We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice, Clean, and good Breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Ranked #22 of 135 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Panama City, Panama, Panama
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice, Clean, and good Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I spent 5 days and everything was good. The room has plenty of space, no refrigerator, big LCD and a perfect bed to have a good rest after all day working.
The breakfast is pretty god, has everything you will look for. The only thing I dont like is the charge for the overnight parking. Why? Im staying there, I should park there for free!!
But anyway, is a good hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jair R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Jair R, thanks for your comments and strong ratings. As the saying goes, there is no free lunch, but in this case, no free parking on the beach! Parking is at a premium anywhere along the beaches in both Miami and FLL and our price is in line with other upscale hotels in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    993
    796
    285
    117
    58
See reviews for
530
923
110
223
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (623)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Managed to get this hotel through on on line hotel broker at $125 a night for a quick weekend in Ft Lauderdale. The location is good.It is on the strip but at one end so everything is within a short walk. It is on the ocean front.The lobby is sort of modern cool ,the bar area was definitely a scene and lively. The rooms have ocean views but no balconies which seems odd for an oceanfront hotel. You can get floor to ceiling windows or half windows.
The rooms were spacious and also quite modern and comfortable. The staff were terrific. From check in to check out they were more than thorough and attentive. Also, the valet was remarkably fast which leads me to the only slightly negative. There is no self parking and valet is $25 a day.
Again, a mild complaint as it was well worth $125 a night.

Room Tip: I would def get the floor to ceiling windows. A view is part of the reason one wants to be on the oc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClarkNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear ClarkNY, I am glad you were able to escape for a quick getaway from NY and hope that all is well in the aftermath of Sandy. I appreciate your positive comments, particularly about our terrific staff. Parking is always at a premium on the beach, and our rates are in line with other resorts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We booked this hotel for a 2-nights stay following a cruise out of Fort Lauderdale and I'm sorry to say it was the most disappointing hotel experience I have ever had. How I wish we had booked another stay in the Atlantic hotel just down the street where we stayed before the cruise. This hotel looked very nice on the Internet and we decided to book it through Get-a-Room.com. I booked a "stunning king" room which has a floor to ceiling window (well, not quite but never mind).

Our cruise arrived in Fort Lauderdale at 7:00 am and hence we arrived at this hotel at 9:30 am, well before the 4:00 pm check-in time, we do realize. No problem we were told by a very nice young man. As soon as our room category was vacated and it was cleaned we could check in. Happy to hear this we went off to have breakfast in the bistro (a very ordinary little space, food was ok) and then went out to sit by the pool. Where we sat and sat and sat. And sat. Fast forward 4 hours and we ask at the front desk if our room is ready. No it's not we are told. So we sit and wait. We ask again. No is the answer. We take a taxi to find a bookstore. When we return an hour or so later we ask again. Still not ready. We wait and finally, lo and behold, our room is apparently ready. But - it is the wrong room category, a "captivating king" which is a downgrade from what we booked and paid for. Luckily we have a printout of our confirmation letter which clearly states the room category. But we have to wait again for almost an hour to get this room. It is now 3:00 o'clock, still an hour before the official check-in, a fact that the desk clerk Mariana impresses on me. Yes, I know. I get it. But in many hotels an early check-in is possible and we were certainly told that after the 11:00 am checkout time our room would be made ready as soon as possible for us. 5 -1/2 hours is the best they could do??

I can say with certainty, from the huge numbers of people filling the lobby all trying to get their rooms, that this hotel has a problem with room turnover. Whether they don't hire enough housekeeping staff I don't know but it was utter chaos and a really unpleasant experience being there.

Now to our room. It was fine, it has the nice ocean view (hey almost every hotel along that strip, and there are dozens, have nice ocean views). Our room at the Atlantic Resort just down the street, (see my review) was much nicer, much bigger, had a kitchenette and an ocean-front balcony, all for less money.

This room was fairly small, had no bathrobes or slippers, although you could call down and request one - yeah right, who wants to do that. There is no coffee maker in the room although there are a bunch of expensive snacks you can purchase. The bathroom has a shower, no tub. My husband says the ceramic tile floor is the worst tiling job he's ever seen (OK, he's an architect he notices those things). Although there are 2 bedside tables there is only 1 lamp. Guess only one of us gets to read in bed. The room is definitely older with a whitewashed veneer to make it look cool and über modern and sleek. Truly it's nothing special.

My advice is to take your money and business somewhere else.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lillybelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Lillybelle, thanks for sharing your comments and apologies for not meeting your expectations. We certainly do our best to accomodate early arrivals, but when the hotel is full this is a reality that will occur from time to time. We do not like to have our guests wait, and that is why we communicate ahead of time the 4 pm check in. That being said, when we are not fully booked the night before, we do accomodate early arrivals, as witnessed by many on this site. One more thing: our rooms are less than 2 years old, so actually newer than the rooms at the Atlantic!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

we stayed here for 3 nights and can recommend!

Nice rooms in modern style, bathrooms a little small but great ocean views! The beds are to die for so comfy!

Valet parking a bit pricey and annoying-would like a car park!

pool area nice but a little small

Location nice-quieter end but right across from the beach. A bit of a walk to the restarants and bars.

Very friendly staff and love the turtles in our room we named ours terry :-)

Room Tip: ocean views are gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbugcharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear travelbugcharlie, many thanks for your comments. Glad to hear you enjoyed our Blissful beds and that our staff took good care of you. I appreciate your perfect scores on cleanliness, service and sleep quality. I hope "terry" is adapting well to it's new environment... :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yonkers
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

it was a clean great hotel i loved the wavey walls and the pool bar awesome sushi great service will be back in January. they allowed early check in and a late check out awesome. they are close to the beach and the best pizza in lauderdale

Room Tip: ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spanofuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear spanofuel, thanks for your perfect scores! Glad we could accomodate your early c/in and late checkout.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogotá
Level Contributor
204 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The hotel is located aprox. 20-30 minutes away from Fort Lauterdale-Hollywood International airport. Just a road separates it from the nice and clean beach!

The checkin process took us aprox. 3 hours - because Expedia where we had booked, had messed up our travel reservation.
The staff at reception was extremely helpful to get it sorted and fix the problem.
The light effects in the lobby are nice and relaxing.

Annoying is the parking fee for USD 25/day for valet parking.
The public parking one block away is charging USD10 for the day and USD 10 for the night - a total of USD 20 per 24 hours.

Our rooms were on the 3rd floor: very nice and clean - with direct view to the ocean.
A huge flatTV and a working desk in the room - but no minibar nor coffee maker!!!
Just some chips, sweets etc. for purchase.

A plus was the free internet: stable and fast connection.
The bathroom (shower and tub) was clean.

Breakfast: we took the buffet - around USD 18/person - for fresh delicious fruits, juices, eggs, breads, pastry, and american coffee. In our opinion overpriced - but a good start into the day.

The recreational areas of the hotel are poor compared to the hotel standards:
Far to small for the number of rooms offered by the hotel:

The gym is very small - with only 3 treadmills plus 1 or 2 bikes and one exercise station.

The pool area is nice - but suitable for a hotel with 20-30 rooms only.

On the other hand - the beach is just accross the road. We enjoyed a sunny day there.
A clean beach - no trash; no loud music. Very pleasant.
Just the busy road created some traffic noise.

One block away you find some bars/restaurants.

Summary:
nice hotel with limited recreational areas (gym/pool) which is located at a beautiful beach.
Very friendly and helpful staff.

If you have a limited budget for travelling, don´t forget to consider the expensive extras
like parking, breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floors (better view!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tom_brd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear tom_brd, thanks for your feedback. Happy to hear that our staff was friendly and helpful. As you state, we do offer free Wi-Fi, which very few hotels on the beach provide and we do so for as many devices as you have.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We just spent three nights at the B Ocean Fort Lauderdale.

Overall, this is a fantastic boutique hotel next to the beach, and with amazing ocean views from every single room. But it has a big problem, considering that it is in a vacation spot: the pool area is small and does not fill all residents!

The hotel is 12 floors high and every room has spectacular ocean views. Tyler in reservation was great, and gave us a room on the 11th floor, which had amazing panoramic views.

The décor of the hotel is impeccable, all white and smooth. The lobby has a stylish Bistro, a Sushi restaurant and a pool bar. The corridors are also very stylish. The room itself was of good size, with very comfortable beds. All décor was stylish and modern. The bathroom was very modern, but with no sufficient ventilation.

The hotel does not have self parking. As such, you have to use their valet parking for $25 a night. Although this is expensive in Ft Lauderdale (a garage a block away was $10/day), it was really convenient to just leave the car there. The wifi was free throughout the hotel and in rooms (great!).

Up to here, it would have been a hotel to return over and over again. However, the small pool area is a BIG minus. The deck is very small, with cramped chairs and some cabanas. The pool size is also relatively small. But most importantly, the chairs were not sufficient for all guests.

Because of the above, you were only supposed to go to the beach daily, which is conveniently located in front of the street. But the hotel does not provide chairs or umbrellas, just towels. In order to be relatively comfortable, you were supposed to buy beach chairs in the shops nearby.

In summary, a great hotel with a BIG structural flaw.

Room Tip: All rooms have ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fernando-Botargues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Fernando-Botargues, thank you for your great comments. It sounds like you trully enjoyed your visit. Despite the size of our pool, our guests trully enjoy this cozy and intimate area... and the drinks at the pool bar are awesome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#11 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 stars 1,761 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#30 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 stars 1,415 reviews
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#17 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 stars 3,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#58 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 stars 3,130 reviews
The Aqua Hotel
#6 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 stars 894 reviews
Central Beach
The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale
The Westin Beach Resort, Fort La...
#31 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 stars 3,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach

Property: Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Address: 999 N Fort Lauderdale Beach Blvd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-3310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#10 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#18 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#19 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#35 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps away from the ocean and the beautiful Fort Lauderdale beach, Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach offers you a sensational experience among Fort Lauderdale hotels: oceanfront hotel accommodations, unique restaurants and lounging areas, and a variety of excursions for those guests looking to explore Ft. Lauderdale, Florida. Our ballroom and meeting rooms on the penthouse floor overlook the Atlantic Ocean, presenting a special setting for business meetings and social gatherings held at this Fort Lauderdale Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b Ocean Fort Lauderdale Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing