We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff make this hotel truly incredible!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale
Ranked #29 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Nashville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The staff make this hotel truly incredible!”
Reviewed April 13, 2010

We visited the Westin for Spring Break and couldn't have had a better time! The concierge staff is simply amazing. Alin and Stacy are just top notch...from suggesting activities to planning outings, they were awesome. They always had a smile and a great suggestion for us. Our vacation was even more memorable because we found a big, white bunny rabbit abandoned in the hotel parking lot the day after Easter. He was really friendly and won our hearts. The concierge staff helped us get food and accommodations for him. They even helped us figure out a way to get him home to Nashville (when we found out he couldn't ride home on the plane with us). Our newest family member, Westin the bunny, is now home safe and sound.
The staff at this hotel is what makes your stay truly special. We made so many great friends during our stay...Storm the bellman and Eric the valet so kind and always willing to help out, Joe (the czar of towels) at the pool and Johnny and Caesar (the czars of beach chairs) were also just fantastic. The truly outstanding service all starts with the GM, Jorge. Just a really great group of people. We loved our stay and we will be back next year!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Westinthebunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,582
    1,117
    498
    217
    151
See reviews for
953
1,190
165
602
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,000)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha
1 review
Reviewed April 12, 2010

There’s excellence…and then there’s the Westin Beach Resort, FT. Lauderdale
My girlfriend and I needed to get away; we needed to get to the beach. That is where we started our search for a hotel, based on the location in relation to the beach. The warmest temperatures during our travel dates lead us to FT. Lauderdale Beach, FL.
We found the best deal and location on the beach, to be the Westin Beach Resort.
We arrived on April 5th and from the very moment we stepped off the plane; we knew we were in for a treat. After catching a Yellow Cab and making a quick stop for groceries, we arrived at the Westin.
We walked through the front doors and immediately were overwhelmed by the aroma of peace and tranquility, exactly what we wanted. The lobby was dimly lit, elegant and perfect for a week of perfection. Our check-in was perfect, after a brief wait, not only were in up to our room in no time, we were also upgraded to a full beach view on the 11th floor. I had called in a week before to order an amenity and I was worried they wouldn’t have it ready after our room change. However, they kept right up to pace with everything. We opened the door to our room and not only were our bags waiting for us, but also the Champagne and strawberries I ordered.
The room was perfect, a great beach feel with a very open layout. Not to mention when we opened the blinds and balcony door, we had a huge panoramic view of the ocean and the beach, simply breath taking.
Everything was spectacular. Do not be mistaken by the exterior. It may not stand out as the largest resort on the beach, or the most exquisite architecture, but whatever lacks on the outside, the service and friendliness on the inside makes up for it ten-fold: the front desk staff, the concierge and even the pool attendant. We were greeted always with a smile and a warm welcome. Spectacular.
A few things that were not perfect, calling down to the operator was definitely a chore because she/he was very rough and blunt, just not a pleasant person to talk to start your day in paradise or finish your night. However, anything we did request was promptly delivered. Also we had our bottle of champagne taken in the morning during turn down service; we were going to have mimosas after returning from a morning stroll on the beach. I did call down and let them know, it was resolved immediately. Also, the location is a bit of a stroll from the main section of nightlife on the town, so depending on what you’re looking for this could be good or bad.
If you get a chance, I 100 percent most definitely recommend the Heavenly Spa located on the first floor. We strolled in about 15-20 minutes before our scheduled time and they wisped right into our respective locker rooms. Immediately we were relaxing and enjoying the luxurious spa and all it had to offer. Our masseuses knew exactly how to take care of us. Perfect!
Don’t worry about forgetting anything; a CVS is just down the street.
Absolutely perfect, there’s excellence and then there is the Westin Beach Resort.
PS, during the entire trip, it felt like we were the only people in the resort, splendid.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChaseM08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford
1 review
Reviewed April 11, 2010

The Westin Resort in Ft. Lauderdale exceeded my expectations. The rooms were excellent & location was amazing! The front-desk staff at the Westin were more than accomodating. The concierge's, Alin & Jorge were very helpful towards my groups needs. Thanks to Jorge for giving us some excellent restaurant & activity tips to make our experience in South Florida a place I'll definately be coming back to for some more beach time.

Douglas
Medford, OR

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rpdoug2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2010

I booked this hotel for a day before the cruise on Priceline. Was much cheaper than booking directly. We checked in around 1pm. There is only valet parking which cost $25 per night. We were given a room on the 11th floor overlooking the intercoastal waters. Was a great view. As some of the reviewers said there is a door that opens as if there is a balcony but you cant walk out. It did give a good view of the intercoastal waters. The room was very nice we had two double beds and was very tight. We did use the refridgerator to buy some things at wal green. The pool was nice and heated and the bridge to the beach was nice. The beach was very nice although the water was cold. There was a charge for wifi but you could connect for free in the lobby which i did. I would definately stay here again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coach02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2010

My partner and I stayed here over the Easter holiday and we could not have been more pleased with our stay. We arrived earlier that checkin time but our room was ready at 11:00AM. Wow! The concierge, Otto, was so friendly and helpful to us from the time we stepped foot through the front door. His kindness, professionalism and friendly demeanor made a world of difference to us. The staff in general were all so friendly and helpful. Our room was immaculate each time we returned from the beach or from dinner. Access to the beach from the pool was another highlight that we enjoyed. We will definitely stay here again. Next time we'll experience the spa and the workout facility. Could not fit all that in on our short stay but plans are on the way for a return trip. Thank you Westin staff...you're a class act.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chucknwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2010

I stayed here with my family for three nights over Easter weekend. The hotel has been refurbished recently by Westin but there are some things guests should know before arrival. First, the rooms are tiny, if you stay in a double bedded room you will have to walk around the beds. The ocean front views are spectacular but there is NO BALCONY. The doors open to french terraces which is a fancy way to say there is nowhere to walk out. The bathrooms do not have a fan and have very little light. To remedy this Westin has installed louvered shutters on the bathroom door and the opening to the room. This eliminates privacy for those in the room and those using the bathroom. The pool area is small with about 125 chairs for all the guests and while the pool is heated there is no hot tub -- just a pool. There is a convenient walkway from the pool to the beach and the beach is beautiful. However, there are 100 chairs on the beach for all the hotel guests. My point is, when the hotel is busy guests are fighting over chairs and it makes your stay quite unpleasant. Joe, who runs the pool, does a great job and is very friendly and accommodating but he is put in a terrible position. The refurbished property is really just new carpets, beds, paint, etc. The stucco walls, low ceilings and footprint of the old property remain the same. We previously stayed at the Hilton Beach Resort down the street (which was booked this time) and if you have a choice, try the Hilton. You will be very pleased.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmcmap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2010

My family stayed here for 3 nights to start our spring break. My kids loved this hotel. We had two connecting rooms on the 11th floor in the south tower. Great view of the ocean and the beach! Jorge at the concierge helped us get a last minute parasail appointment for 4 of us. Joe at the pool did a great job replenishing towels and arranging lounge chairs.

Pros
* Pool was heated so even at night stayed at a nice temperature
* Each room got you 2 lounge chairs on the beach, that was nice when crowded
*Starbucks on 1st floor of south tower (ate light breakfast here each morning)
*Workout room on 1st floor of south tower has nice view of water
*Fridge in each room. Got supplies from CVS which was 3 blocks away
* Got free internet in room as a platinum member (worked very well)

Cons - NONE

OTHER NOTES
* Highly recommend Casablanca restaurant which is 2 blocks away. Casual, and the food is excellent (for kids and adults).
* Did not eat at Shula's restaurant which is located in the hotel
* The bathrooms did not have as much privacy as normal westin hotels due to the louvered shutters and sliding door. I did not find it that annoying, but you could hear more. No fan in the bathroom.
* One of the rooms had a normal bathtub shower, the other room had a shower with a glass partition and no door. The water did spill a bit onto the floor with the glass partition shower, but was not that bad if you put a towel on the floor.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swiper4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#26 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,095 reviews
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#14 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,726 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#22 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#45 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,920 reviews
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#17 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,990 reviews
Central Beach
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Res...
#11 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
5,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale

Property: The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale
Address: 321 North Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#8 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#11 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#15 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#26 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#36 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale 4*
Number of rooms: 433
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our waterfront setting offers diving, sailing, fishing, or just quiet relaxation. But beachside bliss is only the start: we have a rejuvenating spa and fitness center and a serene oceanfront pool here at the beautiful Westin Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort. An oceanfront resort with an inspirational setting on Fort Lauderdale Beach, it is our hope that your stay with us will leave you feeling refreshed. Discover the "Venice of America" and explore 300 miles of navigable waterways or relax on the warm sands of Atlantic Ocean beaches. Bask in the sunshine on our serene pool deck overlooking the ocean. Enjoy wonderful on-site Ft. Lauderdale dining or venture out to Las Olas Boulevard which features nightlife, shopping and restaurants. Restore body and mind in our 432 soothing and elegant guest rooms, each graced with the sumptuous Westin Heavenly(R) Bed. A daily Resort Charge plus tax, per day will be posted to each guest room for a variety of amenities and services. Valet Parking available for an additional fee per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Beach Resort And Spa, Fort Lauderdale
The Westin Beach Resort & Spa, Fort Lauderdale Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Westin Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing