We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another FLL favourite”
Review of Mexican Cantina

Mexican Cantina
Ranked #228 of 1,335 Restaurants in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner
London, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
“Another FLL favourite”
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Have been going here a number of years when in FLL for dinner. Never seems overly busy but food is always good, staff very friendly. We have not ventured far from Chicken Chimichangas beers and the huge margaritas.

You will find a family operated business here with locals hovered around the bar - no big chain fancy decor. Cheerful and original.

Drop in and enjoy.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    61
    21
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuopio, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great fajitas!”
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

We found the place by tripadvisor and it was very close to our hotel so we decided to go. We had steak teriaki and chicken fajitas. My good the size of the dishes! But it was good! Had to ask extra tortillas to be able to eat all. Good service.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Satu K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
1,477 reviews
1,015 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 768 helpful votes
“Dirty and Greasy”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

This restaurant was near our hotel, so one night I decided to give it a try. The restaurant is located on Sunrise, just a few feet off the beach. It seems pretty popular due to it's close proximity to the beach and is a tourist spot.
The first thing I noticed was the place seemed a little dusty, dirty and worn. It tried to give off an Mexican fiesta feel which just fell flat as tacky and run down.
I was given a booth near the back of the restaurant. My waitress seemed a bit tired and had not personality. It was pretty much, "what do you want? I don't have all day" kind of attitude.
I started with a margarita, which was small and served in a jar. It was fine, but nothing special.
I then had guacamole, which was actually fine, however the chips that were served with the guac were greasy and caked with grease.
I then had a tostada, which came just a huge pile of lettuce, beans and rice slopped on a plate and poured over with sour cream. There was no presentation to the meal what so ever. It was sloppy and unattractive.
The shell of the tostada was burnt, and brown and also greasy. The ground beef had a peculiar taste to it. It was very unappealing to me. I ate only a few bites. I asked for my check and the waitress saw I did not eat much of my meal, she never asked if my dinner was okay or had any curiosity why I did not eat my meal.
When I went to the bathroom, there was feces on the floor and the floor was filthy. I couldn't even use the restroom as it was so filthy.
I would never go back here, the food was terrible, the service was lack luster and the place was filthy.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Happy”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

I had the chicken Flautas and my husband had the Chimichangas. Both were very good with way more food than we could finish.
The server was friendly and attentive.
Just get past the old decor and long-ago cleaned furnishings. More of a bar scene than a dining establishment.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maryla G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winter park
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Eating Mexican in Florida is like”
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

Eating oysters in Kansas. I'm from Colorado so I am used to good Mexican. People from Arizona look at Colorado Mexican like I look at Florida Mexican. Just say no. The people who own this restaurant own the Italian restaurant next door which is a better choice by one star. The Italian is always crowded and the Mexican is half empty.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank wpwilie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mexican Cantina also viewed

Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 

Been to Mexican Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing