We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2nd visit, planning another”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Palm Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Palm Plaza
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“2nd visit, planning another”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2011

Great little place. Have met many new friends here and have enjoyed great times. Service is wonderful.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wpgast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    83
    23
    21
    17
See reviews for
6
191
79
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
102 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2011

Stayed here a few years ago and loved it. I've stayed at every gay owned hotel in Fort Lauderdale over the past 20 years. I hope to stay here again for 2 weeks April 2012. It's located with all the other gay resorts I've stayed at previously but is value priced and nowadays that's important. Limited sunshine around the pool area due to layout so you have to keep moving, really should cut back on the folage a bit as I go for the sun and to work on my tan.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stephen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

Me and my boyfriend went to Palm Plaza resort last August for nearly 3 weeks and we had the best time. It's our second summer in a row that we spend at Palm Plaza and we want to go back again and again. The place is clean, affordable, nicely decorated. The atmosphere is laid back, there's an on-site gym, opened 24 hours, great pool, a well tended garden, lots of tables and chairs throughout to relax. We had a 1 bedroom flat, fairly big with an open-plan kitchen, fully fitted, air conditioning, fans, tv with HBO. You feel wellcome there, the rooms are cleaned every day, Ron and Steve are helpful and will do their utmost to accomodate and inform you.
The guesthouse is only steps away from the ocean and the glorious Ocean drive, and the gay beach is very near.
It's one of the best value for money in the area, simple, with no attitude, no fancy decorum, just a place where you feel great, relaxed and happy. The crowd is very mixed.
If you want a nice gay guesthouse for a really relaxed holiday, this is the place.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jp0721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2011

me and my partner had a great stay here, the staff were unbelievably friendly and helpfull.

i can't remember what number room we had but it was absolutely amazing, nice big lounge, big and fully equipt kitchen, with every utensil u could ever need!

great bedroom and bathroom, so much storage, i really can't state how nice the room was lol.

hotel itself was nice, clean and tidy.

only thing was, its main clientele were older gay men, we were the youngest ones there by 20 years easy....

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ateideman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

We made a last minute trip to Fort Lauderdale and booked the Palm Plaza after reading a few recommendations. The staff members are friendly and helpful. Because of the small size of the resort, we got to know a number of the other guests and made a few friends in the process. We are planning a return visit!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank markandluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2011

My partner and I needed to get away for a few days and inspite of going from the heat where we live to even more heat we decided to return to our favorite resort in Ft. Lauderdale and stayed at the Palm Plaza Resort. We have stayed their on numerous occasions and feel for the price you get very nice accomodations. We like it because it is a smaller resort but still near the beach. We have met many people over the times we have stayed there and continue to keep in touch with them. Steve and his staff are very friendly. We will continue to return to the Palm Plaza when visiting Ft. Lauderdale until the time we officially move to the area.

Room Tip: Nice rooms of varying sizes and amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank timpeterson56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2011

My best friend and I just returned home from 7 days at the Palm Plaza Resort, and I was so grateful for the service we received. Steve and Ron are two of the nicest guys, who are always helpful in navigating their guests to the best spots in Lauderdale. Although it is not a five star uppidty resort, it serves the purpose of a beach vacation well. We had a very clean and well kept apartment, and it was always freshly cleaned when we returned from the beach, which is only blocks away from Sebastian Beach. ( hot, hot men) I recommend the Palm Plaza for those who are looking for a relaxing environment and excellent hospitality!!!!! Joe and Tim, Columbus/Cincinnati, Ohio

Room Tip: Ask for apartment #19.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmbowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,655 reviews
The Aqua Hotel
#11 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
Royal Palms Resort & Spa
#54 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#17 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,562 reviews
Central Beach
Hotel Lush Royale
Hotel Lush Royale
#11 of 34 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
The Worthington Guest House
#4 of 34 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Palm Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palm Plaza

Property: Grand Palm Plaza
Address: 2801 Rio Mar Street, 501 Orton Avenue, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4215 (Formerly Palm Plaza Resort)
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Palm Plaza 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A secluded, tropical, fun and frisky oasis - Perfect for relaxation, rejuvenation and romance. We guarantee you will never want to leave! Dreaming of escaping to a beautiful paradise is everyone's idea of a perfect retreat from their everyday life. Whether it be with your lover, a group of close friends or freely unattached, the Grand Palm Plaza guarantees our unique tropical paradise is perfect for any memorable affair. Here, you are not only treated like a VIP, you are treated like family. First-class service is a guarantee at Grand Palm Plaza. Our warm and friendly staff is renowned for their unique customer service and vast knowledge of the Fort Lauderdale area. No request is too small for our team of hosts. As our guest, you can sunbathe in our very private, seductive, tropical paradise; or skinny dip in our turquoise, clothing-optional, heated pool. Continental breakfast is served daily. Frozen grapes, scented cold face towels, and impromptu cocktail beverages are served pool side. If you want to experience Fort Lauderdale's famous beaches, you can take a peaceful 2 block walk to our legendary sandy beaches. We are also a few blocks away from the well-renowned gay beach located at Sebastian Street. Complimentary beach chairs, umbrellas & towels are provided. With activities like snorkeling, water craft rentals, bike rentals and more, you can enjoy all the beaches have to offer. If you want a more relaxing experience, you can dine at one our many beach front restaurants and bars. After spending the day in the sun, enjoy the best gay nightlife at one of Fort Lauderdale's flirtatious bars and nightclubs. Wilton Manors has a vast amount of night entertainment, perfect for everyone. Our resort is just a 15 minute drive from Fort Lauderdale airport and 10 minutes away from Port Everglades. There is ample complimentary and off-street parking available. Book your stay today at Grand Palm Plaza. Our courteous staff, comfortable studios, suites and nearby beaches, gay bars and night clubs will make it easy for you to escape, play or celebrate! A memorable, affordable and relaxing getaway is right around the corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Palm Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Plaza Gay Male Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing