We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Burgers lovers... when in Ft Lauderdale this is your place...”

Gilbert's 17th Street Grill
Ranked #6 of 1,330 Restaurants in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Gilbert's 17th Street Grill is a family owned and operated restaurant that serves up great burgers, ribs, wings, home made soups, and salads. Daily blackboard specials include Pan Seared Tuna, Chinese Roast Pork on Garlic Toast, Havarti Burger Served on a Toasted Garlic English Muffin and The Hottest Burger in South Florida. Also has some great homemade desserts including Mrs. Gilbert's Rocky Road Road Cookies, Oatmeal Raisin Cookies, Key Lime Pie and NY Style Cheesecake. The Gilbert family has served South Florida for the last 10 years and has over 40 years experience in the food service industry. A family member is always on site and happy to open up their kitchen to you, treating your family like family!
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Burgers lovers... when in Ft Lauderdale this is your place...”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We found the place last year and become regulars. We try other places very close to Gilberts, but, no way to compare. The only thing we could mention is that the place is too traditional like a cafeteria, not sport bar style, but the service and the food, particularly burgers are a 10....

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank crucitagil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,400 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,000
    290
    81
    16
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“good food but odd concept”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

The food here is quote good. The way you order the food and then have it served makes no sense. They should just serve food in the typical fashion.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort lauderdale
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Food but the owners son...”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Gilberts has some great food the staff is very friendly and attentive to their customers, however, the owners son is openly rude to the staff. So much so that I find it uncomfortable to dine there. Perhaps the mail will open a 2nd location out west and let him run it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shelby s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Hamburger in Town”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

They pay special attention to your order, someone always comes to you table an checks to be sure your order is correct. The special board has a soup and other specials.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The best in Fort Lauderdale by far..”
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

My family & I found out about Gilbert's several months ago and since our first visit we've become regulars. I can not find one negative thing to say about this place. From the food, service, staff everything is impeccable. The owners and staff really care about the customer and it shows. The owners always make sure to visit our table to say hello and make sure we are enjoying our meal. This place should absolutely be # 1 in Ft lauderdald. I highly recommend the spicy salmon & Cambodian slaw, ahi tuna or the burgers.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marissa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gilbert's 17th Street Grill also viewed

Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 

Been to Gilbert's 17th Street Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing