We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beach front stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale
Ranked #28 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Reviewed January 26, 2013

A great stay that started with our arrival at the front door. We booked an ocean view room

Check in: Friendly check in staff who got us a great room. Pleasantly surprised with the double slider doors and beds that faced the ocean.

Room: Not exactly luxurious, but still top notch. Great slider doors that give awesome ocean views and the sounds of the ocean. Crisp Westin bed and modern beach inspired furniture. Bathroom continued the theme with a nice tiled shower

Pool: Didn't use the pool, but it seemed small. Plus I didn't see a hot tub? Maybe I missed it.

Beach: Direct access via the 3rd floor bridge over A1A. Attendant set up chairs and there was adequate space to stretch out. Only 2 chairs per room though.

Overall: Pretty good deal for the price, given the time of year. AAA package included valet parking which saved the $20 fee.

Room Tip: Go for the ocean front in the north tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,654)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,581 - 2,587 of 3,654 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2013

I attended a small sized conferenc (80 people) at the Westin Fort Lauderdale Beach Florida. The Hotel was simply outstanding. Service superb, excellent choice of food, great rooms and a wide variety for food and beverage. Wonderful bar and pool setting with a bridge across the road directly to the beach. Lots of great restaurants and action in the area. Not far from the intracoastal water taxi as well which is great to see the sites and sounds of the area. Thumbs up to the Westin and their staff for a great job done.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for Ocean view. If you want to be closest to the ocean (not overlooking the pool) as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leasiders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Dear Leasiders: Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your recent stay with us. We truly appreciate your feedback and all of the compliments surrounding our meeting space, Heavenly guestrooms, and staff service. It sounds like your meeting was a great success! Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back, along with your family to our beautiful beachfront property.

Warm Regards,
Heather Williams
Complex Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We spent 2 nights at this hotel on beach blvd. and found the hotel comfortable, well located, and a view we couldn't get enough of. It's not the least expensive by any means, but you'll find it affordable among the beach front accomodations there. We found the cat walk to the beach leading off the sundeck and pool area very convenient. For walking purposes, the hotel is located several blocks from the eating and shopping areas, but that just allows you to stretch out before dinner and walk off some of the weight gain on your way back. You can even dip your feet in the ocean either way you go. It's best to walk, since there is no free parking nearby.

Room Tip: Go for the beachfront, you'll love the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Dear phil_marionstravels: Thank you for sharing your review about your recent stay, it sounds like you had a wonderful time with us and enjoyed all of our signature Westin amenities. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future to the oceanfront Westin Beach Resort & Spa, Fort Lauderdale.

Warm Regards,
Heather Williams
Complex Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

I stayed here for four days for the 13.1 Ft. Lauderdale. I usually stay at the Westin for my races and yes, I made the right decision by staying at this place. Here is my quick summary -

Pros:
1) Fantastic location: Just a block away from the beach
2) Awesome pool and outdoor bar
3) Excellent service: The pool attendant and concierge were so nice. They even remembered my name and were extremely helpful as I had questions about dining options, weather, dircection to Miami, etc. I even tipped the pool attendant since he was so helpful and worked his butt off (do people usually tip them?).
4) I booked through hotels.com and my daily rate ended up being ~$110 per night!

Cons:
1) $25 per night valet parking. I know this rate is consistent with the other westin's I stayed at but how come there was no option for self parking?
2) Breakfast was somewhat pricey. I think I ended up spending over $15.

I will stay here again for my next trip to Ft. Lauderdale. My room was nice and clean. Everyone was nice and again, you can't beat this location.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JiUnit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Dear JiUnit: Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to post your review about your experience at The Westin Beach Resort & Spa, Fort Lauderdale. We greatly appreciate the positive comments about our staff, location, and signature outlets. We look forward to your return to beautiful Fort Lauderdale Beach!

Warm Regards,
Heather Williams
Complex Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night post cruise.

We booked two rooms and when we checked in, rooms were not ready. A front staff said one room was ready but another room would be different floor which was not ready yet. But if we wait, we could have the rooms next to each other. So we have decided to wait to get the rooms side by side. Few hours later, when we got the room keys, we found our rooms weren't next to each other and hotel staff did't remember what she said.
Not pleased but this wasn't a big deal.

I was shocked when a bell boy left our luggages unattended when he found out our rooms weren't ready. He didn't take our luggages to the storage room and just left them around front desk area. Therefore, I pushed the luggage cart to the storage room area. I have never experienced that the bell boy left without bringing luggages to the storage room.

Room was good but services need to be improved.
I will look for other hotel when I go to Fort Lauderdale.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Littlesheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Dear Littlesheep: Thank you for providing us with this valuable feedback concerning your recent stay at The Westin Beach Resort & Spa, Fort Lauderdale. We take all guest responses very seriously and appreciate you giving us the opportunity to improve our product, guest service, and overall experience. Rest assured your review has been shared with our management team, so that we can better serve each and every guest and provide the complete Westin experience. Thanks again for taking the time to share your comments.

Warm Regards,
Heather Williams
Complex Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Expected more even though we won this room on a very cheap Priceline bid.

Positives
Room was clean but dated. Reasonable view of ocean. Convenient location with bus stop out the front. Friendly staff and quick check-in even though it was early in the day. We arrived here after the cruise.

Bad smell coming from the Japanese restaurant adjacent to the pool. No free in-room WIFI. Do something about it, Management. You will lose customers. Long walk to and from lobby and south tower.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank awvenning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Dear awvenning: Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us regarding your recent stay at our resort. Your suggestions are very important to us, as we are always looking for ways to improve the quality of our products. Thank you again for your feedback and for also sharing the positives about your stay.

Warm Regards,
Heather Williams
Complex Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Not great, but good. I likely would not return unless staying on points.

Positives...
- Great location; private walkway over A1A makes beach access a breeze
- Very accommodating and welcoming staff
- Variety of dining options (Don Shula's, poolside outlet, sushi bar)
- Helpful kids amenities, including strollers and beach toys
- Clean and well-maintained

Negatives...
- Small rooms. Our oceanfront view was spectacular, admittedly, but hardly offset by our cramped quarters
- Towel service. The gentleman on pool duty guards his towels with admirable dedication, so much so that getting an extra one is a serious effort in negotiation. Not sure why that should be
- Overpriced amenities: $25/day for parking and $20/day for a beach umbrella

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank staceyinnyc17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Dear staceyinnyc17: Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us regarding your recent stay at The Westin Beach Resort & Spa, Fort Lauderdale. Your suggestions are very important to us, as we are always looking for ways to improve the quality of our products. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to be able to welcome you back again soon!

Warm Regards,
Heather Williams
Complex Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#77 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
11 reviews
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#17 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,856 reviews
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#44 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#20 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,760 reviews
Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#16 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,055 reviews
Central Beach
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Res...
#11 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
5,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale

Address: 321 North Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#8 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#11 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#15 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#26 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#31 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: $209 - $527 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale 4*
Number of rooms: 433
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our waterfront setting offers diving, sailing, fishing, or just quiet relaxation. But beachside bliss is only the start: we have a rejuvenating spa and fitness center and a serene oceanfront pool here at the beautiful Westin Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort. An oceanfront resort with an inspirational setting on Fort Lauderdale Beach, it is our hope that your stay with us will leave you feeling refreshed. Discover the "Venice of America" and explore 300 miles of navigable waterways or relax on the warm sands of Atlantic Ocean beaches. Bask in the sunshine on our serene pool deck overlooking the ocean. Enjoy wonderful on-site Ft. Lauderdale dining or venture out to Las Olas Boulevard which features nightlife, shopping and restaurants. Restore body and mind in our 432 soothing and elegant guest rooms, each graced with the sumptuous Westin Heavenly(R) Bed. A daily Resort Charge plus tax, per day will be posted to each guest room for a variety of amenities and services. Valet Parking available for an additional fee per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Beach Resort And Spa, Fort Lauderdale
The Westin Beach Resort & Spa, Fort Lauderdale Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Westin Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing