We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to experience Ft. Lauderdale”
Review of Water Taxi

Water Taxi
Book In Advance
More Info
$15.00*
and up
Fort Lauderdale Water Taxi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Take the Water Taxi tour to explore Fort Lauderdale and Hollywood from the water! Your ticket allows all-day Hop On / Hop Off at over 22 stops, and savings at restaurants and attractions at each stop. Think of it as a trolley tour on the water with great destinations along the way. **Important note: Go to our web site for pick up an drop off locations. Do not go to the office location as it is just the business office and Water Taxis do not pick up at the business office. **
Naples, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great way to experience Ft. Lauderdale”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We visited our son in Ft. Lauderdale this past weekend and decided we would try the Water Taxi for our Saturday evening entertainment. We parked by the Museum of Art and walked to the Water Taxi stop. Tickets may be purchased on board, full day $20 unlimited stops , $10 after 5PM. We stopped at the Pirates Republic and had a wonderful seafood dinner. Then continued on to Briny Riverfront Pub. We returned to our original boarding stop after riding the taxi for about 30 minutes, marveling at the city lights. Cannot wait to go back and spend a whole day exploring all 12 stops.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank MayZKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,731 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,652
    1,427
    378
    131
    143
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“water taxi rate”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I was shocked when I boarded the water taxi that I did not qualify for the family pass. I had 2 children ages 12 and 14. I was told I needed to lie in order to qualify. On my return in a different Water Taxi I witnessed the person collecting fees made allowance for the family of 4 and they were given the family pass without question. This family was non black. Racism? I'm not sure. When we asked about the discounts at listed taxi stops we were granted none and in Fla be prepared for gratuity add ons no matter what type of service yoreceive. Ugg!!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank debc482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt Island, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great fun for all!”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Everytime I'm in Lauderdale for business I make it a point to take a day off and ride the water taxi around. Not only does it serve the purpose of a taxi to get you from location to location, but its a fun ride along the way. The captains and mates are very knowledgeable about the area homes and attractions. You're allowed to bring a cooler onboard with drinks as well. This is fun, unique way to see Fort Lauderdale from a different point of view!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank CLGORDON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Easy Way to Travel”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

There are 12 stops on the Water Taxi and it's a very easy way to get around Fort Lauderdale. You can hop on and hop off for $20. pp for the entire day, inexpensive and easy way to get around.
We do not drive so we used it quite a bit on our 10 day stay. We stayed at Gallery One which
was stop # 2. All we had to do was walk out of the lobby to the waters edge. The captain and mate woud give a running comentary about all of the mansions or sites that we were passing.
Some of the stops include # 12 which is Priates Republic (great burgers & excellant seafood),
# 11 River Walk and other stops will get you to the great beaches and Las Olas (art galleries & shops).
Great way to see The New River and The Intracoastal Waterway.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Polargirl151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Average but that was because we waited over an hour for pick up!”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Boarded at Las Olas pick up #5 which was USD20 per person (family of 4). The staff were friendly and provided fun commentary. We stopped at pick up #9 as my daughter was not feeling well and we wanted to see the beach area. Hopped off and noted that pick up would be in 40 minutes. We walked along the beach boardwalk and went to a small bar on the waterfront where we could see when the water taxi would come in - it was literally around the corner from the bar. Despite not seeing the water taxi approaching the bay we walked to the pick up point with 5 minutes before the boarding time (it suggests that you get there 5 - 10 minutes before) and there was a couple waiting. Well, we waited well over an hour for the water taxi to come by. There is no phone available to call to see what has happened so we wasted an entire hour when we could have stayed at the waterside bar and had a bite to eat etc. As it turned out, the same taxi picked us back up and the captain was doing the commentating - he was quite funny. So while the taxi ride itself was great, the hour wait in the hot sun was not. For that reason, I would not take this tour again as you cannot depend on the taxi arriving at the advertised time.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MT T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Water Taxi also viewed

Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 

Been to Water Taxi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing