom during the day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
241 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

This is a great hotel with fantastic rooms and views. Whilst we had a couple of issues, mainly with beds, this was a failure of our agents and not the hotel who did everything they could to help us. The staff were very helpful especially with airports and transfers on leaving.

Arriving late we weren't given much information about the hotel, the gym, pool, free coffees in the morning etc. but we soon found this out, loved the equipment in the small gym, the heated pool and the ease of obtaining pool towels. Also wifi throughout the hotel at very high speed - all free, enabled me to back up all my photos as I went along.

The rooms were amazing. Big TVs, great comfy beds, and fantastic views. Plenty of sockets for charging things, what a great idea to add outlets to lamps and USB to the phone!

The hotel is just across the road from the beach so very easy access.

This is much more of a couples hotel, and would be great for a romantic holiday. We found there wasn't a great deal to do for the children at the resort itself, although they did enjoy themselves.

Having spent some time in New York, Florida and Washington this was a great location for us, a walk to the main bars or quick taxi ride, but far enough away to avoid the noise of the bars and restaurants.

After ten days at the hotel I didn't actually want to leave and could have spent a few more days there, but had to move onto Washington.

No tea or coffee making facilities in the rooms, but perhaps I'm being too British, but with free coffee to take out from the restaurant this made up for it.

All in all this was a nice part of our holiday staying here. I doubt we will have rooms with such great beds and views in a long time.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Oxford-Wilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear Oxford-Wilson, thank you for sharing such a detailed review of your stay. It was a pleasure meeting you, your wife and daughter during your visit. As we discussed, despite the booking challenges you initially encountered, our team worked hard to make your stay a memorable one. I am happy to hear you didn't want to leave us! Do come back and visit... perhaps just for a couple's getaway!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#14 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,934 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#24 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,650 reviews
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#25 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#48 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,795 reviews
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,709 reviews
The Aqua Hotel
#10 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach

Property: Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Address: 999 N Fort Lauderdale Beach Blvd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-3310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#7 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#18 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#18 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#33 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps away from the ocean and the beautiful Fort Lauderdale beach, Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach offers you a sensational experience among Fort Lauderdale hotels: oceanfront hotel accommodations, unique restaurants and lounging areas, and a variety of excursions for those guests looking to explore Ft. Lauderdale, Florida. Our ballroom and meeting rooms on the penthouse floor overlook the Atlantic Ocean, presenting a special setting for business meetings and social gatherings held at this Fort Lauderdale Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b Ocean Fort Lauderdale Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing