We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“$300 + for a room which does not have the basic amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Ranked #14 of 127 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 25, 2012

This hotel has a nice location (close to the local stores and restaurants). Yet it is also at the intersection of two main streets thus you are facing the ocean and the constant flow of traffic. The rooms are nicely decorated they are clean and very simple yet they do not have a coffee maker or a water heater! We travel often this the first hotel which does not have the standard 4 star hotel room amenities. It is annoying to see everything priced in the room even the stuffed turtle :) Given that hotel is rather expensive their decision to inconvenience their guests and make them pay to have a cup of coffee does not make much sense. Overall this is a nice property but coming from a big city the last thing I wanted to see the constant flow of cars between us and the ocean and having to call for room service for coffee. This place might appeal to some travellers ' can meet heir expectations. Despite its charming appearance the hotels high rates do not seem to match what they offer.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Dear Sue H, thanks for your feedback and for chosing us. We offer free coffee and tea in our B'stro restaurant every morning with a breathtaking view of the beach. For those readers that might not be familiar with the Fort Lauderdale beach area, the majority of the hotels facing the beach are actually located across from the main street, which is North Fort Lauderdale Beach Blvd. The items priced in the room are part of our in-room B Treated offering, which provides snacks and retail items for purchase. Our room rates are very competitive with all other upscale hotels at the beach... take a look and see for yourselves!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,823)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,856 - 1,862 of 2,823 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2012

Stayed here after cruise from Miami. It is an expensive ($85) taxi ride from Miami, however, convenient for the flight from Fort Lauderdale. Hotel is on the beach, however, there is a major road in between the hotel and the beach, although road noise is minimal. Room was not available, however, we checked bags and got a call later that day that room was ready. Our room had an ocean view, but no balcony. Beds were comfortable. The bathroom was okay, although the shower setup was a bit odd; no shower curtain, only a glass wall that did not move. Went to the pool area for a cocktail outside; no view of the beach from the pool bar. Ate dinner at the hotel restaurant. Food was good. There is also a coffee bar/take out snack counter in restaurant which is convenient if you do not want to leave hotel. Overall I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Menak77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2012

Dear Menak77, thanks for recommending us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We booked the hotel for 2 nights prior to a cruise (7 - 9 Dec). We knew valet parking was 25$, so no surprise there. It is always very nice to be able to pull up, leave the keys to the valet staff and not having to worry about parking. When we needed the car, it took only 5 minutes for it to arrive. The valet staff are VERY friendly. In fact, all staff are very friendly and helpful. The design lobby is a great entrance to the hotel. The wall with changing colours is nice. Only slight negative point was that we had to wait rather long for the elevators. The room is pretty big, nice comfortable bed and good bathroom. View of the beach. WIFI throughout hotel. It took us some time to figure out the A/C, but in the end managed to get it working as we wanted. Breakfast OK; we had the buffet. Again, staff very friendly. We did not have lunch or dinner in the hotel. The second night, there was a wedding party at the hotel. We wanted our car from valet and were told it could take some time as it was very busy. But, we only had to wait for 10 minutes. Very good service.

If we need an hotel in Fort Lauderdale again, we will certainly be coming back to B Ocean.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LucDeLier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2012

Dear LucDeLier, many thanks for sharing your feedback. I appreciate your emphasis on the staff friendliness, as this is a critical component of our B culture!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Stood at B Ocean with my boyfriend for the weekend, from Friday to Monday. Had a great experience, regardless of some of the negative reviews I had read previous to going. The hotel was very clean and the personnel was very friendly. They made sure to always acknowledge you even if you were walking by. The hotel is centrally located near many restaurants, bars, beach, shops. We dined at the Galleria which was less the 3 minute drive. The strip is not noisy at all. I prefer this setting over the South Beach setting anytime. Great for couples, business or family trip. I have nothing negative to say about this hotel at all. Hope visit again very soon.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mg1226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2012

Dear mg1226, thanks for sharing your positive comments. We work hard to make sure that everyone on our team makes our guests feel at home during their stay. I hope you will B Back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

The first thing I was turned off about was that there was "valet only" parking @ 25.00 a night extra. Sorry, I want to jump in the car when I need to, and it may be 3 or 4 times a day. I dont need to stand around waiting for someone to go get my car, then tip them, just to run to get lunch. When I got to the room, there were clothes left hanging in the bathroom from a previous guest. This all white concept can be nice but requires "extensive" cleaning. I saw hair everywhere on the floors, especially the bathroom. The shower handle came off in my hand. No matter where I pointed the shower head, water ran down the glass & wall and out on to the floor. The bed was some strange arrangement of a comforter sandwiched between two top sheets. When I pulled back the top sheet, the comforter was annoyingly "stained", so off that came. Overall, I wouldnt bother going back. Theres too many "normal" hotels I can tolerate much better. I dont need whatever they were trying to be.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2012

Dear Robert 145, thanks for sharing your comments. Most hotels on the beach only offer valet parking due to limited availability - this situation also exists in Miami Beach and most coastal destinations in South Florida. I do want to apologize for the housekeeping service you received during your visit, which is not in keeping with our standards here at the B. We are not trying to be anything else.... just B a place where people enjoy great service in a great setting and great location! That is what it means to B Our Guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

We were a party of 6 and had booked 3 rooms after a cruise. Even though 2 of the rooms were not ready when we got there at 10:00 they still opened up one room for us to use and store our luggage.
The front desk personnel and the attendants at the door were EXCEPTIONNALY competant and friendly. They went above and beyon the call of duty to help us with our reservations, flight confirmation (even choice of seats) and taxi/shuttle. We got great service by the pool and the restaurant is also nice even if the menu is limited.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carole.y.gauthier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2012

Dear Carole, thank you for your great feedback. Glad to hear that our team provided you and your friends with a great arrival experience. Thanks for chosing B Ocean!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

This hotel is lovely. I had a room on the 12th floor with a view of the ocean looking North. The room beautiful, clean and comfortable. The staff were very nice. Internet was free and worked fine. There is a $25 per night fee for Valet parking but I knew that to start with. The Valet people were very nice. I highly recommend this hotel. I did not have an opportunity to use the pool or eat at the restaurant. There was free coffee in the morning. I wish they had coffee all day long even if I had to pay for it.

Room Tip: The higher floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keyscool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Dear keyscool, thanks for the great review! I appreciate the perfect scores and your strong recommendation. One quick note: anyone can purchase coffee all day in B'stro, even after the free coffee set up is removed late morning.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#44 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
4,019 reviews
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#28 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
4,175 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#19 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fort Lauderdale Marriott North
#24 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,452 reviews
Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#15 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
2,034 reviews
Central Beach
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Res...
#11 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
5,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach

Address: 999 N Fort Lauderdale Beach Blvd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-3310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#6 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#18 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#18 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#32 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: $169 - $399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps away from the ocean and the beautiful Fort Lauderdale beach, Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach offers you a sensational experience among Fort Lauderdale hotels: oceanfront hotel accommodations, unique restaurants and lounging areas, and a variety of excursions for those guests looking to explore Ft. Lauderdale, Florida. Our ballroom and meeting rooms on the penthouse floor overlook the Atlantic Ocean, presenting a special setting for business meetings and social gatherings held at this Fort Lauderdale Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Splitty, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b Ocean Fort Lauderdale Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing