We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Restored my faith in customer service and quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Steak 954

Steak 954
Reserve with OpenTable
Steak 954 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #30 of 1,326 Restaurants in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Central Beach
Cross street: Bayshore Blvd.
Description: STEAK 954 is a modern boutique ocean-front steakhouse. The restaurant features dry aged beef from hand picked ranches; Tajima Kobe from Australia, locally caught seafood, and the finest wines and spirits with selections from all over the globe.
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Restored my faith in customer service and quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2014

Some of the Fort Lauderdale restaurants we have visited have lacked a little in the quality of service compared to previous visits over the years but steak 954 was excellent. We were extremely surprised to find that our head waiter was from Blackpool but that was great to hear a familiar accent so far from home. The service and food were superb and although it is quite expensive compared to other restaurants you can feel the difference. The atmosphere was really good and you can opt for indoor or outdoor seating (make sure you wear bug repellant for the no see ums!) There is also a huge tank with jelly fish which is so relaxing to watch - if you don't make a reservation the wait doesn't matter cause you have beautiful pink jelly fish to watch floating in a fluorescent blue tank. This is a great place to go for a special occasion. Ask about the reduction for valet parking if you eat in the restaurant.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JackieB229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    779
    329
    124
    61
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
149 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great Steak and the Crab Cakes are A1 too.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014

The steaks here are truly exceptional and the crab cakes are great as a starter. One other thing is the truffle fries are excellent too. All considered a first class steak house with excellent service so its ideal for a special occasion. In this case it was a birthday and the free cake was a nice touch.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
151 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“A Waiter Who Would Not Go Away”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014

Our evening began with our waiter wanting to point out the special items. Twenty minutes later, he was continuing to basically read the entire menu. I finally asked him to go away.

Didn't work! He was back soon and, while he took our orders, he prattled on about a wide range of irrelevant topics. This continued through the meal until, once again, I told him to go away. Didn't work this time either.

On the positive side, this restaurant has outstanding food. All of our dishes were superbly prepared, with the black cod being as good as we have ever experienced.

However, like so many of the newer hotel restaurants, he had no tablecloths, no carpets, and uniformly hard surfaced walls. By the time the place was half full, the noise level had become intolerable. Despite the excellent food, we could not wait not leave.

Unfortunately, the noise level will keep us from returning, even though we tend to stay at the W.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank byrddawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
109 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Upscale Steakhouse”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

This restaurant was everything a high end steakhouse should be. Good food, great cocktails and outstanding service. I had the Painkiller which was a great libation and tasted just like the ones I have had on Caribbean vacations. We had the raw seafood appetizer,and the ceviche was delicious. I would go back just for that one dish - - it was that good. My husband's steak was great and prepared just as he asked, and the side dishes were also of good quality and flavor. We had a very attentive waiter, and he really helped make the meal great. The only thing to improve was the timing of the meal. The restaurant was packed, and things seemed to move slowly including the valet at the end of our meal. It is also a bit pricey and probably more for special occasions. However, this was a great upscale steak house experience and I would definitely recommend it.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent...12 times”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

We were staying at the W so 954 was the most convenient for dinner the night of our arrival. A medium sized, very hip space, with both indoor and outdoor seating, although the patio wasn't open for dinner during our stay. The service was impeccable and each of our plates were excellent. Dinner is pricey but what we expect for a nice steakhouse atmosphere. On the next subsequent days we ate breakfast on the patio everyday. A very good omelet, excellent coffee. I made several special requests and made them my regular order each day, which the three servers we encountered remembered each day. On our next visit this will be our dinner spot night of arrival, and then breakfast and several dinners on subsequent evenings. After having such hit and miss service in FL, 954 was very consistent. The only issue we had was with 1 young hostess, but didn't see her again. You must try the key lime baked Alaska desert, awesome! I would say a very good option in FL for a nice dinner, although pricey, but probably less that Shula's etc. We loved sitting mesmerized by the jellyfish aquarium on multiple occasions.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bordanb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steak 954 also viewed

Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 

Been to Steak 954? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing