We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extremely Wonderful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Ranked #17 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Extremely Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

I wanted to get away with my husband for Father's Day and had no idea about this hotel until my brother suggested that we visit B Ocean. He was a previous visitor.
Well, I was very elated when husband's response when we walked into the room was "Wow. I love the view." The room I selected was the Captivating King and I have no regrets.
We did not choose to eat at B Ocean because of the price for the meals. We went to nearby restaurants that were of course less expensive.
Valet parking cost of $25 was indeed ridiculous and we felt as if that was the best and only option, not even stopping to consider another option.
Excellent staff members. Francine in reservations was quite helpful and Suzette at the Welcoming Desk was awesome. Great personalities that represented their company well.
Nevertheless, we had a great, relaxing, rejuvenating and unforgettable time at B Ocean.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KingHinds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear KingHinds, many thanks for sharing your comments. I appreciate your brother's recommendation and I am glad to hear that your husband enjoyed his Father's Day gift! Parking on the beach is limited and therefore the cost reflects this fact. Pricing is in line with other full service hotels on the beach. Many thanks for recognizing the excellent service provided by our staff. I will make sure to share your feedback with Francine and Suzette.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,132
    884
    313
    125
    66
See reviews for
609
1,038
120
244
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (678)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

We would and plan to stay at the B Ocean again. We had a great stay here. We stayed 7 days and everything was perfect. The hotel is modern, clean and trendy. The staff was equally as amazing. We frequented the main lobby bar during our stay and had great service by the entire staff. The pool area is quaint, but beautiful, clean & relaxing. The beach is literally a stones throw away. We took full advantage of that. The only thing I have to say on the negative side is the daily parking valet fee. $25 a day is pretty steep. Overall amazing stay, we will absolutely stay again. Maybe when we get married :)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RaneeA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear RaneeA, thanks for your feedback and for the business! Glad your enjoyed your stay with us and that our amazing staff took good care of you. Come back soon... you could even get married at the hotel or on the beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Stunning view....of course the ocean view rooms are the best!

The room was beautifully clean and I loved the decor. I stayed here when they were still relatively newly open so everything was new!

Service was great check in and out went smoothly.

The location is really a great selling point for this hotel.

While they are about a 10 min walk from the beachfront action they are also really close to the Galleria mall which gives you a selection of higher end restaurants as oppose to the classic American beachfront type restaurants.

Would recommend it for sure!




  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spiritwithin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear spiritwithin, thanks for your great feedback and for your strong recommendation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

My friend and I stayed at B Ocean after returning from a cruise for 2 days and 2 nights. We were completely in love with it - the rooms were crisp, clean and had views to die for. We ate at B'stro for lunch and loved every single thing we ordered (Guacamole and Chips, Tomato and Mozzarella, Creme Brulee). We ended up ordering the room service version of these multiple times, and each time was as good as being in the restaurant. If I had one negative, it was that I was slightly disappointed by SAIA (the sushi restaurant) and would probably skip it next time. Located across the street from the beach, and over a hill from the Galleria, it is prime location if you want to walk and not have to drive too much. The room and food was perhaps on the pricier side of things, but personally I thought you got your moneys worth.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank B D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear B D, thanks for your feedback and for the perfect ratings! I am surprised to hear that you were disappointed with your SAIA experience. We get rave reviews from our guests about service and food quality in this restaurant. I have shared your comments with our restaurant team. Happy to hear that you felt the overall value was great.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlton, NJ
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

My hubby and I came here for a short visit to Fort Lauderdale and really enjoyed our stay. The lobby is very cool and so trendy. The lobby bartender was social and friendly. We enjoyed our ocean view on the 11th floor. The gym is small but had the cardio machines for us to at least get a simple workout in every morning. The restaurant that serves breakfast had a yummy yet pricey buffet. Our stay here was wonderful except for the cleaning service. Our room was horribly dusty and we never had enough toilet paper or tissues. We had to call down to have extra rolls delivered and they were very attentive. I just think it was the cleaning staff that was assigned to our room that was lacking in desire to keep the room up to par. Overall, we would come back again. The hotel is located near a bunch of bars/cafes and some shops. It was nice to walk around the area and not be surrounded by too much but just enough to explore.

Room Tip: Room 1114 had a nice view with a very comfy king sized bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Lisa N, thanks for sharing your comments. Great to hear that our lobby bartender provided great service. We did share your feedback with the room attendant that cleaned you room to ensure she is focused on providing a great room to each of her guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

My family (spouse, 3 yr old, 7 month old) stayed at B Ocean while I attended a work conference being held there. The hotel was nice, but pricey in our opinion. 1) You must valet park your vehicle if you bring one, as parking is at a premium so close to the beach. At $25 per day on top of the hotel rate, this adds up quickly. Hotel staff are quick at retrieving your car, but if you would like to save a little money, there is a public lot that costs $10 per night that is located directly behind the hotel and the walk to it is 75% covered by business awnings. 2) We ate at the B'stro restaurant at the hotel our first night. Service was excellent, but once again, for the price, I would recommend eating elsewhere. We got sandwiches and our son got grilled cheese. They were all overwhelmed by too much bread. We took the bread off and ending up just eating the meat. I would prefer Panera for a light meal over B'stro. 3) Views from all rooms see the ocean. We did not get an upgraded room for a better view, but did not need it. 4) The double room was adequate for the four of us and there was enough space to set up the pack n play we brought. The hotel provides Aveda toiletries which was very nice, but the toilet paper was rough. I don't believe it is an exaggeration to say the McDonald's we stopped at on our way had softer tissue. 5) Due to rain during our stay, we did not get to use the pool or walk across the street to the beach 6) on the back side of the hotel, there is a 'by-the-slice' pizza place, an ice cream shop and a couple of bar-type establishments that had burgers, etc. We only had ice cream, which was very good. If we had known the others were there sooner, we would have definitely tried them to avoid eating in the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lilonemeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed at the B Ocean in Fort Lauderdale for a wedding in May. When we arrived in our room the view was SPECTACULAR! From other discussions with family- EVERYONE had a beautiful view of the ocean. The decor is very Miami modern, very comfortable. We dined in the hotel's bistro and spent two nights at the hotel bar. Both were very nice. There was only ONE negative- there was no hotel chairs or umbrellas at the beach. Which is a bummer because it is LITERALLY right across the street. If you wanted a chair or umbrella you have to "rent" them from either the Fort Lauderdale Beach for like $50 for two chairs and an umbrella OR you can rent a beach chair at the local gift shop for $5/day. If you are wondering- go for the B Ocean- it was wonderful!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KC11271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#14 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,889 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#24 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,596 reviews
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#49 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,654 reviews
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#21 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,887 reviews
The Aqua Hotel
#10 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach

Property: Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Address: 999 N Fort Lauderdale Beach Blvd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-3310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#7 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#18 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#18 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#33 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps away from the ocean and the beautiful Fort Lauderdale beach, Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach offers you a sensational experience among Fort Lauderdale hotels: oceanfront hotel accommodations, unique restaurants and lounging areas, and a variety of excursions for those guests looking to explore Ft. Lauderdale, Florida. Our ballroom and meeting rooms on the penthouse floor overlook the Atlantic Ocean, presenting a special setting for business meetings and social gatherings held at this Fort Lauderdale Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b Ocean Fort Lauderdale Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing