We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale
Ranked #28 of 131 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Reviewed February 27, 2010

stayed 4 nites late feb. we were well recieved when arriving at hotel. bellhop handled all our luggage promtly . at check in we recieved our room at 11 am WOW! also we were upgraded to oceanfront WOW!the bellhop gave us a quick tour of hotel on the way to the room. the room was great .7th floor with a beautiful view of the ocean, beach and A1A. you felt as if you were on a cruise ship with balcony when you stepped away from the window. BEAUTIFUL! room was on the small size but very adequate had safe,,, refrigirator ,SUPRISE! nice tv, work station, very comfy bed, and stall shower which could use better layout so that the water didnt go everywhere. bathroom also could have had better lighing. elevators ran well. the gym was a good size looking at the beach NICE! the pool had a nice layout with a great staff, water was nicely heated and plenty of towels and chairs. from there to the beachover the bridge over A1A and down the elevator . we were greeted by attendent given two lounge chairs with pads at no charge. FANTASTIC! umbos were $10 per day .the hotel was very clean and orderly HOT TIP. CVS is 2 blocks south good for stocking up on beer,snacks soda, and water etc,,,,all in all i would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,740)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,402 - 3,408 of 3,740 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2010

We had stayed at the hotel for several years when it was the Sheraton Yankee Trader. To our very pleasant surprise, the Westin has done a magnificent job with this hotel. Our room was beautiful, the comfy bed was "heavenly" and the service was impeccable. The staff bent over backwards to make sure every moment was memorable. I can only hope that this all remains the same and it not just a new property trying harder because they are new.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LovesCoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2010

The good things:
Beautiful hotel, nicely decorated rooms, fantastic views of both city and beach. We opted for the less pricey city view room and view was spectacular. Quick walk to water taxi, close to restaurants and shops, and a pleasant (although long) walk into town if you're up for it. Elevated walkway to beach so no worries about crossing the street with heavy traffic. Pool is small but heated, which was a bonus since weather was cool when we were there. Didn't eat at Shula's but enjoyed the lively bar in the evening. Food at Waves was very good. Nicely equipped gym with view of the beach, and Starbucks downstairs.

The real gem at this hotel is the concierge staff. Every one of them knows their stuff and will happily go the extra mile to answer questions and accommodate your needs. There were usually 2 working, so no wait to talk to someone. All were warm, friendly and fun to deal with. I would stay here again simply because they were so helpful. Also, wait staff at Waves and poolside were outstanding...very attentive and prompt.

Concerns:
I don't know what interior designer decided that it would be fun to cut a window in the bathroom wall and cover it with shutters, and add a louvered door. Among other issues I will not mention here, my husband couldn't watch TV while I dried my hair in the bathroom because it was too loud. If you're staying here with anyone other than a very close family member, the lack of bathroom privacy could be very uncomfortable. Also, lighting in the bathroom is very poor. Good luck putting on make-up.

And note that the Westin (along with most other hotels in this area) does not have heat, which can make it chilly when the weather gets unusually cold as it has recently.

Overall I enjoyed the stay and would definitely come here again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank farawayNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2010

love the overpass over A1A to the beach. hotel accommodated us by locating adjoining rooms and upgrades to lovely rooms.

Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
1  Thank VimmiR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2010

My Husband and I had a wonderful stay in Dec. The Front desk was friendly and effecient. I always take the time to give people who do a great job a great review. The hotel has improved greatly since our last visit in July. They still haven't replaced the bathroom doors and you would think it would be a priority since it receives the most complaints. Overall a great Stay.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patio1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2010

This hotel is on a very busy part of Fort Lauderdale, so there's some traffic getting to the hotel -- understandably. The little driveway up to the hotel gets very congested. At night, when people are driving to have dinner at Shula's, it's outright chaotic. Other than that, the rooms are nice, clean, and functional. They are on the small side, but we had an ocean front room with a beautiful view. The hotel has amenities like a gym (pretty well equip for a hotel gym), spa, and pool. All in all, it was a very nice stay. Above all, the staff was incredibly nice. They went out of their way to make us feel welcomed.

Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank JAXTRVLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2010

What luck, great rooms, nice amenities, and best of all employees who actually try and solve problems not create them. Lara and Verena helped me solve a one night problem during Super Bowl that my booking people had created. How great to have employees help and not blame. I already loved the rooms and the bed, add superior service and I would say you can't beat the Westin Ft. Lauderdale for an amazing mix of business and pleasure. Thanks Westin!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LAINDY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#17 of 131 in Fort Lauderdale
2,943 reviews
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#67 of 131 in Fort Lauderdale
98 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#20 of 131 in Fort Lauderdale
1,804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Conrad Fort Lauderdale Beach
Conrad Fort Lauderdale Beach
#3 of 131 in Fort Lauderdale
190 reviews
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#39 of 131 in Fort Lauderdale
4,158 reviews
Central Beach
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Res...
#14 of 131 in Fort Lauderdale
5,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale

Address: 321 North Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#8 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#12 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#15 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#26 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#31 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: $241 - $598 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale 4*
Number of rooms: 433
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our waterfront setting offers diving, sailing, fishing, or just quiet relaxation. But beachside bliss is only the start: we have a rejuvenating spa and fitness center and a serene oceanfront pool here at the beautiful Westin Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort. An oceanfront resort with an inspirational setting on Fort Lauderdale Beach, it is our hope that your stay with us will leave you feeling refreshed. Discover the "Venice of America" and explore 300 miles of navigable waterways or relax on the warm sands of Atlantic Ocean beaches. Bask in the sunshine on our serene pool deck overlooking the ocean. Enjoy wonderful on-site Ft. Lauderdale dining or venture out to Las Olas Boulevard which features nightlife, shopping and restaurants. Restore body and mind in our 432 soothing and elegant guest rooms, each graced with the sumptuous Westin Heavenly(R) Bed. A daily Resort Charge plus tax, per day will be posted to each guest room for a variety of amenities and services. Valet Parking available for an additional fee per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Beach Resort & Spa, Fort Lauderdale Hotel Fort Lauderdale
The Westin Beach Resort And Spa, Fort Lauderdale
Westin Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing