We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good service and free wifi”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Ranked #17 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Frankfurt,Germany
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good service and free wifi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for business with celebrity cruises sales and was positivly surprised by hotels staff service. Fast and friendly service which leaves no open demands.

Good breakfast and good location. Asked for an adapter and got one within a few minutes.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Steph0581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Steph0581, thanks for staying with us during your recent business trip to FLL. It is great to hear that our staff took great care of all your needs and that you enjoyed our great location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,150
    904
    318
    126
    68
See reviews for
622
1,058
122
248
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (693)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

My friends booked B Ocean in Ft Lauderdale for our vacation and I was pleased with the service, location and facilities. Neat and well maintained. Plus the hotel is across the street from the ocean and the view from the 11th floor was amazing. Overall, our experience was very good. Though the hotel is not a 5 star as they claim but it charges as a 3-4. A few observations: Small pool (who cares, having the ocean so near), no fridge in the room, which could have been useful for keeping water cool, fruit or yogurt. Valet parking felt way too expensive ($30 per day). Breakfast buffet had good fruit and pastries, but lacked essentials like ham & cheese.

Room Tip: Book on the highest floors for the ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnaG10987654321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear AnaG10987654321, thanks for sharing your comments. Happy to hear that you and your friends enjoyed our service, facilities and location. Providing a great experience is always our goal. For our readers, please note that our daily parking cost is $28 and our breakfast buffet does include various charcuterie options and artisan cheese selections.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

Great hotel - slick, cool. Rooms are snug but sharp. Lots of fun bars around the corner. Service was good. In house bar made great sushi and drinks. Beach is across the street. Pool is nice but only gets sun in the afternoon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KassandraJordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear KassandraJordan, thanks for sharing your feedback and for the perfect ratings accross the board!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

The property is very nice with a luxury feel. At check-in they put us one floor below their penthouse. it is curious why they made that choice, given that we were travelling with a pre-school child, and given that they rent out the penthouse to events on weekends. That Saturday at about 8;30 pm, we heard very loud music coming from the penthouse. It was so loud that it was impossible to fall asleep. I went downstairs to speak with reception, who informed me that the event was 'sweet 16' and that it was going to last for another 1-2 hours. I requested to speak with the manager, who informed me that the event would go at least until midnight. He switched us to another room on the 6th floor. Now, imagine the inconvenience of packing our stuff, and carrying my sleeping child to another room, then unpacking, and trying to fall asleep from the commotion. it does not live up to the standard that this hotel is trying to be. The hotel must not sell rooms several floors underneath the penthouse, when they have events, especially to families with small children. Or they must discount them heavily and give advance notice about the noise to travelers. The owners do not care at all about your needs. You are number 10 in a long list of priorities, where shameless money grabbing is on top.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank empire_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear empire_17, thank you for sharing your comments. I am sincerely sorry for the noise issues that affected you experience. We assign rooms based on the type confirmed at time of reservation and at the time of your arrival to the hotel, the room on the 12th floor was the only one available and we did not want to make you wait for a room. I understand the incovenience involved in moving to another room, but our Manager wanted to assist in the best possible way and provide you with a quieter room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights a week before Christmas and the hotel was great and the service was great. I got a good rate through Hotwire but was a little worried about some of the reviews which complained about it being loud. I brought the issue up to the guy that checked me in and told him that it would be really helpful if he coudl get me a quiet room since i have to be up for work at 6 am all three days i'm there. He was very very helpful and put me in a nice corner room that worked great. I didnt' hear much of anything the entire time i stayed there. The service was perfect. On the issue of parking, there is a self park lot around the corner that lets you pay $16 and you can come and go which saved me some money and inconvience of having to deal with the valet. It was a great find. I was a little concerned about the parking lot and the safety of the lot, but I asked soem of the business owners and they told me the lot was fine. All things considered, the hotel is highly recommended. However, if you're looking to stay int he middle of the Ft Lauderdale beach scene you might want to consider the Westin or the Ritz, because this place is a few blocks down from the middle of the action.

Room Tip: You can self park your car around the corner in a lot that is self served for $16. You just have to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Senateguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear senateguy, glad to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your holiday visit. I always love to hear that our service met your expectations. I also appreciate the perfect ratings you gave us on rooms, overall value, cleanliness, service and sleep quality. As for the location, please note that despite not being in the central area of FLL beach, our location has more options available since we are flanked by two beautiful green areas, The Bonnet House Museum and Gardens and Hugh Taylor Birch State Park. We are also within walking distance to the best shopping near the beach, at the Galleria Mall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

The B Ocean is located next to a preserved mansion on the south, and a state park on the north; across the street (east) is a beautiful stretch of beach and ocean. For years we stayed here when this building was a Holiday Inn. The Inn got old, was sold and after a long redo, reopened as a light and bright hotel. The rooms, therefore, have all been redone recently. They feel fresh and light, like a boutique hotel, and they have comfortable furniture and bedding. Each room has a sweeping view of the ocean. (The lower floors may have views obstructed by palm trees.) The pool is well heated but small for the size of the hotel. The sitting area could use more shade. The food was very good. The buffet breakfast is a fair value, but we preferred ordering from the breakfast menu. The salads which we ordered at the pool were large, interesting and fresh. We tried breakfast at a small place called Plan B just south of the hotel. Not too good. We tried pizza at the corner restaurant which has been there forever. Excellent. For dinner walk south to the Casablanca Café. Always excellent.
We enjoyed our stay and will stay here again - but we had 3 reservations: we found the staff more efficient than caring; the room offered great views but no open access to the outside, no smell or sound of the ocean; the valet parking fee (unavoidable if you have a car) is $28 a day.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear David L, many thanks for your very detailled comments. You seem to have great knowledge of this hotel's history! It's come a long way since the HI days, and our boutique environment, both product and service, is truly one of the very few offering a lifestyle experience on FLL beach. Thanks for your business and I look forward to your return in 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strongsville, Ohio
Level Contributor
167 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

We let Hotwire choose our hotel one night prior to our cruise. We ended up at B Ocean, which we never would have selected simply because it was in the wrong direction. Nevertheless, we were. The best part of our one night stay was the view and the staff. The hotel was very nice and the view was simply outstanding as we faced the beach. The staff was extremely helpful and did anything they could to help. The location on the beach was great, but there were not many restaurants that we found within walking distance. One thing that would really improve our review would be a complimentary breakfast. The hotel has a very nice restaurant, and we did enjoy the limited breakfast buffet which was much better than a continental breakfast but fell short in our opinion of a 'great' breakfast buffet. The price was about right for what we received, but we believe the hotel should have included breakfast with the room. We probably would not stay here again simply because it was not close to the airport or cruise port.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms face the beach due to the shape of the hotel. The view of the beach is incredible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tinslinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Tinslinger, thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I appreciate the positive feedback on our friendly and helpful staff as well as the outstanding ocean views we offer in each of our rooms. Please note that we do have a significant amount of restaurants within walking distance, including many well known popular locations at the Galleria Mall. We have several room packages that include breakfast, but these packages cannot be booked via Hotwire or other online travel sites. The easiest way to book them is to go directly on our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#14 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,912 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#22 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,632 reviews
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#26 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#48 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,731 reviews
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,665 reviews
The Aqua Hotel
#10 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach

Property: Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Address: 999 N Fort Lauderdale Beach Blvd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-3310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#7 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#18 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#18 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#33 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps away from the ocean and the beautiful Fort Lauderdale beach, Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach offers you a sensational experience among Fort Lauderdale hotels: oceanfront hotel accommodations, unique restaurants and lounging areas, and a variety of excursions for those guests looking to explore Ft. Lauderdale, Florida. Our ballroom and meeting rooms on the penthouse floor overlook the Atlantic Ocean, presenting a special setting for business meetings and social gatherings held at this Fort Lauderdale Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b Ocean Fort Lauderdale Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing