We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale
Ranked #28 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Reviewed May 13, 2010

We booked this hotel as a pre-cruise stay over our most recent spring break. We got a nice corner room overlooking the pool and ocean. You exit the second level, pass the pool and walk across a skywalk over A1A to get to the ocean/beach.

The positives:
1. Room was a good size and the beds were comfortable.
2. In-room Starbucks coffee is nice.
3. The pool was a busy place but the service was outstanding. Never been to a hotel pool where someone greeted you, found you a nice chaise, put down a fresh towel to lay on, and gave you a pool towel too. Excellent!
4. Check-in was fast and efficient, and overall, the quality of the service in the hotel was high.

A few negatives:
1. Shulas is the only on-premise restaurant and there aren't too many other places to eat nearby on A1A, especially for breakfast. So meals are expensive.
2. Because the Westin must've expanded to include a building across the street, it's floor plan is a bit convoluted and the place can be confusing to navigate. For example, if you are in the main building lobby and need to get to the gym, you need to go up to the second level, traverse a long walkway to the other building, and then go back down to the first floor.
3. Don't ask for an ocean/pool view if noise is a concern for you. We didn't have any mid-day noise complaints, but the pool-side noise from four floors up was apparent.
4. As with many hotels, the bathroom door swings awkwardly into the middle of the room, and hooks to hang things on are few and far between.
5. Wifi is not free.
6. Parking is expensive. Fortunately we didn't have a car!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank terpnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,690)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,319 - 3,325 of 3,691 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2010

I stayed at the hotel for seven nights as an Event Planner doing a conference at the Westin and this was an amazing experience -- on all fronts. Beautiful, clean hotel, I can't say enough good things about the staff -- from the concierge to security to servers -- all polite, friendly, efficient! The food is also excellent -- and then on Sunday, I got to enjoy the gorgeous beach. I would absolutely return for both professional and personal vacation -- no question. Great value, great people, great beach. I LOVE the Westin Beach Resort!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank catloverinNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2010

Check in was a quick, friendly and a positive experience. We were upgraded at no extra charge to an partial Oceanview room. Everybody in this hotel is friendly and will go out of their way to acknowledge you. The beds are EXTREMELY comfortable - pillow top mattress and duvet bedding - I fell alseep and woke up 12 hours later - that's how comfortable they are. The location is perfect for staying in the area. The hotel has a distinctive fragrance - "White Tea" which comes in their sample shampoo/conditioner and aloe lotion. The room sortof has a "zen" like feel to it. In the morning USA Today was outside our door. The only drawback would be for those who are "modest" as the bathroom has a wooden shutter between it and the sleeping area. Loved the lounging chaise in the room too.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fllshipcruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2010

This hotel exceeded all my expectations!! From the moment we pulled up and the valet took our keys and the attendant took our bags to our room we were pampered. All the staff was very pleasant and very helpful. Our room was modern and clean. All the amenities were provided and they even included a robe. We requested an oceanfront room and the view was amazing. There is a convenient skywalk from the pool to the beach, so we would spend the day at the beach and then take the skywalk back to the pool and Waves pool bar. The westin provides very nice loungers on the beach and you can purchase an umbrella for $20. We ate breakfast at Shula's and we were not impressed by the food or the service. Conveniently, there is a gift shop in the lobby with soda, water, snacky foods and little souveniers. Otherwise, I would suggest wondering down to beachplace for breakfast. I would recommend this hotel to my friends and I plan to stay there again soon!!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beamin182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2010

This is truly a 5 STAR hotel. We were amazed with the breathtaking room, views, restaurants & amenities. We utilized the concierge department and were amazed how they all went above and beyond to accomodate us, we especially dealt with a Mr. George Hernandez who was extremely courteous and knowledgeable of all of our needs. You don't even need a car, as everything is centrally located. Can't wait to stay there again, When in Ft. Lauderdale there is no point staying anywhere else. Thanks for everything.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MARENY60763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2010

Great hotel and we would stay there again. Tips: stay in the main building, ask for a high floor if oceanfront, use the pool side cabanas. The Westin is beautiful and well staffed. Check-in was 3mins. Our oceanfront room was awesome - new, trendy, clean carpets, flat screen, frig, real hairdryer, ironing board, a white robe, Starbucks coffee & Tazo teas in room. There is also a Starbucks & spa on property. The pool area is great. Plenty of space with an attendant laying out fresh towels on ur chair. The pool temp was perfect, warm not chilly. They also have a bar and waitress svs. The food was excellent and the portions were twice what we expected. Frozen drinks were $9 (as expected). On Sat they had a DJ which was fun. They also have 4 or 5 cabanas with privacy shades and a large couch-like seating area with pillows. We thought there was an additional charge or reservation BUT they're free and first come first serve. The pool leads u over the skywalk and down to the beach with a attendant who will select chairs (free) and lay down a big comfy cushion. The cost to 'rent' an umbrella is $20. The beach is about 60yards deep and spotless. No alcohol on the public beach, although we saw plenty of 'cups'.
We took a cab from the airport ($25) and it was under 15mins. U will pass all the cruise ships in port, pretty cool. The hotel is located on the strip and ur choices are: The W, Hilton, Westin, or Ritz-Carlton. We walked by each and they all looked new (last 5yrs) and upscale. The hotels are located across the street from the beach/promenade, which is very active with walkers, joggers, rollerbladers, bicycles, and rickshaws. Vehicle flow is constant with only trucks & motorcycles being bothersome. Banner planes also buzz the beach which also detracts. On the strip you will find at least six indoor/outdoor restaurants. We ate at the Westin one night at their upscale steak house called Shula's. It was very good (cost $145) and we'd go again. The next night to The Ritz, also very good ($145). The Westin may have a meal plan but not sure. There are several independent places to eat with live music. There are plenty of shops and a CVS that carries everything. We were surprised by how clean and new everything looked from the hotels to the strip, and we only saw two vagrants. We felt completely safe. Keep in mind this is Florida and it has a Florida feel. It does not have a tropical island feel. There are palm trees galore mixed in with the street life of Florida. For this time of year there were few 'kids' and I'd say the age group for those in our hotel & on the strip was 30 - 60. Fort Laurderdale Beach is a great place to go.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 11762zip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2010

We travelled 17hrs.arrived exausted.Closing time, but Greg from SHULA`s in the hotel waited and made us a nitecap.We were very grateful!The hotel is amazing,clean,view,and staff go the extra mile.Michelle from Waves in the pool bar is delightful and will make you feel very welcome same as Greg and other employees.We were upgraded on arrivial to a beautiful room .We went on our cruise,then returned for a couple more days.Once again we were looked aftered and treated to the best service.
We will recommend this hotel over and over to everyone in Vancouver,Canada.We
will definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank candicejoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#17 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,910 reviews
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#67 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
58 reviews
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#43 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#20 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,780 reviews
Fort Lauderdale Marriott North
#24 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,491 reviews
Central Beach
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Res...
#13 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
5,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale

Address: 321 North Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#8 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#11 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#15 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#26 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#31 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: $240 - $544 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale 4*
Number of rooms: 433
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our waterfront setting offers diving, sailing, fishing, or just quiet relaxation. But beachside bliss is only the start: we have a rejuvenating spa and fitness center and a serene oceanfront pool here at the beautiful Westin Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort. An oceanfront resort with an inspirational setting on Fort Lauderdale Beach, it is our hope that your stay with us will leave you feeling refreshed. Discover the "Venice of America" and explore 300 miles of navigable waterways or relax on the warm sands of Atlantic Ocean beaches. Bask in the sunshine on our serene pool deck overlooking the ocean. Enjoy wonderful on-site Ft. Lauderdale dining or venture out to Las Olas Boulevard which features nightlife, shopping and restaurants. Restore body and mind in our 432 soothing and elegant guest rooms, each graced with the sumptuous Westin Heavenly(R) Bed. A daily Resort Charge plus tax, per day will be posted to each guest room for a variety of amenities and services. Valet Parking available for an additional fee per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Beach Resort And Spa, Fort Lauderdale
The Westin Beach Resort & Spa, Fort Lauderdale Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Westin Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing