We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I expected.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port
Ranked #22 of 127 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 15, 2012

We booked the Crowne Plaza for one night before a Caribbean cruise. The positives: The hotel has a free shuttle from the airport. The room was quiet. The negatives: The hotel is in an industrial area and there is nothing much nearby that you can walk to in the evening. The hotel decor is "cheap" modern and the rooms look pretty tacky. The bathrooms aren't the cleanest.

Be forewarned: The hotel has a desk in the lobby that offers a fee-based shuttle service called All Stars to the cruise port. They urge you to buy a round trip ticket for $10 per person that will take you back to the airport after your cruise. They promise that they run every 15 to 20 minutes, but in fact, there was a large group waiting for over an hour. The shuttles were too small to hold everyone. Meanwhile we could have taken one of the many taxis available and paid less. We had a very bad experience and so did many others. Make other arrangements.

Room Tip: If you want to choose a good room, choose a different hotel and use a different shuttle service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bstorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIManagement84, Manager at Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to make your contribution. We are very sorry that you did not enjoy our hotel on your visit. We will be talking to the shuttle service that you mentioned in your contribution, we use this service all of the time because of their great service and guarantee, please call them and talk to them about your experience, at 954-226-7828, they want their customers to be 100% satisfied. This is not the type of service you deserve or should expect from them or us. Thank you again for your contribution.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,362)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,168 - 1,174 of 1,363 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2012

We win this hotell on Priceline so we stayed there 2 nights pre-cruise.

The rooms are nice and clean. You can get a sofa bed for $10 more, which is very convenient for families with kids.
There is a wonderful rooftop pool and sitting area.
The convenient shop on the 5th floor has everything you may need (cereals, sandwiches, milk, chips) if you don't want to eat in their restaurant.

There is a Hertz car rental on the property. Hertz also provide free shuttle to the port if you rented one of their car so don't get the hotel shuttle ($8/person)

We will not hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: Choose the king bed, their queens are not queens but 3/4
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stefanny28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

The rooms are great, dont get me wrong. However, front desk staff is terrible!! Always had an attitude no matter who I dealt with. Certainly not what you I am used to. Gave terrible advice on multiple occasions (yes,you can walk to the beach...NOT-its miles away; or no, you cannot walk to Enterprise rent-a-car...YES you can, its only a block away behind the Mercedes dealership!!). Always wanted us to use their shuttle service to get places, claiming it would be cheaper than a taxi, but guess what- its not! And it takes forever! Gym is ok...not the best Ive been to but certainly not the worst. Pool is beautiful, but theres not too much room, and theres a smoking area connected to it- yuck!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank holly b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIManagement84, Manager at Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to make your contribution. All the opportunities you encountered will be rectified immediately. This is not the type of service you deserve or should expect from us. Thank you again for your contribution and we look forward to your return with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

The hotel was fabulous, very close to FLL. It was 33 miles from South Beach and Miami Beach. Staff was very friendly, helpful. They have a Hertz Rental Car right in the hotel, that was very convenient. I wouldn't stay at this hotel if I was going to Miami or South Beach. Its just too, far away from everything. But, great location for the cruise ships, we could see the ship from the elevator. Just a walk away from Burger King, McDonald's Denny's and CVS and the Pizza place. Room was very clean the bathroom was exceptional, I loved the bathroom and shower was huge. Overall, my stay was great, just not close to the Orange Bowl or downtown Miami. But, then again its only a 20 to 30 minutes drive away if you don't mind the drive/traffic. Only complaint no matter where your room is located you can hear the elevator bell. That was annoying.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShellyShell66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

We had a wonderful time in Fort Lauderdale recently when staying at the Crowne Plaza... We enjoyed much social time visiting Andres and Gil at Kiki's Restaurant. They made everyone feel like family. The food was AWESOME! The other guests were fun to talk with, the bar was extensive! They went out of their way to make our stay even better then we expected! THANK YOU ANDRES, cant wait to come back!

Room Tip: very close to port and beach. only down side was no mini bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

Convienient location near both airport and cruise port, good restaurant on site, OK enough Gym and swimming pool, rooms were nice (blue color was theme which was kind of refreshing). Hertz rental car on location was helpful to pickup/dropoff as we got there 1 day earlier than our cruise sail date. Staff was friendly at both hotel and rental car. Our room faced the main road and was bit noisy when high powered bikes and cars went by (which are very common in this parts).

Room Tip: away from main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SriTal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

We stayed one night at the Crowne Plaza prior to a morning departure from the Ft. Lauderdale airport, just two miles away. Our king room was well-appointed, clean and spacious; bed (and bedding) were luxurious. Bonuses were a fridge, mic, coffee maker, wi-fi and AC that was controlled by a thermostat in the room. We arrived after 7 p.m. and hopped back into the car to find a restaurant, as there was nothing within walking distance. No complaints -- would definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Zemo6221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport/Cruise
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#12 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,157 reviews
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort La...
#40 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
3,213 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airport North Cruise Port
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airp...
#8 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale Air/Seaport
Candlewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale...
#36 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
492 reviews
7.9 mi away
Fort Lauderdale Marriott North
Fort Lauderdale Marriott North
#24 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,452 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port
Best Western Plus Fort Lauderdal...
#41 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port

Address: 455 State Road 84, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#21 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#22 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: $146 - $357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Fort Lauderdale's newest vibrant urban full service hotel! The Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port is modern, elegantly designed, chic, and centrally located to all Fort Lauderdale's South Florida events and attractions. Ideal for corporate or leisure and the most discerning traveler. The Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port is located at the entrance of Port Everglades Cruise Port and less than a mile from Fort Lauderdale Int'l Airport (FLL), Broward County Convention Center and 2 miles from Downtown Fort Lauderdale. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing