We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great variety, just superb!”
Review of Kenji Japanese Fusion - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Kenji Japanese Fusion
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Delivery
Description: Everything is made by order, so you can bet for fresh food!!!, we are peruvian japanese owners, our meals reflect the nice fusion. from sushi, rolls, and diversity flat grill style steaks, chicken and seafood.
Columbia, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
671 reviews
382 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 377 helpful votes
“Great variety, just superb!”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Tucked into a small strip mall next to the Comfort In on Commercial, Kenji Japanese Fusion is one of those treasures that you write home about and wish it were near your home!

The fusion is Japanese and Peruvian. The combination works well. We had the Godzilla Roll: tuna, escolar, salmon, avocado, scallion, masago, seaweed and eel sauce; and the Kenji Roll: shrimp tempura, topped with ahi tuna, avocado, spicy crab, tempura flakes, kimochee and eel sauce. Miso soup came with the meal. We couldn't resist the Banana tempura dessert---oh, so really good!

The service was prompt and friendly, The family working to prepare and serve the food were a pleasure to watch as they enjoyed their work and were justly proud of the results. Prices ranged from $8 to $10-12 for most rolls.

There were many dishes on the menu that made decisions tough. I had a tough time skipping the pollo salado and chicken adobo and other intriguing offerings.

The decor is simple; the food simply wonderful.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Edge W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    2
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“As Always, a great meal”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

I have eaten there 4 or 5 times, and each time has been a delight. Extremely fresh food, and the blend of Japanese and Peruvian is wonderful. Very friendly staff. You can BYOB, which helps save money but also allows me to pair a good wine with their food.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FORT LAUDERDALE
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Interesting variety of food at great prices!”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Sushi, Japanese, and Peruvian dishes in a simple atmosphere. The owner is friendly and engaging; she encourages BYOB although there are several beers sold. The sushi was fresh and several rolls had an interesting flair - mixing sushi with ceviche sauce. Our favorite was the roll made without rice; wrapped in a cucumber; and covered with ceviche sauce. Huge variety of food offerings mean that one can dine there any number of times without repeating anything eaten previously. It is a real find tucked away in a shopping center on Commercial Blvd. The prices are very reasonable. My daughter and I will DEFINITELY be back!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank debsalsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good service Fair food”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I ate at this resturant on Sat. evening. not many customers no wait, service was fast and friendly however the food left some to be desired. Maybe I'm not cut out for Japanese food I don't know for shure, but I will not dine here again. However the servings were generous and the prices reasonable.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan6801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami, fl
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Japanese meets Peru”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I will begin you would never expect this kind of food from a restaurant in a strip mall. We found this place on line because were attending a concert in the area. The food was awesome and service was great. Oh did I mention the prices cant be beat for the quality & presentation of the dishes. We stuffed ourselves silly. Started with a rice less roll of cucumber & crab to open the appetite. Kenji roll is to die for. The chicken wings in spicy sauce were cooked to perfection. The 3 others rolls plus the chocolate lava cake were superb. OMG you could of rolled us out of there. There are so many things to try on the menu and limited stomach size to be able to do so in one visit. They have a Peruvian side of the house with a listing of those items as well. I would come back when I am in the neighborhood again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lynus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kenji Japanese Fusion also viewed

Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing