We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely facilities except for the building work noise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
Ranked #42 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely facilities except for the building work noise”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Although the hotel doesn't look amazing from the outside it has lovely gardens, pools and rooms. Staff are exceptionally helpful especially Leo and the lady at breakfast who we kept inviting to go power walking with us. Having named them I have to say everyone was great.

The rooms were very spacious and kept spotlessly clean. Pool area and gardens were great and kept beautifully. Buffet breakfast great.

On the downside it was a little bit out of the way and the big complaint is the building work going on there with steel piling most of the day. The noise was horrendous and our travel agent had not warned us. We would not have booked this hotel had we known about the building work. This did drive us out a lot of the time. When we complained about the noise we were told that had we booked direct it was in the website and indeed it was, but we did not know before we booked and no one let us know. We were offered another hotel but declined as did not want to move all our stuff.

Would recommend this hotel when building work is finished.

Room Tip: Both our rooms were excellent, ours and my sister in law and brother in law's.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iwona R, Executive Assistant at Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for sharing your stay experience. We are happy you loved the hotel and our team provided above and beyond service. We apologize the travel agent did not disclose marina renovations but are pleased to hear you consider returning once the construction is completed. If I can be of any assistance with your future booking, please feel free to contact me at iwona.reveliotis@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,894
    1,351
    765
    417
    292
See reviews for
1,026
1,729
259
892
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,204)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Years ago, this used to be one of the finest hotels in town. Now, it's sad to see how owners, LXR, are not maintaining this property. Evidence of wear and neglect are common sights and the place really is starting to look worn. The spa was quite disappointing. Cheap renovation looked 1/2 done in the locker room and was a combination of new and old things. Poor spa management...no towels in the locker room on 2 occasions and when they did finally did bring towels, they were so small you couldn't even wrap it around your waist to use the steam or sauna. Marginal spa experience, too. Lots of little things left me with a quite a poor impression, which is too bad since I live in the area. They don't even bother to keep the dumpsters hidden; terrible first impression to self park and to see some nasty sights as you walk in. I haven't been here in a few years and was kind of shocked to see it look like this. Marriott's Harbor Beach is a much better choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldTraveler33305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iwona R, Executive Assistant at Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for your review and honest feedback about your recent stay. I apologize that your spa experience was not more favorable, and will certainly share your feedback with the spa owner and our entire team. At your convenience, I would greatly appreciate an opportunity to speak with you directly. I can be reached at 954-728-3505. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

I frequently stay at Hyatt hotels when available in the area I'm traveling to...I have learned to expect a certain standard, especially at a Hyatt Regency...The Hyatt Pier 66 gets a Mixed rating from me because while the Lobby, Restaurants and Pool area are extremely nice, the Rooms just didn't do it for me....The room was basically stark, no pictures on the wall, not even any furniture...just a TV table that held three small drawers and a frig. On the positive side, the Grand Hyatt beds are great! And the very large sliding doors overlooked the Marina, with gorgeous views of magnificent yachts....The A/C was awesome, keeping the room really chilly, which is how I like it.....The Pool area is beautiful -- three large pools, two running into each other and each having a waterfall. ..... the food was good.....Just so you know, this Hyatt is Not on the beach, it's on the Marina, and it is at the base of a long bridge that you could walk over and get to nearby places to eat....Outback and Carrabbas were over the bridge. So, that is my mixed feeling about the Hyatt Pier 66.......If you're looking for a Four Star hotel Room with lots of amenities, you might be disappointed.......But the rooms were clean, the view awesome, the lobby modern, the food good, and the pools beautiful.....

Room Tip: Ask for a High Floor in the Marina building with an Open balcony so you can see the beautiful boats...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Itslyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iwona R, Executive Assistant at Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for your candid review. We love to hear you liked our lobby, pool, and restaurants and that your room was clean, had aweseom views, your bed was comfortable and AC provided a welcome break from the weather outside. You will be pleased to know we are in the process of replacing all room furniture. Hope you return to check our new look!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Have just spent ten nights in this hotel. The room was beautiful and kept very clean. The staff,everyone of them so friendly and helpful. Leo always had a wonderful greeting and made us feel very welcome. A special mention to George in the cafe by the pool, what a sweet man.! The grounds and pool area outstanding. The one thing that spoilt our stay was the terrible building noise which drove us away on a couple of days Such a shame we were not warned of this. Apart from the noise the hotel could not be faulted in any way.

Room Tip: my sistvter in law and brother had a room overlooking the sea, whereas we were at the back, both had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulaturner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iwona R, Executive Assistant at Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for sharing your stay experience. We are very pleased to learn that your accommodations were clean, you and your family loved the room views, and that our team provided you with a warm welcome. We apologize for the noise related to the necessary marina renovations. We will work harder on making sure all our guests are aware of possible noise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I spent two nights at the Hyatt Pier Sixty-Six in mid September. The hotel is located in a marina and has some of the best looking public areas - from the lobby and lounge area to the pool complex. Very rarely can I say this, but every staff member I had the pleasure to interact with was personable and was truly looking to make my stay a better one. From the front desk who offered a preferred room to the security guard who radioed housekeeping to bring pool towels. My tower room was was clean and spacious. I think this hotel is an excellent option for those travelers who don't have to be right on the beach.

Room Tip: Marina and pool view rooms have open-air hallways. The tower rooms are closest to the lobby and vale...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ptyes700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iwona R, Executive Assistant at Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for posting your review. We are very happy to hear you liked our hotel and your accommodations and that our staff proved efficient and friendly in making sure all your needs are met. We hope you return for another visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Not a bad property, Staff was very nice. The Hotel has been updated in many ways but you can still tell it's old. Only stayed one night and likely will choose a different property next time. My only real complaint is due to the dampness in the room. The HVAC system cranks out moisture. The breakfast was also just ok and probably not worth the $20.The wait staff were exceptionally nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brandon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iwona R, Executive Assistant at Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
We appreciate your review and candid comments about your recent stay. We are pleased our team provided a friendly service to you and you liked the hotel and location overall. We do hope you decide to return. Should you need any assistance with reservations, please contact me directly at 954.728.3505. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We love this hotel. It is the one and only place we stay when we are in Fort Lauderdale. We've tried staying in the garden rooms but our favorite place is in the tower, preferably on a high floor. The views of the intercoastal and the Atlantic are stunning. The service has always been really good and the staff very friendly. The rooms are clean and well maintained and the beds are comfy. It might not be a Ritz, but you can't beat it as far as I'm concerned. It's also easy to get to and you don't have to deal with the beach traffic as much. Also, give the spa a try. I had one of the best ever hotel massages there, and that's saying a lot!

Room Tip: Tower, upper floors, facing north if possible. North facing has better views and are a bit quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZumaMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iwona R, Executive Assistant at Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for posting your review and for choosing Hyatt Regency Pier 66 every time you are in Fort Lauderdale. We are so glad that your Tower room, the beautiful, expansive view, and our personalized service made for a memorable stay once again. We look forward to seeing you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
#54 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,579 reviews
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Crui...
#32 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort La...
#40 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#20 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#15 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,607 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#23 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six

Property: Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
Address: 2301 SE 17th Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-3107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#14 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#30 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#39 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#42 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six 4*
Number of rooms: 384
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six, a South Florida landmark resort in the heart of Fort Lauderdale, is a 22-acre tropical retreat featuring a world-class marina; Spa 66, the signature health and beauty spa; and a full-service Aquatic Center. A refreshed classic, the resort boasts a new contemporary lounge and function space, along with 384 spacious guestrooms and suites, a spectacular three-pool oasis, and five dining outlets offering everything from incredible waterfront views to innovative, fine dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-6
Hyatt Regency Fort Lauderdale
Hyatt Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing