We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“affordable food, very good food and great staff”

Gilbert's 17th Street Grill
Ranked #9 of 1,329 Restaurants in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Gilbert's 17th Street Grill is a family owned and operated restaurant that serves up great burgers, ribs, wings, home made soups, and salads. Daily blackboard specials include Pan Seared Tuna, Chinese Roast Pork on Garlic Toast, Havarti Burger Served on a Toasted Garlic English Muffin and The Hottest Burger in South Florida. Also has some great homemade desserts including Mrs. Gilbert's Rocky Road Road Cookies, Oatmeal Raisin Cookies, Key Lime Pie and NY Style Cheesecake. The Gilbert family has served South Florida for the last 10 years and has over 40 years experience in the food service industry. A family member is always on site and happy to open up their kitchen to you, treating your family like family!
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“affordable food, very good food and great staff”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

I have nothing but good comments on this restaurant. It was our second time there. We had a caesar salad and it was great. The owner is very friendly and she makes her best to deliver a great service. We will go there again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maxrx7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,383 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    986
    288
    80
    16
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The Best Burger in Town”
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

This place was a great surprise! The best burger in town with so many different options.
The service is fantastic, which is a plus since is not very usual find good service in South Florida.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tatiana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great food, outstanding service”
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

We arrived just ahead of a throng of customers --- over 20 people lined up behind us. I remarked to the cashier that this place is just as popular as the Trip Advisor reviews said and he replied, "All these customers are great, but I do worry. I don't want anyone to think that because we are popular, we are paying less attention to quality. I assure you we are going to give you a great meal, even if we are really busy." WOW! He was genuinely concerned about living up to expectations ---- and the meal we enjoyed was just as delicious as all the reviews described. Even more noticeable was the service and the way the staff worked as a team. For a "fast casual" establishment, the attentiveness and friendliness was better than what I have experienced at many a white-table-cloth restaurant. I attempted to get my own plastic ware and was greeted by a server who said with a smile, "you don't have to worry about getting any of this --- we'll bring everything you need when your dinner comes out. Just go relax at your table and we take care of the rest." Gilbert's deserves their accolades for great burgers and fries, and if there was an award for customer service and staff awesomeness, then they should get that one, too.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank travelmum415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornhill, Canada
Level Contributor
141 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“We need one of these where we live!”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We walked in the door and were greeted warmly and made to feel very welcome. The gentleman explained everything and answered all our questions. We ordered things ranging from salad and soup to fish and burgers. The portobello mushroom sandwich was great. The burgers were absolutely magnificent. They were juicy and flavourful. Even the fries and sweet potato fires was delicious and memorable. I would run back here in a heartbeat. Do not miss this restaurant on your travels.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pretty awesome Burgers”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

The burgers were huge, juicy and delicious, but the best part was the staff and the service, they made us feel like they knew us for years, would go back in a heartbeat.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank nickyplumb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gilbert's 17th Street Grill also viewed

Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 

Been to Gilbert's 17th Street Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing