We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BEST OCEANFRONT HOTEL IN FT LAUDERDALE!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Ranked #17 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Dearborn, Michigan
1 review
“BEST OCEANFRONT HOTEL IN FT LAUDERDALE!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2011

B Ocean provided my 3 friends and I with a great experience with clean rooms, a beautiful lobby and outdoor pool, and great restaurants. The rooms were very clean and the ocean view was beautiful. Access to beach towels was easy and they had theyre own volleyball net on the beach. We made new friends...the staff! Nicest people. Very friendly and helpful. Tiffany (the hotel manager) and Staci took excellent care of us. Im definitely booking my next tip to Ft lauderdale at the B Ocean!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hassan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,132
    884
    313
    125
    66
See reviews for
609
1,038
120
244
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (678)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2011

We stayed here last year during the boat show and thought the glitches were just because the hotel just opened, so we tried it again this year because the location is good.
Sheets were never changed. Room cleaning done mostly at night when you don't want to be disturbed. Needed a late check-out because of late flight and absolutely not even 30 min. grace period. No effort at front desk be helpful in any way. LASONYA, at front desk didn't appreciate the fact we were repeat customers or that we were customers at all. Just very unhelpful and short.

Room Tip: 1220 has great view, but still no changed sheets
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOceanGM, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
Dear Mike W,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay. I apologize that your sheets were not changed during your visit. We do change the sheets every three days as part of our Green program unless requested more often. I am also sorry a late checkout was not granted. I am troubled that my team did not make you feel more valued. I will use your feedback as a training opportunity and will address your issues promptly. I would like to point out that this hotel did not open until the end of January and was not opened during the past Boat Show. I hope you choose to try us again and would embrace an opportunity to speak with you personally.

Kindest Regards,

Joel Darr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2011

My husband & I stayed here for two nights, one before & one after a trip to the Bahamas, since we had a stop over. It is just as you see in the photo's. Very clean, very modern, beautiful full view of the ocean. We found the staff to be very helpful & friendly, too. To me it feels like a scaled back version of the W but for the price it's an excellent deal IMO. We enjoyed the restaurant Saia (sp?) here, too.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tgraven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

...because this place stinks. The employees are dreadful , do not appreciate customers that have children, and this hotel is over-rated by a long-shot. The bathroom was dirty, and it was questionable if the sheets on the bed were even changed. I asked to have them changed and it never happened so we slept on towels and moved to another hotel. Just gross.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOceanGM, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
Dear Daniel C,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent visit with us. I am truly sorry that your experience was not as you expected. I would very much embrace the opportunity to speak with you personally to help me better understand what happened during your stay with us. I commit to addressing your issues and hope to have a chance to win you back.

Kindest Regards,

Joel Darr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miromar Lakes, FL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

My boyfriend and I have recently visited the B Ocean Hotel. We were there for a birthday and stayed two nights in the Master Suite. Our room was never cleaned and we had even called the front desk when we left in the morning. We would never even begin to think and stay there again, but Nico the front desk manager that Sunday gave us personalized and exceptional service. We stated to him what we went through and he made it up times 10 and was very polite and accommodating. We will consider staying there again only because of him. I myself am in the hospitality career field and I've never had someone do what Nico did for us. He came to the room personally to apoligize for our troubles and deliver a sewing kit we had requested. He is definitely a top notch employee!

Room Tip: The Master Suite had a panoramic view of the water and sun rises were incredible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOceanGM, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
Dear Jessica L,


Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding Nico's fantastic customer service. I am thrilled to read this and will be sure to recognize him for his efforts. I will also speak with him to better understand the details regarding your experience and ensure the appropriate training takes place. I am sorry that your visit was not perfect from the start and commit that your feedback will be used to help improve our services going forward. I hope you choose to come back soon and please reach out to me personally so I may introduce myself.

Kindest Regards,

Joel Darr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlantic
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

Overall I did enjoy this hotel but probably not stay there again. First of all the staff were fabulous on the desk and restarants . I can't say enough about the asian one...some of besti have had. Prices in both restatrants were very good for the value. The pool area was nice too. The two complaints I have is (1) the gym was so small and actually dangerous. Beside 3 tread millls, one elliptical and one bike the only other , and I mean only piece of equipment was a cable machine that was in such bad shape I didn't use it as it was easy to get hurt. The cables were sticky and didnt even lower when you let go. I can't believe this day in age a new hotel would not have a well equiped gym. No towels, no weights and no water.. Second - there was hair all over our bathroom floor and shower from previous guest. I mentioned it to desk staff who said they would have the room refreshed- no sign this happened as was the same when we returned from dinner. The baseboards were dirty and for a hotel not even a year old I can't imagine what it will be like in 5 years. The beds were really nice and decor lovely. We got a deal at priceline so for what we paid it was good value.

Room Tip: if your room is no clean....demand it be recleaned
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArtSmartTart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

The hotel was very comfortable and clean. The room, was very nice, and the bed, comfortable. The hotel manager was very friendly, and made sure we had everything we needed, from robes, to a late check out. There are two restaurants in the hotel. A cafe, and a sushi bar. The sushi was not impressive. The service all around was horrible in both resturants, and at the front desk. In both restaurants the waiters acted like we were burdening them by even coming in. Service was very slow, and the waitstaff felt scrambled and as if they needed help. The waiter didnt even know what kind of vodka they carried at the bar. Would return to the Hotel, would not return to the restaurants.

Room Tip: Refridgerators, late checkout and robes are available upon request.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#14 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,889 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#24 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,596 reviews
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#49 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,659 reviews
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#21 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,887 reviews
The Aqua Hotel
#10 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach

Property: Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Address: 999 N Fort Lauderdale Beach Blvd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-3310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#7 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#18 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#18 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#33 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps away from the ocean and the beautiful Fort Lauderdale beach, Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach offers you a sensational experience among Fort Lauderdale hotels: oceanfront hotel accommodations, unique restaurants and lounging areas, and a variety of excursions for those guests looking to explore Ft. Lauderdale, Florida. Our ballroom and meeting rooms on the penthouse floor overlook the Atlantic Ocean, presenting a special setting for business meetings and social gatherings held at this Fort Lauderdale Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b Ocean Fort Lauderdale Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing