We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Good, The bad, and the ugly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale
Ranked #30 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“The Good, The bad, and the ugly”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Having stayed at this Westin Many times since its conversion from the Sheraton, I am extremely disappointed to report the down hill slide of what I once would have said was a premier resort on the Fort Lauderdale A1A strip. In the past I have recommended this facility numerous times, now I can only say. Good luck and bring ear and nose plugs. First though the Good. The beds are still wonderful and provide for a great nights sleep if you have noise cancelling headphones or are deaf. I say this because a late night cleaning crew was cleaning the Mezz Annie area outside of one of our pool side rooms. They were asked at 1 am to please stop. At 2 am to knock it off and at 3 am my buddy Mike pulled their cords out of the wall. Why cleaning perhaps they were trying to remove the nauseating smell of fish from the hallway that runs by the new Sushi Bar. I love Sushi but would never eat where the rancid smell of fish greets you. Management seems to be the biggest issue. I should note POOR Management! Staff level employees from house keeping to bell hops to valets were great, but management changes seem to have put this hotel on the downward death spiral. As a note prior to this stay we spent five days at Casa Marina in KW with absolutely no problems. It is sad when you see so many good memories ruined by poor MANAGEMENT

Room Tip: Stay away from pool area and use south tower. Hold your nose when going past sushi restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Doug W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Doug W: Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience at our resort. We're very sorry to hear about the cleaning incident and are passing your comments along for future improvements. We hope that you will decide to stay with us again, so that we may show you the true potential of The Westin Beach Resort & Spa!

Warm Regards,
Heather Williams
Complex Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,582
    1,117
    498
    217
    151
See reviews for
953
1,190
165
602
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,000)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed 5 days with our 3 yr old and had a great time. Being platinum memers we got a great suite with ocean view. Downside is no balcony, and no bathtub.
Valet staff is wonderful. Restaurant staff is hit and miss. Inconsistent and a couple of our orders both poolside and Shulas were mixed up. Waitresses not always super friendly. Management fixed the problem always though.
Kids club is great, but closed 3 days?? We came here for that so we were very disappointed.
Pool is ok. No real shallow end for kids so it's not very toddler friendly. Joe the pool guy is great, hard working.
Overall we loved our stay and the westin staff. Always a pleasure to stay at Westins!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iluvrudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 10, 2013

My experience with valet and the luggage staff was excellent! Want to thank Storm, Zack Carneiro and Kevin B. and the Valet Mgr Felix for being so helpful. You made my stay awesome and gave me the wow factor.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank mara0029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear mara0029: What a great review! Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us from your recent stay at The Westin Beach Resort & Spa, Fort Lauderdale. We are thrilled to hear you had such a wonderful experience at our resort. I have also shared this review with Storm and the rest of our Valet/Bellman team, as it seems they have greatly contributed to making your stay even more relaxing and memorable. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future!

Warm Regards,
Heather Williams
Complex Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel as a post cruise stay. The cruise company had arranged a late check out (5pm) but the hotel claimed to know nothing about it. However, the did honour it. However on the last day we went out for lunch and when we came back we were locked out of our room. We has to wait for security to let us in once they had checked my ID. Apparently it is a system thing that locks you out after the normal check out time of 12 noon. Ridiculous. If it had been agreed the system should reflect this and not make us go through this rigmarole. There were lots of kids there and the pool was packed. That said the rooms were spacious and well appointed and we had a room in the south tower and toward the back. The view was of the air conditioning units. You might think this was bad but we had seen reports saying that a room on the front was noisy from traffic noise. We had no noise or interruptions and had a very peaceful night. I would stay he again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CruisingBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear BrianLP: Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you faced during your late checkout, but we are happy to hear that the matter was resolved quickly. We greatly appreciate your comments and are looking forward to your next stay with us pre/post cruise.

Warm Regards,
Heather Williams
Complex Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I echo the sentiments of 341mayas. My husband and I stay at Westins all over the world because we have always found the service and the properties to be of high quality. The Westin Beach Resort property is nice but the staff and service were terrible. The biggest issue is that the bill is COMPLETELY wrong with charges for food we never ordered, and with a doubled room rate, and we still have not been called back as promised. Having called them multiple times now, we can not even get someone to answer the phone. During our stay the staff seemed to be irritated by guest requests, did not use good manners, and were generally rude. The rules about the chairs at the hotel pool were ridiculous, and despite being empty much of the day, staff would chase you out of them if you sat down. Apparently people reserved chairs whether or not they were at the pool. When you have kids, and are carting toys, etc. this is a real issue. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone, and we will consider not booking at a Westin in the future.

Room Tip: Choose your room somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RebeccaB157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear RebeccaB157: We are sincerely disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your time at our resort. We take all of our guest's comments into consideration and are passing your thoughts along to each relevant department. We hope that you will decide to stay with us again, so that we may show you our true potential.

Warm Regards,
Heather Williams
Complex Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkland, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I live within an hour. I had 3 guest from Europe in Fort Lauderdale for business and wanted them on the beach. The Starwoods Westin Ft Lauderdale Beach lived up to its expectations and provided wonderful service.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dzool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I have to say the Manager at the front desk and really all the staff was friendly and accommodating. I originally booked a room last minute for me and my mom and we chose the westin bc they are dog friendly. When we arrived, we were told of a possibly bigger room becoming available and 10 minutes later we were upgraded and what a difference it made from the original room...very spacious and we happened to have an ocean view... I really want to thank you all for making our stay enjoyable

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wfajardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear wfajardo: What a great review! Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us from your recent stay at The Westin Beach Resort & Spa, Fort Lauderdale. We are thrilled to hear you had such a wonderful experience at our resort. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future!

Warm Regards,
Heather Williams
Complex Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#27 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,095 reviews
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#14 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,726 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#22 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#44 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,920 reviews
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#17 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,990 reviews
Central Beach
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Res...
#11 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
5,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale

Property: The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale
Address: 321 North Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#8 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#11 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#15 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#26 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#36 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale 4*
Number of rooms: 433
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our waterfront setting offers diving, sailing, fishing, or just quiet relaxation. But beachside bliss is only the start: we have a rejuvenating spa and fitness center and a serene oceanfront pool here at the beautiful Westin Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort. An oceanfront resort with an inspirational setting on Fort Lauderdale Beach, it is our hope that your stay with us will leave you feeling refreshed. Discover the "Venice of America" and explore 300 miles of navigable waterways or relax on the warm sands of Atlantic Ocean beaches. Bask in the sunshine on our serene pool deck overlooking the ocean. Enjoy wonderful on-site Ft. Lauderdale dining or venture out to Las Olas Boulevard which features nightlife, shopping and restaurants. Restore body and mind in our 432 soothing and elegant guest rooms, each graced with the sumptuous Westin Heavenly(R) Bed. A daily Resort Charge plus tax, per day will be posted to each guest room for a variety of amenities and services. Valet Parking available for an additional fee per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Beach Resort And Spa, Fort Lauderdale
The Westin Beach Resort & Spa, Fort Lauderdale Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Westin Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing