We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful”

Bonnet House Museum and Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Ponds with bonnet water lilies and tropical gardens surround this historic 35-acre 1921 courtyard style waterfront home, whose artistic and innovative owners, famed artist Frederic Clay Bartlett and his wife Evelyn, made equally beautiful inside.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“wonderful”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

When I was younger and living in Ft Lauderdale I always wanted to see this someday, at the time it was someone's private home, not a museum. I finally got to visit and found it wonderful; worth every bit and next time in town I'll visit it again. The tour guide was nice and had great stories.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank 4155fha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    788
    357
    95
    15
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bonnet House”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Great look at the early Florida upper class. Beautiful grounds, building, art collection. All the original furniture and fixture have been well preserved and are on display. Docent tour has just the right amount of facts and fiction you want to hear. See the mounted fish collection of species caught right on the beach of the house or nearby - most do not exist today. Don't miss the "veiled marble statue" it is an amazing carving and the faux finishes throughout the house are truly artistic. Well worth your tima and money.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Leonard2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, KY
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pretty, but overpriced”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We chose the house and garden tour which cost $20 per person. (AAA discount will take it down to $18 each). The house was interesting and very eclectic. It is considered unique because it has been left as it was when it was originally built in the 1920s. The tour guide wasn't very friendly and kept repeating the same information. Photos are not allowed in the house. Beautiful area, but unless you're really interested in the furnishings of the house, stick to the self-guided garden tour for $10 per person.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelgal098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Art & Florida history come together.”
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Anyone interested in art history, Florida history, nature photography, or architecture will enjoy this quirky house and gardens. I'd rate it higher than the Hemingway House in Key West -- and unlike the Hemingway House, many of these rooms are air conditioned!

Just a block west of the main beach road, the Bonnet House is easy to walk to from hotels on the north end of the beach or reach via the Sun Trolley from the south end hotels.

You'll feel the difference in atmosphere from the moment you enter the property. Calm, quiet, green, lush. Join one of the tours to get the most from the visit. The details are everywhere but easy to miss if not pointed out and explained. As I mentioned, many of the rooms are air conditioned, and there are also places to sit in each room as you listen to your guide. This is an unusual surprise and very helpful to anyone who might have trouble standing for long periods.

Mangroves, wildlife, a boathouse, shaded courtyard, artistic gazebos, covered bridges -- this property exudes charm. The tour focuses on both the actual house interior and the property itself. Although you can't take pictures of the interiors, it's the outside grounds that will have you pulling out your camera.

You'll do a lot of walking on gravely paths, so choose your footwear accordingly. At one point, you can choose to be shuttled around on a golf cart for a small fee, but there will still be some path walking. Property seems to be wheelchair accessible, I don't recall any steps that didn't have a ramp, and bathrooms are available. Bring your own water bottle. Plan for about two hours.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie-SoloTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Webster, NY
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A very pleasant way to spend a few hours.”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

My wife and myself were in Fort Lauderdale for a couple days, and were looking for something different to do. We decided to visit the Bonnet House and were very glad we did. This estate was quite impressive.It was astounding that the people who once lived there had the time, money, energy and talent to create such a wonderful place. We were very impressed with the gardens, the art and the architectural features that they created and left for us to enjoy.

We took the inside tour to learn more about the history of the estate. The tour was comfortably paced and very interesting. We also took the Tram tour to see the grounds. That was worthwhile and revealed some unusual facts about the place. While outside, we even got to see one of the monkeys that resides on the grounds.

It is amazing that this estate and slice of nature is just minutes away from the busiest sections of Fort Lauderdale.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Trave1er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bonnet House Museum and Gardens also viewed

Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 

Been to Bonnet House Museum and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing