We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Palm Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Palm Plaza
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I spent a lovely weekend here and cannot stop talking about it to our friends. The staff are fabulous and were so friendly and helpful from the moment we arrived, we loved the chilled towels and frozen grapes by the pool! The rooms have all been renovated, are very clean and offer lovely views of the courtyard and pool. We are looking forward to staying again soon.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MarcI-074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand P, General Manager at Grand Palm Plaza, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind words and we are happy you enjoyed the resort. The scented towels and frozen grapes we offer pool side is one of the amenities we love to offer our guests. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. Regards, Edward, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    83
    23
    21
    15
See reviews for
6
189
79
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

My partner and I stay over for a few nights before our cruise. We can tell you how much we enjoyed our star. Amazing room and surroundings. The staff are friendly and helpful.
We will be back for a longer stay for sure.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeanK66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand P, General Manager at Grand Palm Plaza, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind words and we are happy you enjoyed the resort. We hope you will be able to come back again very soon. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. Regards, Edward, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmanstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

We spent our honeymoon last week at the newly renovated Grand Palm Plaza Resort. What a memorable experience. The friendliness of the staff and cleanliness of the facility are overwhelming. We highly recommend this intimate resort to all Fort Lauderdale visitors. General Manager Edward is both friendly and knowledgeable as well as the courteous clerks on duty. Alan's efficiency as housekeeper is most admirable. Keep up the good work; back in 3 weeks.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand P, General Manager at Grand Palm Plaza, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you very much for choosing Grand Palm Plaza for your honeymoon. We really enjoyed having you celebrate such a memorable event with us. And I am also glad to hear that our housekeeper did such a wonderful job. We do our best to accommodate everyone, making them feel like a part of the GPP family.

Thank you for reserving with us for next year. Stay healthy and have a great rest of the year. Edward, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myerstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

I stayed at Grand Palm Plaza from 1/18-1/25. What a great property! I searched a lot of properties in the area and am 100% confident I picked the best place to stay. Attention to detail is a priority and it truly showed. Edward and his staff are top notch and very knowledgable of the area. The resort was recently renovated and Alan does a fine job of keeping the facility spotless. Kudos! The resort is in a great location and is only a short drive to Wilton Manor. I cannot say enough good things about Grand Palm Plaza. This is my new vacation spot!

Room Tip: All of the rooms have been renovated. They have several options as far as room size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juniataman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand P, General Manager at Grand Palm Plaza, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank you again for all the nice comments. And I agree that Alan, our main housekeeper, is in fact - a real keeper! Also, we were so happy you were able to celebrate your birthday here at Grand Palm Plaza. We look forward to seeing you again very soon. Edward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

My partner and I recently stayed at the Grand Palm Plaza and had the most enjoyable stay. The management team at the recently renovated property was very cordial and professional. The hotel and grounds are very clean and the daily room service was greatly appreciated. My partner kept the location of our four night stay at the Grand Palm Plaza a secret from me and it was a big part of our best vacation ever. The property is close to the Fort Lauderdale beach, shopping, and restaurants. I hope we can stay there on our next visit. Thank You for making our stay special.

Dennis O

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand P, General Manager at Grand Palm Plaza, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Gentlemen, thank you so much for your review. The pictures that you sent to us were amazing. We hope to have you back at GPP very soon. All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

I stopped by last week for a tour and was warmly greeted by the manager. The rooms have been nicely renovated, are very comfortable and they are spotless. It is a charming mid-century, two story building with lush landscaping around the pool. And the location is terrific. It is but a short walk to that beautiful Ft Lauderdale beach. North Beach Village has another winner.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Billbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand P, General Manager at Grand Palm Plaza, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you so much for coming by and saying such wonderful things about Grand Palm Plaza and North Beach Village. It is wonderful to meet people here in our community. We look forward to seeing you again very soon. Edward, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

I arrived in Ft Lauderdale at the Retro Schubert Resort and found that I had made the reservation for the the next day! Someone at the Schubert gave me Edwards cell and in a matter of minutes he had me on my way to the Grand Palm Plazza for the night. He greeted me at the Gate and had me checked in to my lovely room in a few minutes. He assured me I could stay the day at the Grand Palm until my room was ready at the Schubert. The room was lovelly great bed, very nice linens fully renovated. After a really good nights sleep I got up in the am, his staff knew what had happened they had already spoken with the Schubert and my room was ready.
But i sat out in the beautiful courtyard had my coffe and then got packed up and left. This is a very well run organization and I will return for sure.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand P, General Manager at Grand Palm Plaza, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. I was happy to accommodate you. We have a lot of flexibility with our gay properties owned by North Beach Village in case there is a mix up. Glad it did not add any stress to your trip and we look forward to seeing you very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,619 reviews
Royal Palms Resort & Spa
#54 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
The Aqua Hotel
#9 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#17 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,524 reviews
Central Beach
Hotel Lush Royale
Hotel Lush Royale
#10 of 34 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
The Worthington Guest House
#2 of 34 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Palm Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palm Plaza

Property: Grand Palm Plaza
Address: 2801 Rio Mar Street, 501 Orton Avenue, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4215 (Formerly Palm Plaza Resort)
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Palm Plaza 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A secluded, tropical, fun and frisky oasis - Perfect for relaxation, rejuvenation and romance. We guarantee you will never want to leave! Dreaming of escaping to a beautiful paradise is everyone's idea of a perfect retreat from their everyday life. Whether it be with your lover, a group of close friends or freely unattached, the Grand Palm Plaza guarantees our unique tropical paradise is perfect for any memorable affair. Here, you are not only treated like a VIP, you are treated like family. First-class service is a guarantee at Grand Palm Plaza. Our warm and friendly staff is renowned for their unique customer service and vast knowledge of the Fort Lauderdale area. No request is too small for our team of hosts. As our guest, you can sunbathe in our very private, seductive, tropical paradise; or skinny dip in our turquoise, clothing-optional, heated pool. Continental breakfast is served daily. Frozen grapes, scented cold face towels, and impromptu cocktail beverages are served pool side. If you want to experience Fort Lauderdale's famous beaches, you can take a peaceful 2 block walk to our legendary sandy beaches. We are also a few blocks away from the well-renowned gay beach located at Sebastian Street. Complimentary beach chairs, umbrellas & towels are provided. With activities like snorkeling, water craft rentals, bike rentals and more, you can enjoy all the beaches have to offer. If you want a more relaxing experience, you can dine at one our many beach front restaurants and bars. After spending the day in the sun, enjoy the best gay nightlife at one of Fort Lauderdale's flirtatious bars and nightclubs. Wilton Manors has a vast amount of night entertainment, perfect for everyone. Our resort is just a 15 minute drive from Fort Lauderdale airport and 10 minutes away from Port Everglades. There is ample complimentary and off-street parking available. Book your stay today at Grand Palm Plaza. Our courteous staff, comfortable studios, suites and nearby beaches, gay bars and night clubs will make it easy for you to escape, play or celebrate! A memorable, affordable and relaxing getaway is right around the corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Palm Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Plaza Gay Male Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing