We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Treat with a View”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Ranked #16 of 127 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this Hotel on a spring break this year. The room was very clean. It is right across the road from the beach (there are no hotels on the beach side of the road), so the view of the ocean is fabulous. The staff at the check in counter were both friendly and helpful. We ate at the Bistro for breakfast and enjoyed the food. This hotel is within walking distance of a good size mall (if you like to shop, it is worth a visit). The Mall also has two restaurants where we went to dinner. Both were very good. The first was "Seasons 52". Their lamb chops were particularly good. It also has live music, we really enjoyed that. The second was "Capital Grille". They specialize in Beef. My husband had a Steak, and was very pleased with the taste and quality. Their bread that they give you as a starter is sooooo... good. Calling ahead for a reservation for both restuarants is a good idea as both are very busy.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear Colandy, thank you for sharing your comments. I am happy to hear that our staff was friendly and helpful. Service is what it's all about!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,827)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,786 - 1,792 of 2,830 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

Ok, so I'll admit that modern design is not really my thing, so the decor and atmosphere of this hotel didn't really thrill me...the lobby done in totally white plaster waves was actually a bit nauseating, truth be told. But what I find completely and utterly incomprehensible is why anyone would put a hotel right on the beach, and not install windows that open so that guests can truly appreciate the ocean they have paid to be near. What's worse is that the hotel advertises "Ocean View" rooms, but with the exception of two floors (9th and 10th I think), the windows in all the rooms are so high that if you are seated anywhere within your room...the only view you can appreciate is the sky! No lie, you actually have to stand up at the window to get the ocean view you've paid for. Yes, the staff is very friendly and try to be accommodating, but the prices are astronomically high...for everything. Breakfast prices were outrageous, although they do provide free self-serve coffee in the morning. And there is no parking option other than Valet, which they do not indicate on their website. If you have a car in Fort Lauderdale, you'd better be on a very big budget holiday or a generous expense account. Oh, and just one small note to smokers....the ENTIRE property is Smoke free....even outside on the pool deck. Not an issue for us, but also something they won't tell you on the website....be prepared to have your cigarettes standing up on the front driveway. Really bad first impression to have your guests standing outside smoking and looking uncomfortable. I definitely won't be back!

Room Tip: Want a true ocean view? Book a room on the 9th or 10th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank merrywench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear merrywench, thank you for sharing your comments. We do offer a smoke free environment and as such provide 2 exterior locations for guests to do so.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We spent 3 fine days at this hotel and enjoyed much about it.
The location was wonderful, since it is right across the street from the long beautiful beach. Our room had a great view, since it fully faced the ocean! It was quiet, so we had no noise problems. The room was very clean (which is important to us) and well equiped (which is helpful). There was a good choice of restaurants nearby which allowed us to walk. The close proximity to not only the ocean and beach but to other amenities all contributed to our very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: All rooms have ocean view but ask for a room which has a full view! Enjoy the fine complimentary mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear Carl C, thank you for your input and for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Visited the B Ocean on business. Stayed in the Captivating King Curve room which provided excellent work space along with stunning views. The hotel is nicely done and the bed was very comfortable. Highly recommend the breakfast.

Room Tip: all rooms have an ocean view so you can't go wrong, but the "curve" rooms are great fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlc318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear jlc318, thank you for your input. Glad to see you enjoyed our hotel while on business in the area. I hope you took advantage of our Free B Wifi, which is available everywhere in the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

This was a great hotel! Our travel agent strongly suggested this hotel, and we're so glad we took her advice. Great location, great view, beautiful, updated rooms and decor, exceptional staff. Did I mention the service was excellent? we even arrived 4 hours before check in and our room was ready and waiting. We wished we could have stayed longer, but we had a cruise to get to! What a great start! The only thing that wasn't absolutely outstanding was the gym, very small, and for a longer stay, this might have been an issue for me.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor, the view is outstanding
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovetocruise61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear lovetocruise61, thank you for sharing your comments. I LOVE to hear that our service was excellent! Please thank your travel agent for recommending us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed here in a Captivating room for two nights prior to our Caribbean cruise on Celebrity Eclipse. The first room we were allocated only had a shower nd we had asked for a bath, this was not a problem and our room was changed immediately to 319 to give us a bath with shower over. The room was fitted out with two Queen beds ensuite bathroom with complimentary shampoo, conditioner, body wash, body cream and mouth wash. There were numerous towels and the room was very clean and very fresh in decoration terms. The restaurant atteched for breakfast was good, the best deal was to pay for the standard breakfast and help your self. If you chose the selections it would more than likely cost more than the standard deal. All rooms are over looking the sea and you are seperated by a four lane highway. We did not have any noise issues with traffic and jsut 15 mins walk away was the Galleria Mall which included a vast selection of shops and food outlets which we would highly recomend.

Room Tip: Ensure you make the hotel aware if you require a bath with shower over and not just a shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Howie30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear Howie30, thank you for your comments and strong ratings. I hope you enjoyed your cruise as much as your stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Great View, Comfy Bed, Immaculate throughout.
Breakfast was exceptional-healthy and delicious with many items to choose from.
The hotel restaurant was terrific, the Maitre D went out of his way to cater to us. The crowd was an interesting assortment of characters.
The bed was exceptionally comfortable but the hallways were noisy.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cherylazur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear cherylazur, thank you for your comments. Sounds like you had a wonderful experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#45 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
4,022 reviews
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#28 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
4,177 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#20 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fort Lauderdale Marriott North
#23 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,451 reviews
Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#14 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
2,036 reviews
Central Beach
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Res...
#11 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
5,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach

Address: 999 N Fort Lauderdale Beach Blvd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-3310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#7 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#18 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#18 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#32 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: $173 - $406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps away from the ocean and the beautiful Fort Lauderdale beach, Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach offers you a sensational experience among Fort Lauderdale hotels: oceanfront hotel accommodations, unique restaurants and lounging areas, and a variety of excursions for those guests looking to explore Ft. Lauderdale, Florida. Our ballroom and meeting rooms on the penthouse floor overlook the Atlantic Ocean, presenting a special setting for business meetings and social gatherings held at this Fort Lauderdale Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b Ocean Fort Lauderdale Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing