We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely views, horrible food.”

Intracoastal Waterway
Book In Advance
More Info
$62.54*
and up
Fort Lauderdale Segway Tour
More Info
$18.69*
and up
Fort Lauderdale Family Pirate Cruise
More Info
$119.99*
and up
Private Miami Water Activity Package
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Navigate the canals that have earned Fort Lauderdale its nickname, "Venice of America."
Oklahoma City
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Lovely views, horrible food.”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

The cruise itself was fun. The indoor air conditioned area is extremely small. If you need AC, get there early and grab your seat. The sights were nice, but you can see the same from the water taxi. Dinner was salad, garlic bread and 3 types of lasagne, frozen pie for dessert....all from Sam's. If you are looking for a nice meal, skip this trip. We went for free,thanks to Wyndham. If we had paid $92.00 for it, I would have been pissed.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,855 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,208
    542
    84
    14
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great by day, boring by night (for water-taxi riders)”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Great points of interest, including famous houses and buildings -- however, it would help if water-taxi staff would point them out! The first time I visited in Jan 2011, water-taxi staff were really good about pointing out interesting sites -- even at night. However, when I recently returned for another nighttime visit, the staff didn't bother pointing anything out. Our ride was silent, boring, and felt like a work-commute. The rest of my group was left disappointed, unimpressed, and clueless about what they'd just seen.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank patelka08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, WI
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cool to see all the house on millionare row”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

It was very scenic, huge houses, very different from where I hail from. We had a good tour guide who shared the history on each property along the way including the current owner/occupant.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank travel4fun26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Boat tour of intercostal waterway”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

A great way to view and learn about this beautiful area. Captains were very informative. The homes and yachts were incredible. Plenty of stops to have lunch and shop. Wish the crew was paid more so they did not have to keep requesting tips.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Missymom53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great view of the "Venice of Florida"”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Must do in good weather! Gray, cloudy, overcast, or worse will ruin the trip. Our captain was a riot / not sure if all are as good

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank FloridaMike_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Intracoastal Waterway also viewed

Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 

Been to Intracoastal Waterway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing