We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great pre-cruise choice, but expensive” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale
Ranked #29 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Level Contributor
99 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great pre-cruise choice, but expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

I was looking for pre-cruise lodging with proximity to the beach and convenience to night life and dining. I was definitely happy to have chosen Westin. This hotel is only a few blocks away from the cruise port and it's on the quieter end of the beach road. The beach is right across the street from the hotel. There is a sky bridge to the beach from the hotel pool area. I requested a higher room at check-in and the staff was very accommodating. The hotel common area is chic and modern. The room decor was up-to-date. There are several restaurants and bars on site. Shula is pretty expensive. The sushi bar does offer some simple sushi rolls, also on the expensive side, We stayed for 2 nights at the Westin and drove to visit South Beach during part of our stay. Note...the valet parking is mandatory and assess a daily fee of $28/room. It's also a bit of a walk to get around. I think most if not all the rooms are located in the 2nd building and you have to cross over on the 3rd floor to get to the street level. Overall, not a big deal.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor for noise reduction.
See more room tips
Green Features: they give you 250 SPG points and or $5 voucher for opting out daily cleaning.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cc m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear cc m: Thank you for choosing the Westin as your pre-cruise destination! Please know that your feedback is important to us as we work to improve the product and services offered to our guests. Thanks again for your recommendation and for sharing your experience with us.

Warm Regards,
Heather W.
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,493
    1,073
    465
    200
    141
See reviews for
891
1,122
158
569
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (949)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

A group of us ladies checked into this resort and were very skeptical based on the reviews because of all of the complaints about the bathroom and other items. We checked in from Feb 28-March 5th. i am happy to report that we had the best time ever!!! Aikeem Grant checked us in at the front desk, he was most helpful and very nice. We received a ocean view room and when we walked into the room, it literally took our breath away. It was sooo much more than we expected based on the reviews - rm 1441. The first night we went out to eat at the Casablanca restaurant which is about a block away. This was referred to us by Nesland Joseph the Concierge. For a fantastic time, you should't miss this place. We sang with the piano bar entertainers and didn't leave until they closed. Everywhere he sent us, we went. We also visited Da Big Kahuna (on our own)...this is clearly a spot for the younger crowd. They draw you in with vendors on the street handing out two for one drink bands--don't be fooled like we were, these bands are only for the first drink, then you have to turn them in. Service was not good there, however we got to sit facing the beach so that was good. We went to Yolo Restaurant one night--had an hour wait so we went next door to the O Lounge to wait and were able to eat there and dance the night away. Great atmosphere and full of fun--another recommendation from Nesland. We took the trolly for $3 to tour the city. Then we took a cab to Hard Rock Casino, where we visited the Hard Rock restaurant. Very good food, bartenders were great.

The food, service and drinks at the pool were fantastic and very reasonable. Shula's restaurant was pricey but the food was good--the guy working the omelet bar was great (cannot remember his name).

Everyone was exercising in the mornings--we ran most morning that we were there at 7:00am. The streets are full of folks working out--join in.

Overall our stay was much more than we expected. Go and have a great time and don't worry so much about the reviews.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vivo1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear vivo1970: Thank you for sharing your vacation memories with us! We couldn’t be happier to hear that you loved your experience from check-in to check out. It sounds as though you loved our staff just as much as we do! We can’t wait to have you back for another awesome stay here at The Westin Beach Resort & Spa, Fort Lauderdale

Warm Regards,
Heather W.
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

I just got back from a 4 day stay at The Westin Beach Resort & Spa. The location is perfect. You are within walking distance of everything that is situated along the beach, but far enough away that you are not in the midst of all the noise. Our room was a beachfront room, which was amazing. All of the staff we came in contact with were nice and helpful. I especially want to highlight the help we received at the concierge desk by Molly( I believe her last name is Erickson). She was very kind and helpful. She patiently and enthusiastically answered all questions we had to help us plan our stay while in Fort Lauderdale. I also want to highlight Girlline. She is a hostess at Shula's on the Beach. Every morning she greeted us with a pleasant smile. She too was very kind and answered any questions we had about the hotel or Fort Lauderdale. The only gripe I have with my stay is the lack of wifi service. Yes, wifi service is available in the lobby for free, but for use in your room there is a daily fee. I believe that for a hotel of this caliber, and the fact that we are living in such a tech driven society, the use of wifi throughout the hotel should be made available to all guest. To have guest, especially StarPreferred Members, pay an additional fee to use wifi in their rooms is somewhat of a turnoff. If we are going to pay, at least add the cost of wifi to the daily room rate. Again, other than that inconvenience, everything else was great.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CRP04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Carla P: Thank you for sharing your fantastic 5-star review on Trip Advisor. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the top-notch service provided by Molly and the rest of our attentive staff. It was a pleasure having you, and we hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,
Heather W.
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

All in all the property was fine. Service good, food decent. Ocean front rooms are noisy because of traffic if you would like to keep your front door open, that's a downer, but the view is spectacular.
The pool was very busy and crowded...however,Joe Legarda, the pool manager made it the most comfortable experience. I haven't seen an employee, let alone manager work so hard at making sure that all the guests were comfortable and treated politely and efficiently. He was there for my 4 day stay. I asked if he had an upcoming day off, he said I am off tomorrow but have a manger's meeting! I am in the service industry and I would hire this man in a split second for his work ethic and his genuine concern for the well being of his guests. Hopefully, he will be acknowledged for his services.
I would recommend this hotel....

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pml0103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear pml0103: Thank you for sharing your fantastic review on Trip Advisor. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the top-notch service you have received from our attentive staff, specifically Joe. It was a pleasure having you, and we hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,
Heather W.
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

I have stayed in this hotel twice in the past year and have thoroughly enjoyed it both times. The location is perfect: within walking distance to everything along the beach but far enough removed from the noise and hubbub of Beach Place to be peaceful and relaxing. The rooms are very clean and modern, great beds and linens, shutters on the bathroom is a little odd though. I like a little more privacy in the bathroom! The staff here are always very attentive and friendly, accommodating early arrivals and late checkouts when needed. The valet service is great and quick, although I feel like $25/day to park is a bit pricey on top of the hotel cost and having to tip the valet whenever you need your car.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ironjohn04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

I just returned from a 4-night stay at this hotel with my mother and sister. This hotel has the perfect location and I look forward to staying here in the future. This is definitely my new go-to hotel when I want to stay in Fort Lauderdale and I will recommend it to everyone. This hotel is a bit more expensive than it should be (the promotional materials make it seem more plush than it really is), but the Westin is still more affordable than the Hilton and the W, which were our other contenders and the location was worth the slight premium. We were thrilled that the hotel accommodated our early check-in with ease.

The view from our high-level floor was fantastic, but I wish there was a "real" balcony. None of the rooms have balconies. The Starbucks downstairs was super convenient and the Starbucks staff was exceptional. In fact, all of the Westin staff was exceptional, from the pool attendants to the young woman at the concierge desk. That being said, the man who was working the "beach shift" was very nasty to us and seemed to show preference for people who paid for beach umbrellas. He also took our beach chairs way too early- in South Florida, one should be able to stay on the beach past 4:45 p.m.! He just generally seemed to have an attitude, which was weird because everyone else always had a smile and asked how our stay was going, which was nice.

I wish Shula's looked more "inviting"- the ambiance looks tired which I think prevents it from being a more "happening" place in the evening.

I wish there was a jacuzzi near the pool or that at least the jacuzzi in the spa was free for hotel guests. The 15 dollars a day fee seemed absurd. Some of the fitness equipment was not functional. Fortunately, I preferred to run outside most mornings.

The bathroom door in our hotel room was problematic, as everyone seems to have noticed- you have no privacy in there! I do not understand the reasoning behind such a setup.

Also, in 2014 EVERY HOTEL SHOULD HAVE FREE WI-FI. We did not pay for wi-fi, but it was absurd that there was no wi-fi.

That being said, I loved this hotel and I am only being slightly critical because I would love to see some improvements for future stays. Thank you to everyone at the Westin Beach Resort & Spa, Fort Lauderdale for a terrific few days away from the New York City cold!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lalaearmuffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear irmacita: To begin, we are thrilled to hear you had such a wonderful experience during your recent stay at The Westin Beach Resort & Spa, Fort Lauderdale. We have a fantastic team of associates, who strive to go above and beyond all guest expectations! With premium outlets and beautiful accents, our beachfront property is an ideal vacation retreat for couples, families, and business travelers. We hope to see you again in the near future shall your travels bring you back to Sunny Fort Lauderdale!

Warm Regards,
Heather W.
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

Groups of beach goers in flip-flops, swimsuits, tank tops, some with coolers in tow and drinks in hand, strolling around. Fortunately, I saw just a few such cases at the Westin, however it is not exactly as plush as it's promotions suggest. Yet I found the service to be expeditious and our room was bright, airy and comfortable. The bathroom, while not luxury, was clean, roomy and well equipped. Our room overlooked the beach, ocean beyond (great view) and the pool which is on an upper deck situated between the hotel and the A-1A beach highway. Though the pool size seemed adequate, the chaises were worn and tired looking. So overall good, but we were there only one night.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Melissa P: We are thrilled to hear you had such a wonderful time with us at The Westin Beach Resort & Spa, Fort Lauderdale. We appreciate your comments regarding our signature Westin outlets and amenities. We hope to see you again very soon for your next stay on beautiful Fort Lauderdale Beach.

Warm Regards,
Heather W.
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#17 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,524 reviews
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#14 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,890 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#24 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#23 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,891 reviews
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#49 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,666 reviews
Central Beach
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Res...
#8 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale

Property: The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale
Address: 321 North Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#8 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#10 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#15 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#26 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#36 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale 4*
Number of rooms: 433
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our waterfront setting offers diving, sailing, fishing, or just quiet relaxation. But beachside bliss is only the start: we have a rejuvenating spa and fitness center and a serene oceanfront pool here at the beautiful Westin Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort. An oceanfront resort with an inspirational setting on Fort Lauderdale Beach, it is our hope that your stay with us will leave you feeling refreshed. Discover the "Venice of America" and explore 300 miles of navigable waterways or relax on the warm sands of Atlantic Ocean beaches. Bask in the sunshine on our serene pool deck overlooking the ocean. Enjoy wonderful on-site Ft. Lauderdale dining or venture out to Las Olas Boulevard which features nightlife, shopping and restaurants. Restore body and mind in our 432 soothing and elegant guest rooms, each graced with the sumptuous Westin Heavenly(R) Bed. A daily Resort Charge plus tax, per day will be posted to each guest room for a variety of amenities and services. Valet Parking available for an additional fee per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Beach Resort & Spa, Fort Lauderdale Hotel Fort Lauderdale
The Westin Beach Resort And Spa, Fort Lauderdale
Westin Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing