We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Relaxing day” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Water Taxi

Water Taxi
Book In Advance
Book Now
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Take the Water Taxi tour to explore Fort Lauderdale and Hollywood from the water! Your ticket allows all-day Hop On / Hop Off at over 20 stops, and savings at restaurants and attractions at each stop. Think of it as a trolley tour on the water with great destinations along the way. **Important note: Go to our web site for pick up an drop off locations. Do not go to the office location as it is just the business office and Water Taxis do not pick up at the business office. **
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Relaxing day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Took the water taxi from Hollywood to Ft Lauderdale for a round trip. Had to pay when on the boat and was $100 for 2 adults and 3 kids 12,15 & 17. A little expensive for a family for a round trip ride. Should have planned it better but the staff was friendly and knowledgeable.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Scout109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,700 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,021
    1,155
    304
    104
    116
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great by day, boring by night (depending on crew)”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The Water Taxi is a great way to see cool sights along Florida's Intercoastal Waterway-- including famous houses, boats, and buildings. However, it would help if the Water Taxi crew would point them out! The first time I visited in Jan 2011, the crew was really good about pointing out and describing interesting sights -- even at night. I learned a lot, and had a great time.

But, when I recently returned for another nighttime visit, the crew didn't bother pointing anything out. Our ride was silent, boring, and felt like a work-commute. The rest of my group was left disappointed, unimpressed, and clueless about what they'd just seen.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank patelka08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great transportation while in Ft L!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We have utilized the Water Taxi now on our last two visits and have been very pleased! Not only is it a great way to see the sights of Ft Lauderdale, it's a convenient way to get around town as well. The Taxi has multiple drop-off points, conveniently located along the waterway at many popular spots/destinations. We never rent a car and just go everywhere we need to by this Taxi ... always a good way to get the latest scoop on the locals too from the tour guides :)

Buy the week long pass--it's a great deal!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
1,757 reviews
469 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 971 helpful votes
“Best way to see the huge yachts and mansions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

My wife and I took the water taxi last year during a visit to Fort Lauderdale and really enjoyed it. On this trip to Fort Lauderdale we decided to spend more time on the water taxi so we could stop at most of the thirteen stops that they stop at. We walked down to their office and purchased a three day pass for two people for $99 which is a $21 saving over their normal rate. We started fairly early each morning and came home on their last departure every night which was around 11:30 pm. This is one of the few ways to see the beautiful yachts and mansions on the intra-coastal and to learn about them and who owns them. We actually went on the water taxi for an additional two more days. Five straight days on the water taxi! My wife enjoyed just being on the water all day getting sun and relaxing. We both highly recommend taking the water taxi for at least one full day.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldTravelers34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
1,757 reviews
469 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 971 helpful votes
“Best way to see how the rich and famous live”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

My wife and I took the water taxi last year during a visit to Fort Lauderdale and really enjoyed it. On this trip to Fort Lauderdale we decided to spend more time on the water taxi so we could stop at most of the thirteen stops that they stop at. We walked down to their office and purchased a three day pass for two people for $99 which is a $21 saving over their normal rate. We started fairly early each morning and came home on their last departure every night which was around 11:30 pm. This is one of the few ways to see the beautiful yachts and mansions on the intra-coastal and to learn about them and who owns them. We actually went on the water taxi for an additional two more days. Five straight days on the water taxi! My wife enjoyed just being on the water all day getting sun and relaxing. We both highly recommend taking the water taxi for at least one full day.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldTravelers34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Water Taxi also viewed

Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 

Been to Water Taxi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing