We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“helpful front desk staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale
Ranked #29 of 135 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“helpful front desk staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

i stay in hotel over 120 nights per year and it is rare that the front desk staff leaves a lasting memory with me. when i checked in the hotel was extremely busy for spring break and near 100% capacity. Despite that, front desk representative, Aikeen Grant made sure tho greet me with a smile, he gave me a comprehensive overview of the property and it amenities and he made sure i got the room i reserved. Kudos to Aikeen and the front desk staff for a good start to my stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear john s: Thank you for writing such a great review! We appreciate your feedback on our staff service because your satisfaction is our highest priority. We can't wait to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,
Heather W.
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,947 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,304
    952
    413
    167
    111
See reviews for
774
964
142
499
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (843)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

I just wanted to give a commendation to two of your employees for making our stay at your hotel Fabulous.
Micheal Marshall, bell hop, took the extra step of collecting our luggage and making sure they were delivered to our rooms immediately after receiving our room locations. We had 14 people in our party and he managed to get the luggage to the right people with such a positive attitude. He also told us about the Hotel and where we could get food and answered all of our request.
The other employee is Esau Thompson-at the front desk. He expedited our check in and made us feel extremely comfortable while we waited for rooms to become available. He also was extremely professional and courteous to 14 hungry grouchy people. I commend them both for making our stay enjoyable and without any doubt I would choose your hotel for my next stay in Fort Lauderdale. Thanks again...Joanne Richardson

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Joanne R: Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us! We couldn't be happier to hear that you were very pleased with our customer service. Thank you again for your praise, as we are thankful for your patronage. We can't wait to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,
Heather W.
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deptford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

I just had to take a moment to say what a wonderful time we had at the Westin this past weekend. My parents are celebrating their 50th Anniversary and due to declining health we brought them for a long weekend 2 months early. There were 6 of us ranging in age from 16-80 yrs old. Everyone had a wonderful time and the staff was absolutely wonderful to all. The restaurants were great, location perfect, rooms clean and spacious, pool awesome......could not ask for more-

I want to name a few employees that went above and beyond to make our stay extra special. Christopher Storme- your kindness and assistance will not be forgotten. We really appreciated everything you did for us and helped us with. You made the trip extra special. Esau Thompson your compassion and assistance with my father was greatly appreciated.

I would highly recommend this location and thank the entire staff for a wonderful stay and great memories for our family!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laurie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear laurie p: Thank you for sharing your vacation memories with us! We couldn’t be happier to hear that you loved your experience from check-in to check out. It sounds as though you loved our staff just as much as we do! We can’t wait to have you back for another memorable stay here at The Westin Beach Resort & Spa, Fort Lauderdale.

Warm Regards,
Heather W.
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
308 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Second stay here, loved it during first stay in 2010 (see my review from June 7, 2010). This time I enjoyed the stay but a couple of little things irked me. Before I name the bad let me reiterate the good. The Westin folks have done a great job rehab'ing the old Sheraton. They were dealt a tough hand and have made a good play. The staff is super friendly and helpful - from the valets, the the check-in, to the housekeepers to the wait staff at the bars and restaurants. The room is about average in size but they have organized things ingenuously to make the best of the space. Everyone seems to appreciate the Heavenly bed. The location right by the beach and within walking distance of restaurants and activities is great. Now a couple of things that didn't sit well: first, there is a thin metal door that provides a connection to the neighboring guest room. We heard a couple talking so loud it was like there were in the room with us. The husband/boyfriend also let out some moans which was either hysterical or horrifying depending on your perspective. I went over to the door to make sure the connecting door was shut tightly to minimize noise and the guy started screaming at us with rude remarks - to which I yelled back that I was just making sure the door was shut tightly. So this sort of set a bad tone for the night. Second issue: the air conditioner did a good job of blocking out some of the neighboring room noise and the street noise. BUT the air conditioner would not stay turned on. I tried moving it out of "auto" mode into fan mode, and tried high, medium and low settings and no matter what I did the system would cycle off after a few minutes. The temperature was right, but I really wanted the fan noise to block out the rude neighbor and the street noise. I swear in 2010 that it worked that way, but this this time it did not. Unfortunately energy saving features like this are becoming commonplace in hotels and they don't realize that some of us depend on the AC fan system as a silencer more than for temperature control. Other than these two little issues I really do like this hotel and solidly give it a 4 star review (I gave it 5 star in 2010).

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank friendlyinsomniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear friendlyinsomniac: Thank you for sharing your insights with us. We apologize that your accommodations did not meet your expectations, or our high standards. Please know that your feedback is important to us, as we work to improve every guests experience. Thank you for also sharing the positives about your stay including our friendly and helpful staff. We hope that you'll visit us again and can assure you that your next stay will be better than the last.

Warm Regards,
Heather W.
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F. Lauderdale
Level Contributor
75 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

I love this hotel, and always have an enjoyable, relaxing experience. We were staying for one night and were able to get an early check in. The room was fresh and clean, and the bed (as expected) was perfect. We enjoyed the Spa facilities as well as the complimentary beach chairs. The food at the pool bar was delicious but the soda kept coming out flat. Turns out they pour their sodas from a pitcher, not sure why but it takes the carbonation away, no one likes a flat soda! Valet was quick and friendly and room service was good. (I love the super food smoothies, great way to start your day) All in all, I'll return and recommend this property.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HotelInnsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear HotelInnsider: Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful 5-star review! We're so proud to have been a part of such a great vacation. We appreciate your feedback on our service because your satisfaction is our highest priority. We can't wait to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,
Heather W.
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

We checked in yesterday, and we were greeted by Fatima. The five minutes that I interacted with her were very enjoyable. Prior to handling our check in, she was handling a customer that was very demanding. Fatima was very patient with the customer and was able to finally assist her. When it was my turn, Fatima was very apologetic to me for having to wait.

We checked into our room, and we were very happy with our ocean view room. The view was gorgeous, and the room was very clean and comfortable. For being an older hotel, it is well maintained. The plantation shutter door is the only thing that could be an issue if you are not secure or comfortable with the person sharing the room. We have been married for 35 years, so this was not an issue. The beds are Westin Heavenly.

The on site restaurants are good and are not your typical over-priced-no-name-attached-to-hotel restaurants. In fact, I wish we had ate at Shula's on our first night, instead of Lulu's Bait Shack.

I normally, don't write reviews, but I felt I needed to write one because of some of the persons that wrote recent reviews that were negative concerning the appearance of the hotel, and that the staff were rude, etc. I want everyone to know that I did not see it. I will definitely stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Randy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Randy T: What a great review! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We couldn't be more excited to hear that your vacation was a great one and that our staff was accommodating. We hope you'll be back again very soon!

Warm Regards,
Heather W.
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

I recently stayed at the Westin for just one night with my mom to celebrate her birthday. Everything was just right. The location is very convenient to the beach and restaurants, but far enough away from the noisy strip to avoid the craziness. The property is clean and comfortable with a private beach. And last but not least, the service was outstanding. Akeem in particular made our stay comfortable and celebratory.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debbief359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear debbief359: Thank you for sharing with us! We are so happy to hear about the wonderful experience that you had with our staff, as well as the memorable time spent with your Mother. We can't wait to see you again on your next visit!

Warm Regards,
Heather W.
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#23 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 stars 2,183 reviews
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#16 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 stars 3,595 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#32 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 stars 1,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#11 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 stars 1,738 reviews
The Aqua Hotel
#6 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 stars 881 reviews
Central Beach
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Res...
#8 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 stars 4,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale

Property: The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale
Address: 321 North Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#8 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#10 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#15 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#27 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#38 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale 4*
Number of rooms: 433
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our waterfront setting offers diving, sailing, fishing, or just quiet relaxation. But beachside bliss is only the start: we have a rejuvenating spa and fitness center and a serene oceanfront pool here at the beautiful Westin Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort. An oceanfront resort with an inspirational setting on Fort Lauderdale Beach, it is our hope that your stay with us will leave you feeling refreshed. Discover the "Venice of America" and explore 300 miles of navigable waterways or relax on the warm sands of Atlantic Ocean beaches. Bask in the sunshine on our serene pool deck overlooking the ocean. Enjoy wonderful on-site Ft. Lauderdale dining or venture out to Las Olas Boulevard which features nightlife, shopping and restaurants. Restore body and mind in our 432 soothing and elegant guest rooms, each graced with the sumptuous Westin Heavenly(R) Bed. A daily Resort Charge plus tax, per day will be posted to each guest room for a variety of amenities and services. Valet Parking available for an additional fee per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotwire, Expedia, Otel, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Beach Resort And Spa, Fort Lauderdale
The Westin Beach Resort & Spa, Fort Lauderdale Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Westin Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing