We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible hotel” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale
Ranked #29 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Monsey, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Terrible hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

I paid $300 a night expecting a beautiful resort. It turns out to be a dingy old hotel. It only has one small pool for two towers which wasn't even heated as advertised. The only parking option was valet for an additional $28+ tax per day. Its not on the beach. Its across the street from a public beach. Dont waste your money!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RachelNeustat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear RachelNeustat: Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. Please accept our apologies for not providing you with the Westin experience you deserved and expected. We do take all comments seriously and appreciate your honesty. Thank you again for your feedback.

Warm Regards,
Heather Williams
Complex Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,487
    1,072
    463
    199
    141
See reviews for
887
1,118
158
569
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (947)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed at the Westin for one night before our cruise on the Celebrity Equinox earlier this month. Check in was a breeze and by signing up for their rewards program we were upgraded to a better room with a view of the beach. The room was a nice size and the bed was very comfortable. Our room was in the south tower which was a little bit of a walk but we didn't mind since as a result it was also very quiet. The hotel overall has a very modern feel which we liked. Overall for the price this hotel was a great find. One thing to be aware of though if you have a car and are coming and going around check out or check in time the valet area gets to be a little hectic so it can take a while to get your car.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prim8Keeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Prim8Keeper: Thank you for choosing The Westin Beach Resort & Spa, Fort Lauderdale as your pre-cruise destination! It sounds like you had a lovely time and enjoyed all of our signature Westin amenities. Safe travels and we hope to see you again for another rejuvenating pre-cruise stay!

Warm Regards,
Heather Williams
Complex Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk
Level Contributor
126 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

We used the Westin at Fort Lauderdale twice - two 2 night stays before and after - as part of a cruise holiday on Celebrity Equinox to the Caribbean. We liked the idea of being unhurried in joining the ship and the tie-in with transfers to/from the cruise port was something we wanted and it worked well. We found that on check-in by changing our preference for a king room to two doubles meant we were able to have a room with an ocean view on a high floor. We particularly appreciated the early check-in on our arrival after the cruise. Rooms were large and while there were some aspects, eg the air-con system and the bath, that were rather dated, others had been upgraded and, overall, we were happy with the rooms. A good feature was the sound insulation from street noise. The beds were very comfortable and we had robes. Complimentary bottled water was provided daily. Staff were helpful and friendly. Porters came promptly and poolside staff advised on best spots for sun and shade. We did not dine in the hotel but found some cafes and restaurants nearby. Wi-fi is not free but the $9.95 per day charge is relatively modest; cheaper still is the free access in the adjoining Starbucks! While not in the top-flight, luxury, class the Westin is well worth considering.

Room Tip: Be flexible if you can as staff find it easier to find an ocean view if you give them choice between...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sakiScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary,Ab,Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

We were given this hotel on a Hotwire purchase for two nights in January. I called before and was able to upgrade at a cost to an oceanview room.
We were greeted and checked in quite efficiently. The room was clean and quiet and we found the bed extremely comfortable.
We spent one afternoon at the pool and found it to be well staffed and maintained also.
The trolley can be caught just out front and within walking distance is a variety of places to eat as well as a CVS.
This was a great hotel for the total price and we would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank billypunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear billypunk: Thank you for sharing such wonderful comments with us about your recent stay! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed all of our wonderful Westin amenities and outlets. Thank you again for your feedback and we do hope to see each and every one of you again in the near future!

Warm Regards,
Heather Williams
Complex Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Stayed here for one night in January. The service was great and the staff was very friendly. The property, however, was really outdated. Furnishings were sparse. The wear and tear of time and sea breeze was bad enough, but several chairs and furniture in my room and throughout the hotel were stained and marred. I would have expected much more for a Westin.

Had dinner at Shula's, which was good and much nicer ambiance than the rooms. The pool was also pretty outdated, but service was good.

It did have a great view of the ocean, and was across the street from the beach. (No properties are actually ON the beach here.)

Room Tip: The south tower is a bit of a haul. Views may be slightly better, but the main building is much mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Princess_Sunshine21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Princess_Sunshine21: Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is regrettable that your stay with us did not meet the expectations you had hoped for. One of the major purposes of online reviews is to highlight areas for improvement and your feedback provides our hotel with valuable information that we can review to improve on for the future. Thank you again for your comments and we do hope we will have the chance to welcome you back for a 2nd stay with us.

Warm Regards,
Heather Williams
Complex Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
114 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

The WFLBR has an incredible location across the street from the beach in FtL.
Beach can be accessed via a crosswalk or a sky bridge.

The hotel itself is a little dated, but is clean. Rooms are a good size and beds are comfortable.

The service is great. The parking attendants, front staff, and environmental services are friendly and helpful.

The pool area was fine and the workout facility had a broad variety of equipment (although the AV on a few of the machines weren't working great).

Didn't like the fact that there was a tiered Internet use fee. And, there is mandatory valet parking at $28/day.

The one negative about my stay was the service at Shulas for breakfast. Service was not friendly and was slow..ie no spoon for coffee and having to ask for it...no milk/sugar for coffee..no napkins. Things go wrong, everyone has a bad day, but when multime things go wrong, it's not optimal for the server to shrug off the customer. It wasn't just me in an under caffeinated state, a guest at another table asked for water several times and eventually walked over to get the pitcher himself. Experience was bad enough that myself, and several other business travelers, elected to have bkfst elsewhere despite the inconvenience.

Overall, great location, wonderful service. But bkfst experience was a little suboptimal

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Atman S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

The service was really good and staff very friendly. Like another reviewer mentioned, there's some type of aroma in the lobby- not bad, I enjoyed it. We had a great room overlooking the beach in the main tower on the top floor. As another reviewer mentioned, the pillows are obnoxiously soft. I didn't realize how much that would bother me but the beds are very comfortable.

I am a starwoods member and used my points for this hotel. Rates can run high but this Hotel is pretty luxurious. My mom and I woke up really early to walk the beach. Fort Lauderdale really does have an amazing beach and its great to walk it before everyone else starts packing the beaches. Get some great shells!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KathyMasl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear KathyMasl: Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experiences with us while staying at our resort. We are so glad to hear that our enthusiastic staff always go above and beyond to make your Westin stay even more enjoyable. We look forward to your next visit to The Westin Beach Resort & Spa, Fort Lauderdale. Thank you for your continued patronage!

Warm Regards,
Heather Williams
Complex Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#17 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,520 reviews
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#14 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,889 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#24 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#21 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,887 reviews
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#49 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,654 reviews
Central Beach
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Res...
#8 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale

Property: The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale
Address: 321 North Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#8 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#10 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#15 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#26 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#36 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale 4*
Number of rooms: 433
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our waterfront setting offers diving, sailing, fishing, or just quiet relaxation. But beachside bliss is only the start: we have a rejuvenating spa and fitness center and a serene oceanfront pool here at the beautiful Westin Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort. An oceanfront resort with an inspirational setting on Fort Lauderdale Beach, it is our hope that your stay with us will leave you feeling refreshed. Discover the "Venice of America" and explore 300 miles of navigable waterways or relax on the warm sands of Atlantic Ocean beaches. Bask in the sunshine on our serene pool deck overlooking the ocean. Enjoy wonderful on-site Ft. Lauderdale dining or venture out to Las Olas Boulevard which features nightlife, shopping and restaurants. Restore body and mind in our 432 soothing and elegant guest rooms, each graced with the sumptuous Westin Heavenly(R) Bed. A daily Resort Charge plus tax, per day will be posted to each guest room for a variety of amenities and services. Valet Parking available for an additional fee per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Beach Resort & Spa, Fort Lauderdale Hotel Fort Lauderdale
The Westin Beach Resort And Spa, Fort Lauderdale
Westin Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing