We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Outdated property in convenient spot” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Seaside Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Seaside Motel
Ranked #112 of 136 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Outdated property in convenient spot”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Stayed here to attend Gulfstream Park horse track and casino. Would not recommended that anyone else stay this far north to visit the track. Terrible traffic made the trip troublesome. Motel is severely outdated. Feel for the cleaning staff, the age of the property makes it impossible to give it the appearance of sanitary. Would never stay here with the wife or more than one night. On a positive it is on a decent side street congruent to the Hilton and the W hotel. These help give a better feel of feeling secure walking in the area. Close enough to the beach for those who want the beach hotel. Plenty of nice towels and reasonable king bed. This place truly needs a angel investor.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tom o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    6
    5
    6
    7
See reviews for
4
12
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

This place was not good. The room had a musty odor. Rust was on the sink, microwave & tub. Shower handles were not attached. Pillowcases were dingy. The tv was a BIG back 15'..(old school). The air conditioner was at a set temp. The pool looked cloudy! AND the housekeeper acted as if she had an attitude when we asked for more towels! The floors looked as if they had not been mopped in ages. The lady at the front desk sat outside our window talking and smoking cigarettes with her friends for at least 6hrs! ...not to mention that she brought her dog to work with her. The pics they are advertising have to be from the 70's when they firts built the place. NEVER AGAIN!

Room Tip: STAY SOMEPLACE ELSE! this is not a good choice. The motel is seriously old & outdated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashaki101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fort Lauderdale hotels

Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

I would give this place a 2.5 if I could. Knowing you have booked at a lower-end place you lower your expectations. The reason I have given it a poor rating vs the average rating is that I believe you can still book for inexpensive accommodations (with no amenities) without it having to be dirty and run down. I have stayed at less costly hostels that were cleaner than this place.

My friends and I originally booked the Seville Hotel, but were moved here because of "renovations" or something of the sort. The room was old and dirty. The walls were stained, the floors were not exactly clean, the sheets seemed clean but still gave me the heebiejeebies knowing how dirty the rest of the place is - I did not dare use any of the blankets. That being said, it was convenient and the room was large and the price was cheap. The room had a kitchen, which was very useful. It was a very short walk from the beach, so you don't have to spend much time inside the room. As well, it is walking distance from the main mall area where some restaurants are located as well as a CVS. I figure there may be newer/renovated rooms that you can book (based on pictures I've seen of nicer looking rooms).

Stay here if you just need a bed to sleep in and don't mind dirtiness.

Room Tip: Call and ask whether they have newer/renovated rooms. If there is a minimal difference in price, it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peachtree1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

I booked this hotel due to it's location and price. Closer to the time we were due to stay here, I started to read some bad reviews, and wondered if I'd done the right thing.
There was nothing to worry about. The hotel is one street away from the fantastic beach, and 10 minute's walk from lots of bars and restaurants at "Beach Place". It must be a good location as it's right near to The Westin, The W Hotel and the Hilton!
Check in was very straight forwrd and fast, we were shown our room first, which was a refreshing change,so if it had been bad we wouldn't have had to check in at all.
The room was a very good size, with 2 double beds and lots of storage space. Great shower pressure with instant hot water. Very efficient maid service.
The pool area is lovely and relaxing. It never got crowded and there were plenty of loungers.A gas BBQ to use as well.
The room had a fridge and a microwave.
OK, so it's a little outdated and could use a coat of paint, but if you want slick furnishings, stay in the W for 4 times the price.
The beds were very comfortable, and free coffee in reception in the mornings.
There is plenty of parking right outside, and you get given a pass to put in your car.
All in all it's a great place that I would highly reccomend.
It's next door to a couple of other hotels in the same group, and they look about the same standard, it's The Sable Group of hotels.
Give it a try, you won't be dissapointed, unless you expect Vegas Luxury at motel prices. There is no smell of mould or dirty sheets which other reviews mentioned.
Just a cute little place that has charactor, and is not a big chain hotel.

Room Tip: It's nice to be on the ground floor so you're close to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SimoneSheldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

The room smelled of mold. The bathroom was a disaster, no stoppers (bath/sink).The counter was 4 legged chrome with a yellow arborite top( 50"s). The towels were white, but the sheets were a variety of grey and beige whites, and very limp. I felt the springs in the thin mattress. The kitchenette was unuseable. The stovetop was all rusted and burned. Thank goodness the weather was cool, and I did not have to use the air-conditioner(disgustingly dirty and rusting). I paid $119. a night and heard an employee quoting $80. on the phone. This motel has not been renovated since it was built, and does not appear to have been well cleaned. I will never ever stay here again, and will discourage anyone else from doing so.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine2345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts, UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

Date of stay Dec 14th 2011- Dec 18th 2011

We booked in advance using one of the hotel web-sites (which said there was only one room left, so clearly popular) and got the King Studio for 4 nights pre-cruise. When we arrived, we were upgraded free of charge to the King apartment, with separate lounge/dining area and full kitchen on the ground floor beside the office.

The bathroom sink didn't have a plug but even if it had I would not had used the sink as both the plug-hole and the over-flow slot were thick with rust....the toilet was clean but very old, the bath with over-head shower was in ok condition and had a FAB water pressure flow.

The kitchen does indeed have a sign regarding the level of cleanliness but what it says is that the items have all been clensed in a "normal" washing up sort of way, but not industrially clenses in a reastaurant kitchen way with all those rules and regulations. I did not have a problem with that....

The air-conditioning was very welcome and worked great.

We found it all an ok experience.....yes, the hotel is old and on the shabby side,
but it seemed clean enough and VERY conveniently situated for the beach......however I won't be staying there again.

It was an experiment to save money and whilst we did indeed save money by staying there, it was a very good example of "you get what you pay for" and as we didn't pay much we didn't get much...!!!!!

Oh and I had my own memory foam pillow from home so I slept very well and the bed was comfy.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HippyChick55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
Level Contributor
125 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

The room didn't smell bad and the room did not seem dirty. However the bedding was very stained and uncomfortable and the bed was very hard.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AKdreaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Sandy Shores Motel
Sandy Shores Motel
#115 of 136 in Fort Lauderdale
3.0 of 5 stars 24 reviews
Central Beach
Nobleton Hotel
Nobleton Hotel
#40 of 136 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 stars 51 reviews
Central Beach
Ikona Hotel
Ikona Hotel
#86 of 136 in Fort Lauderdale
5.0 of 5 stars 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
The Fortuna Hotel
The Fortuna Hotel
#51 of 136 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 stars 53 reviews
Central Beach
Seville Hotel & Apartments
Seville Hotel & Apartments
#52 of 136 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 stars 329 reviews
Central Beach
Soleado Hotel
Soleado Hotel
#43 of 136 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 stars 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaside Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaside Motel

Property: Seaside Motel
Address: 350 N Birch Rd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4285
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#36 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Seaside Motel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Seaside Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaside Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing