We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old Reliable”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of J. Alexander's

J. Alexander's
Ranked #93 of 1,326 Restaurants in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Old Reliable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

We have been to J's many many times and have NEVER been disappointed. Enough said? The food, service, and relaxing environment are the best. Taking someone with an unknown pallet?
Go here as the menu is varied and drinks are made with the good stuff. See you there next month, huh?

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bryan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    110
    38
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Workington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Top of the list, Wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Our first time at J Alexanders Ft Lauderdale and it was fantastic, went with friends and everyone thoroughly enjoyed their meals, the Fillet Mignon was one of the best iv'e ever eaten.
Very nice restaurant and really great server (who's name escapes me now) but she coped with a very demanding group of Diners, one of which kept asking for extra corn bread croutons so she will know who we were.
I would recommend to anyone, Wow.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jakeylad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Always visit here.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Really fresh, great food, nice staff, nice surroundings. Always enjoyable. We have a favority waiter, Jeffrey, who has the softest southern accent and is a pleasure to converse with.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank msmaryanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Lauderdale
Level Contributor
74 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great place to meet friends for a meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

This is one of my favorite lunch spots to meet friends. We use to make this a weekly visit. The food is good and plentiful. The menu is simple and the service is exceptional. If you are looking for a good drink, excellent burger or salad, this is your place. Enjoy!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank MoondoggynFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida Panhandle, Florida
Level Contributor
291 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Hard to fault, dependable upscale chain restaurant on Federal Highway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is in my neighborhood, just a stone's throw from a competing Ruth's Chris. I much prefer J. Alexander's. The environment is warm, with dark woods and brick, and it smells wonderful upon entering. There is an attractive bar. I've always had good, though somewhat programmed service here. The steaks are quite good, expertly cooked. I've also had some very good fish. The carrot cake is very rich, and very popular. It almost tastes like it has been dipped in Karo syrup. The shoestring fries are excellent as well. If you're celebrating a special occasion, or have company in town and want a 'no surprises', mostly reasonable meal, you can't fault J. Alexander's.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank mibenco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J. Alexander's also viewed

Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 

Been to J. Alexander's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing