We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad but a couple of quirks”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
Ranked #41 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not bad but a couple of quirks”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

The room was clean. The service was good. The price was average.

It's a bad location, not really walking distance to the beach and the parking is a little disorganized.

It's a long walk to your room, be prepared. They didn't mention we could park around back closer to our room but due to the channel the parking only comes so close. Not a big deal for us as we are super active.

The pool was nice but the waterfall was turned off and the drips from it were rusty. Likely should be cleaned up as its not very appealing. The hot tub is extremely uncomfortable to sit in lol, the surface is like gravel. Really surprised us, but could be they don't want people slipping.

The room was excellent, the view was nice, the shower was huge and the bed was comfy.

Room Tip: Try to get a room close to the lobby or to a parking lot entry way. You also will have to negotiate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam-on-the-move
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,885 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,960
    1,395
    790
    432
    308
See reviews for
1,079
1,778
269
929
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,229)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We tried the Hyatt Pier 66 for the first time before our cruise. At first it was a little confusing finding our room & we were sorry we didnt use the bell service but it was a lot nicer than some of the reviews led us to believe. We had a pool front first floor room with a lanai for sitting out at & so convienient when we used the pool. The room is huge as is the shower. It definitly needs some TLC & modernizing.but given the pool access we enjoyed our 2 night stay. The room has a nice large flat screen TV & directly accross the pool is a small cafe open nice & early for coffee & fruit or pastry. We were pleasantly suprised to not be bothered by any noise at all at night being so close to the pool. W took a trip up to the top of the tower & enjoyed a lovely view of the marina & cruise port. The water taxi stops at this hotel & is a must do as they give a nice tour as they go from stop to stop..We will be back for our next cruise

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timeforfun050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I recently stayed at the Hyatt Regency Pier 66. I personally think this place is overrated. The staff is not very inviting (including valet parking attendants). You feel as if you are invading "their" space.

While checking in, the customer service rep used my debit card to HOLD (preauthorize) the amount of the room and incidentals. The only problem is the room has been paid in full!! This of course caused me to meet my daily spending limit. It's a good thing I had cash and another credit card on me or I would've been stuck my first day in Ft. Lauderdale with no other means.

They have two different types of rooms- the tower and "bungalow" style rooms. If you don't want to spend the money to stay in the tower...look elsewhere. I checked in on March 15th to a non tower room. We walked a mile from the front desk, outside and to the room (which no one assisted us with). After we finally found it! This was a room which we entered from the outside -_- The room is ok, nothing fancy by all means! We had a view of the very small marina but our security door would not lock. After calling the front desk they informed us that maintenance would be up to fix it. We explained that we would be out on the town being tourist and it was ok for maintenance to go ahead and come in. When returning to our room we realized the door has not been fixed! We called the next morning to the front desk and explained our situation. Needless to say due to much disappointment, Chad upgraded us to a tower room on the 8th floor. Great view of the city, very comfy bed, nice upgrade but not worth the money.

I honestly don't think this place lives up to Hyatt's standards and should definitely not carry the name! The lobby is very becoming but once u leave there it's very dated! There are better places to spend your money.

...and btw, upon checkout the "system was down" and we were told an email would be sent. I had to call in order to remind them to send me a statement, geez!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marine City, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

This is the second time we've stayed at the Hyatt Pier Sixty-Six prior to a cruise. This time we allowed an extra day to relax and explore the surrounding Lauderdale area. Our Tower Room was a bit pricey, but we had a great view of the ocean and cruise pier. The room was exceptionally clean. And, the bed....it was like sleeping on a cloud. Loved it. Make sure you get a wake-up call! Will stay again.

Room Tip: If you like being near the intercostal waterway, there are rooms right down by the water. If you lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michigalian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Not a typical Hyatt experience. Very relaxed and no attention to detail or customer requests. Will NOT recommend this hotel
Room old and not to expectation. Had to request regular coffee 3x before they got it right. Housekeeping was non-chalant

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jrsimone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, Vermont
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

OK... I am an architect and chose this hotel in spite of some bad press. Was NOT disappointed, but rather inspired as I looked from my upgraded room ($17) on the 15 floor.

The grounds are great and walking to the beach is NOT a big deal.

The Grille 66 restaurant and bar was superb - and the setting on the marina is quite nice.

Although the hotel shows its 50 yo age in places, its layout and staff are simply wonderful.

Room Tip: The room update into then tower for $17/night is pretty fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeonSavage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We seemed to have one misadventure after another at this Hyatt. Check-in was rather slow because the clerk, a congenial lad, was in-training, but his supervisor would answer one question and then walk away only to be called upon for more guidance just moments later. This occurred several times.

The room was spacious with great views from the balcony, the office desk was well arranged, the WiFi worked fine and the bathroom was clean and of ample space, but when my wife poured herself a drink from the tap, the water was yellowish enough to be noticed. I then found the sign stating that the water's discoloration was natural in South Florida, so I handed her a bottle of Aquafina that was in the room only to discover that it costs $3. I would think that if their water was discolored that the Hyatt would provide an alternative free of charge.

The alarm clock was the type that received Ipods or Iphones and even though I could set the alarm, I could not seem to set the time, so I called for a wake-up call the next morning and asked to have the time on the clock set properly. The wake call did not arrive.

We were out of our room from 8am to 8pm and when we returned, the room had not been made up or touched in anyway by the hotel staff. The next day we left at 8am and returned at 4pm. The maid followed us into the room on that day and proceeded to make up the room. I did not want to send her away and try to have the room made up later for fear that the make up might not happen at all.

We went for ice on the first night only to find the ice machine was inoperative . We were there for three night and the ice machine was not repaired during our stay.

The pools are beautiful and a wonderful place to pass the afternoon and worth the price of the room. The hotel is an older hotel and could stand a refurbishment in many areas. All the problems that we encountered at the Hyatt Pier Sixty-Six could have been overcome by training and management procedures. It was by far, the worst Hyatt that we have ever visited and a disappointment to us.

Room Tip: The hotel is essentially, a cylinder, ask for the view that you want. We enjoyed seeing the cruise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wmlifsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
#54 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,761 reviews
1.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort La...
#40 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,068 reviews
0.7 mi away
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Crui...
#32 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#23 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,313 reviews
0.7 mi away
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#45 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,917 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th ...
#13 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six

Property: Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
Address: 2301 SE 17th Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-3107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#15 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#30 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#39 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#42 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six 4*
Number of rooms: 384
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six, a South Florida landmark resort in the heart of Fort Lauderdale, is a 22-acre tropical retreat featuring a world-class marina; Spa 66, the signature health and beauty spa; and a full-service Aquatic Center. A refreshed classic, the resort boasts a new contemporary lounge and function space, along with 384 spacious guestrooms and suites, a spectacular three-pool oasis, and five dining outlets offering everything from incredible waterfront views to innovative, fine dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-6
Hyatt Regency Fort Lauderdale
Hyatt Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing