We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Misleading!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
Ranked #42 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Misleading!”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed at this hotel 1/16 & 1/17...Where to begin?? Let's start with "Beachfront" hotel (as stated in Priceline). This property is marine front on the intercoastal waterway, about a 1.5 mile stroll to the beach. Upon checking in, the grounds, lobby and common areas were rather well kept. However, our room (2096) was more like a low budget motel! The furnishings were very well worn, carpeting stained and fraying. Our ground level room offered a patio with a door that did not lock, instead, they offered a "bar" for security. It wasn't until later that we discovered the black mold on the grout in the dated tub/shower area. In addition, the room had a very musty smell. The wall unit air conditioner, (take note that the thermostat was about 7 inches from the unit) not only sounded like a semi, but seemed to run constantly. Upon all these "fine" discoveries, we returned to the front desk, spoke with Marie, in hopes of having our room changed to a more "Hyatt" like quality..."sorry, we're booked full".
Seriously?? Had we not prepaid, we would have found other accomodations. All in all, this was a poor excuse for Hyatt, and we were very disappointed. Save yourself money and a "musty, moldy headache", stay elsewhere!!!!! Shame on Hyatt. They have won at losing our business!!!

Room Tip: hmmm...seriously, stay at another Hotel.... There is a "tower" to this hotel, I'm sur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lauraleez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPier66, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for taking a moment to post such a candid review about your visit with us. I am disappointed that your visit with us was not as pleasant as we all would have liked. Your feedback is greatly appreciated, and allows us to help others to understand our facility. When booking thru a channel such as priceline we do not claim that we are beachfront, but rather we fall on the barrier island and therefore fall under the beach area since the beach in exactly one mile away. The property sits on 22 acers and has three different room types with the marina and pool being one of the most popular when booking thru site such as you did. We also offer rooms in our tower building with are not standard but are sold as a premium due to the views of the ocean and intracostal waterway. Thank you for your time and we hope we can again rebuild your trust in us but also the Hyatt Brand.

All the best,

Glenn Spanier
General Manager
Hyatt Regency Pier 66
Glenn.spanier@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,779 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,918
    1,366
    774
    423
    298
See reviews for
1,045
1,745
265
904
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,214)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

$250 a night plus $21 a night for self parking. My room was in the older part of the hotel not in the tower. The room has two twin bed. It has an appearance and smell of a cheap one star rent by the hour motel. Not worth the price? I stayed from Jan 18, 2013 through the 20 th.

Room Tip: Make sure the room is in the tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We arrived on a Thursday morning. Nice check in clerks. Proceeded to room. Room had some lint near the bed. Thought, "Well that must be from us". Bathroom was good size. Dressing area was well lit.
Room is in the older part of the hotel . It had a sliding glass door that overlooked the yachts on the waterway. Walked around the area. NIce clean area. Felt safe.

Ate at the Pelican Landing. Great food. Then headed back as we were tired from traveling. Got up Friday and did some sightseeing. Ate breakfast that day at the pool bar. Great food there. The 2 guys there were really nice. Took notice that housekeeping had replaced our towels. Lint was still on the floor near the bed. Took our baths, then we found out that we had only 1 large bath towel . Two people are in the room. So, What? Why?

Proceeded to get our luggage repacked for our next trip. Then I happened to notice that our white sock and my white footie sock was black on the bottom. Began to wonder why? Took a white washcloth and cleaned the floor from the toilet to the sink, through the dressing area and around both sides of the bed, and across to the desk. Blacker than our socks!

Got up Sat. morning and notified the check in clerk of our discovery. He stated he would have housekeeping mop the floor. Now we are wondering IF they ever clean/vacuum the floor between guest ?

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Atv-cruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
118 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

I was lucky to get the Hyatt Regency via Priceline for a couple of days during Christmas week. I was very pleased with my entire stay and can't say enough good things. From the warm welcome we had at check-in, to the General Manager himself making sure we had a pleasant visit, I will definitely come back to this hotel again.

The pool area is very nice and relaxing. No problem getting a lounge chair. But one thing---the hotel should have a smoking area, or just keep the pool non-smoking! You can get drinks and food by the pool which is always very nice.

Our room was large and spacious with a modern bathroom. There was also a great view of the marina and nearby cruise ships as well.

One of our favorite places to eat and just chill was the Hyatt's Pelican Lounge. I wish I knew the name of the gentleman from check-in that recommended it to me. Without his reco, I never would have known it even existed. The Pelican Lounge is a restaurant a short walk away from the hotel in the marina area. It sits high atop the marina area with a great view of all the gorgeous yachts and boats coming in and out of the waterways. The food was very good, awesome drinks and they even have delicious desserts.

So thank you to Glen, the General Manager of the Hyatt Regency for helping make our family trip so enjoyable and memorable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzy_Shopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on our return from a cruise for one night. Its VERY close to the port, which is handy but only annoying thing is that its on the other side of the 'bridge' which opens to allow cruise liners in & out. Can be time consuming and pricey as you watch the meter ticking while waiting for the bridge to open and close.
Although staff were friendly, they were all a little 'spacey'.
The hotel is massive and we had the room that had to of course be at the furthest point possible. We had our luggage and lots of shopping bags and no one even offered assistance to the room. We thought that was a little 'unusual' lack of service for the Americans who we always find very hospitable.
When we asked the staff about catching a train to Orlando, no one was very informative.
The room is very big, equipped with tv, desk, balcony and a very big comfortable bed. The bathroom is sooooooooo run-down and old. Toothpaste was supplied which we thought was pretty good!
Actually didn't explore surrounds so cant comment on location to anything else.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank wisemonkeysabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I had the chance to visit the newly renovated Spa 66 at the Hyatt this afternoon. I arrived an hour early to enjoy the amenities such as Fitness Center, Sauna, and Steam Room. Staff was very friendly and Jason was great at answering all my questions. I had a one hour massage with Jeff, who was an excellent therapist and a one hour facial with Camilla who was just a great. The fitness center was average and the waiting room could be a little more comfortable (they have modern sitting chairs in the waiting area instead of the typical lounge chairs found in spas). I enjoyed the dry sauna as well.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlelady82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
94 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

Hyatt Pier 66 is located near the cruise port. Location is ok, but a walk over the bridge is necessary for local restaurants. We were upgraded to a tower room which was fabulous. Appeared to be recently remodeled and it was immaculate. Other reviews here have noted run down rooms but we did not find that situation with our room at all. We have paid 3x the price we paid here per night for similar accommodations. Front desk staff was friendly,efficient and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Weeniedog51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPier66, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Hyatt Pier 66, and thank you for your wounderful remarks which I have shared with the staff. We look forward to having you stay with us once again if your travels bring you back to the Fort Lauderdale area.

All the best,

Glenn Spanier
General Manager
Hyatt Regency Pier 66
glenn.spanier@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
#54 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,657 reviews
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Crui...
#35 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,144 reviews
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort La...
#40 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#24 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,279 reviews
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#48 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,834 reviews
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#16 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six

Property: Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
Address: 2301 SE 17th Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-3107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#13 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#30 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#39 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#42 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six 4*
Number of rooms: 384
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six, a South Florida landmark resort in the heart of Fort Lauderdale, is a 22-acre tropical retreat featuring a world-class marina; Spa 66, the signature health and beauty spa; and a full-service Aquatic Center. A refreshed classic, the resort boasts a new contemporary lounge and function space, along with 384 spacious guestrooms and suites, a spectacular three-pool oasis, and five dining outlets offering everything from incredible waterfront views to innovative, fine dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Prestigia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-6
Hyatt Regency Fort Lauderdale
Hyatt Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing