We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rip Off, Slow/Bad Service”
Review of Ace Rent a Car - Ft. Lauderdale Intl Airport


Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Want a company that makes you wait forever to get a car and rips you off? Then Ace is the place. Took three people working at the counter over 45 minutes to process renting cars to just five people in front of me in line. Was told that there would be someone in the garage to help me out with the car. Wrong. No one there. When I came back, I got charged for gas even though I'd just filled up the tank. When I wanted to discuss, the employee just went away. They also ripped me off on the Sunpass, charging me 5x what I was told. Car worked fine but nothing special. I won't be back.

Date of travel: January 2020
    • Location cleanliness
    • Pick-up wait
    • Car cleanliness
    • Shuttle
    • Customer service
    • Drop-off wait
    • Vehicle condition
    • Value for money
Thank DudleyTurtleMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (4)
Traveler rating
    Traveler type
      Time of year
        Language
        Reviewed 4 weeks ago

        On Jan 7th, I went to the ACE counter to take delivery of a car I paid $224 for online, The (not friendly at all) clerk told me I HAD TO take the optional liability insurance (extra of $16 per day), because it "is the law in Florida" and if I did not, she just could not rent the car to me. It appears it was just BS. There is NO such law in Florida. So the totally screwed me, since I ended up paying $378!!
        Besides, they gave me a vehicle with a fuel tank at 1/4 (not that easy to bring back with exactly the same quantity of fuel, right?) and an empty windshield washer fluid tank...
        When I brought the car back, I confronted the same clerk with the insurance info I found online. She brushed me off again and told me I could call her manager to lodge a formal complaint. I would STRONGLY advise people not to choose ACE.
        Disrespectul service, insurance scam and overall, a VERY BAD experience.

        Date of travel: January 2020
          • Customer service
        Thank Navigate259211
        This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
        Reviewed November 8, 2019

        Ace provided me a car without a reservation at a very fair price, after all the other carriers were out of cars. What a contrast to Fox, which refused to honor my reservation, kept me on hold 1.5 hours and the shuttle took 40 minutes to arrive at the airport.

        As bad as Fox is in Ft Lauderdale, Ace is that much better. In Ft Lauderdale, GO TO ACE - DON'T GO TO FOX.

        Date of travel: November 2019
          • Location cleanliness
          • Pick-up wait
          • Car cleanliness
          • Shuttle
          • Customer service
          • Drop-off wait
          • Vehicle condition
          • Value for money
        Thank dontmissthis
        This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
        Reviewed November 7, 2019
        Google Translation

        Date of travel: November 2019
          • Location cleanliness
          • Pick-up wait
          • Car cleanliness
          • Shuttle
          • Customer service
          • Drop-off wait
          • Vehicle condition
          • Value for money
        This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
        Write Your Own Review

        Been to Ace Rent a Car - Ft. Lauderdale Intl Airport? Share your experiences!

        Add Photos & Videos