We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicely located for beach and (some) quietude.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Ranked #17 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 15, 2013

This is a nice hotel with a modern feel. The room was a decent size and you couldn't beat the view of the ocean (room 1015). The place was clean enough (may have been some mildew around the edges of the large, modern, walk-in shower or it might have just been a different color grout...places in the shower were re-grouted with a darker grout. Unfortunately, the tile work was cheaply done. In any event, the shower was plenty big so your feet didn't have to come anywhere near the edges). We slept really well. The beds were comfy and it was nice and quiet on our high floor (except when a band was playing an event...but they were done by 11pm)./

While B Ocean appears to be striving to be a little more high-faluting than it is actually able to pull off (some towels were threadbare, some minor repairs needed, the free robes that you need to specially request had seen better days), it is certainly nice enough for an enjoyable stay. We got a good deal on the room and I felt we got far more than our money's worth (we went during a slow week in early Dec.) If I paid over $200, I might have not felt as happy.

Ft. Lauderdale is a busy/noisy place with the boulevard running between the hotels and the ocean, but this hotel is uniquely situated for judy a bit more peace than hotels further south where there's lots of action along the boulevard. B Ocean is wedged in between the Bonnet House and the State Park, so the beachfront in front of those two green places has no commercial development. Even in front of the hotel, there is green space insead of development. You are right at the light, so crossing to get to the beach is easy. There is a station to wash off the sand right at the light. Just to the left (as you face the ocean) is a lifeguard station. Just to the right is a beach chair/umbrella rental. But, you can save money by buying that equipment on the cheap at 7-11 which is about 600' behind the hotel.

If you are looking for convenient action, there are two little streets that wind behind the hotel and they have bars/restaurants/tshirt shops/24-hr pizza parlor/ice cream/ etc. The rooms do not face this commercial area, so you can relax unaware of it if you aren't interested.

The pool area is rather small, but it is nice. Lots of loungers in both sun and shade (though depending on the time of day, you might have to switfch chairs to stay in the sun or shade). I didn't see a hot tub. There is a bar and some tables for dining at the pool and some heaters for nightlife. There are also a few cabanas that appear to be free for guests to use (but that might be because this was such a slow time). The pool was a comfy temperature. I really liked the music at the pool area...mostly seemed like songs from the 70s redone with a modern feel...instrumental. Unfortunately, the street that runs along the side of the hotel is a major east-west route (which makes access to the hotel easy, but creates some noise at the pool area even though there is a wall to create privacy. I did not see a hot tub. I didn't use the fitness area, but it seemed small, yet sufficient. The pool area was closed on a few occasions for private events...that could be problematic if spending time at the pool is important to you.

I did not eat at the hotel. I was told that coffee and tea in the cafe were free to guests (maybe just in the morning...I can't recall).

I didn't use the free wifi, but the front desk person did mention that I could borrow and ipad for free for up to 3 hours...I don't think many people are aware of this. I never did borrow the ipad (making it a real, tech-free beach vacation). There is no frindge or microwave in the room, but I think you might be able to request at least a fridge...you'd have to check on that.

Parking is $28 per day, but that seems pretty standard for the beachfront. The valet service was very quick. We called upon leaving the room and our car was almost always ready when we walked outside.

We didn't use it, but the free trolley goes right by the hotel. The Galleria Mall is a short walk (but over a causeway bridge). The water taxi has a stop behind the Doubletree, which is right on the otherside of the causeway bridge as well. You could really get along quite nicely without a care with plenty in walking distance or within easy reach of the trolley or water taxi. The water taxi is a great way to see the intercoastal waterway and all the gorgeous homes on it -- and to get around. Unfortunately, sometimes some big yachts tie up at the Doubletree and the water taxi can't stop there...so you have to be willing to walk or take the trolley if you get a surprise like that.

There are some seedy characters on the street, but that's the case everywhere along the beach. It seems like the crime is mostly crimes of opporuntiy, though, so if you don't leave stuff visible in your car or leave valuables on the beach, you should be okay.

Room Tip: Higher floors are better views. The rooms at the very end of the halls may not face the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear Sue K, thank you for staying with us and also for your very detailled recap of your visit. I appreciate your strong ratings. You make a great point regarding our location; It is convenient for those who love the beach as well as those who want to shop, everything is within walking distance. The beauty of it is that we are far enough away from the crowded and noisy part of the beach, so our guests can enjoy peace and quiet on the beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,906)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,651 - 1,657 of 2,906 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

We were staying at the B Ocean hotel for 3 nights now in December and we are wery pleased with the accomodation. We had room 806 with the rektangular window and it was like a 120 inch TV every time you looked out because the wiew was changing all the time..

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank jonnyvikstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear Keepitrealman, thanks for your feedback. It's is great to hear that you enjoyed our accomodations and particularly the incredible view from your room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

I liked the freshness of the rooms, but I was surprised that it was a bit dated compared to when it was built. Parking was $28 a night (too expensive). Wifi was included which is always a bonus! Nicely located near the beach. Breakfast was $16 per adult an it was worth it. I would book again if I was without car.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Annikajeanette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear Annikajeanette, thanks for sharing your comments. Glad you enjoyed our FreeB Wifi, as we are only one of the few hotels that do provide this service free of charge. The parking fee is actually one of the lowest on the beach when comparing to other full service hotels. Great to hear that you found our breakfast buffet in B'stro to provide a great value for the price.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Very modern and classy hotel. A little pricey but if you want to eat out, there are not many restaurants around this location, unless they are in other hotels, the exception in the Italian pizzeria take away on the corner of the block, which is excellent. During our stay there were two weddings, which made the hotel very busy, and very noisy we had to complain about the noise from the next room, which in all fairness management did deal with. The pool area was also very crowded and noisy due to pre wedding drinking prior to the ceremony.

Room Tip: Would imagine most rooms are similar, but ask for a room looking out to the beach, and not overlooki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas and Rene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear Thomas and Rene H, thank you for sharing your feedback. I apologize for the noise issues tied to the weddings taking place during your stay. I am glad to hear we were able to take care if the issue once you brought it to our attention. Thanks for chosing to stay with us during this trip to FLL beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

We had a wonderful time at this hotel. Close to everything. Hotel is on the beach. Amazing view from the room. Room is spacious and clean, classy decor. Staff is friendly and extremely helpful. We received a complimentary room upgrade after asking if there any room available on a higher floor.

Room Tip: ask for a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ek3166ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear Ek3166ny, thanks for your feedback. Glad to hear you had a wodnerful time and that our staff took great care of you. I am sure the complimentary room upgrade was the icing on the cake!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

Just stayed here for a quick get away and we were both very impressed. The staff is amazing, very helpful with anything we needed and more than friendly. Joe the pool bartender is spectacular. He is right on top of everything including remembering everyone's name. The food served by the pool was also a 5. The beach is right across the street with chairs for rent and there are small five bars and restaurants surrounding the hotel with a mall a short walk away. Also highly recommend heading to Los olas area via cab/car to walk around the shops and get dinner. Rocco's tacos was a favorite :)

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindseyo21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Dear Lindseyo21, thanks for your great feedback and perfect ratings. I am happy to hear that our amazing staff took great care fo you. Jeoejie is one of our superstars and has been nominated multiple times for hospitality awards in our community.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

I booked the room for a vacation with my dad, it was great. The room was clean and spacious enough for both of us. We didn't stay in the room or hotel much, so we only cared about a nice place to sleep, which this hotel delivered and much more. The view is definitely a fantastic bonus at this hotel.

Pros:
clean and new
great view!!
Windows are beautiful!
friendly staff!
nice hotel, modern
great price you can find online.
parking - reasonable parking lot right next to hotel, just go around the hotel. thank you to a fellow tripadvisor reviewer for recommending it.
lots of little places for snacking, smoothies and even bar right by the hotel

Cons:
restaurant inside of the hotel is not great, it's not bad, but it's mediocre food, so i suggest you drive to a place for a great food - that is if you are a foodie.
valet parking is expensive
i don't think this hotel is romantic, so i won't make it like a honeymoon destination, but for all other purposes it's a great place.

Room Tip: ask for the view of the ocean!!! higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yuli31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Dear yuli 31, thank you for sharing your comments and for outlining all the positives the hotel has to offer. I am disapointed to hear that you didn't enjoy the food provided at one of our restaurants. We have two great restaurants, SAIA our sushi Asian grill which is highly rated on Yelp and B'stro, our main dinning room but your comment doesn't specify which one you experienced. Thanks for your recommendation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#43 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,088 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#20 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,776 reviews
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#67 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Aqua Hotel
#11 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,052 reviews
Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#16 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,068 reviews
Central Beach
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Res...
#13 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
5,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach

Address: 999 N Fort Lauderdale Beach Blvd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-3310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#8 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#18 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#18 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#28 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: $173 - $485 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps away from the ocean and the beautiful Fort Lauderdale beach, Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach offers you a sensational experience among Fort Lauderdale hotels: oceanfront hotel accommodations, unique restaurants and lounging areas, and a variety of excursions for those guests looking to explore Ft. Lauderdale, Florida. Our ballroom and meeting rooms on the penthouse floor overlook the Atlantic Ocean, presenting a special setting for business meetings and social gatherings held at this Fort Lauderdale Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b Ocean Fort Lauderdale Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing