We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Westin made our family vacation horrible”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale
Ranked #30 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Reviewed January 24, 2012

We flew in from va and expected a family friendly hotel. We booked this through a travel agency. When we got there they gave all four of us double beds. I was told there would be 2 queen beds. The room was so small we were stepping over each other. We called the front desk who pretended they didn't know we had children with us and moved us to a king bed with a rollaway bed for our 2 girls. They nickel and dime you for everything. Just to park your rental car is $25 a day and it's valet so you have to tip them too every time you want to use your car. One tv so thankfully we brought our iPad but had to pay $10 a day for Internet access so our kids could huddle with earphones to watch a movie. Not to mention they put a $1200 hold on our debit card that didn't come off until we got back home. There is NO balcony which is crazy. The bathroom has a freaking window in it. The maids wake you up and open your door at 830am They limit you outside towels for the beach and pool I used to be a westin lover but after having the worst vacation ever...never again.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Melanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sinceresfbh, Manager at The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2012

Dear Melanie L: Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your recent stay at our property. Please accept our sincere apologies that you experienced such a disappointing stay. It is our goal for no guest to leave unhappy and truly regret that we did not meet our goal for you and your family. Your comments are very much appreciated, as this will only help us to improve our product and service. Again thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,598)
There are newer reviews for The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,883 - 2,889 of 3,598 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2012

This is more like a four points hotel, rather than a westin. Location was fantastic as was the beach. Large pool area that didn't look crowded during our stay. A short cab ride away from the Galleria and Los Olas. Staff very friendly and beds comfy. The housekeeping, however, leaves much to be desired. Hotel is clearly cutting back and our room was not vacuumed prior to our arrival or during our 3 night stay. Can't beat the location, but this hotel is not of Westin standard

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marysj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

Located right in the middle of the beach, it's a simple and clean hotel. We got a great deal in an adjacent tower and paid extra just for valley parking.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

We arrived mid-morning from NJ and took a chance that we could check our bags until 3:00. Much to our surprise we were checked into our room right away. We really appreciated the ability to get settled in so early. We were also impressed by the pool manager, Ray Alvarez and his staff for their diligence in making their guests feel comfortable and welcome. Instead of killing time on a slow day, they were painting and cleaning to enhance the appearance of the pool area. They also carried on pleasant conversation with everyone present. We will definitely visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SVO1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sinceresfbh, Manager at The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2012

Dear SVO1981: Thank you for taking the time to share such a lovely review! We are thrilled to hear that our attentive staff and wonderful amenities made for such a memorable experience. We look forward to your next visit to The Westin Beach Resort & Spa, Fort Lauderdale!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Look at the pictures and you can see the bar is next to the pool that is next to the bridge that crosses the road to the beach! The W is on the next block up for exceptional food! Stay here and walk to the other things to do around the hotel and beach! Very clean and friendly staff that tries to accommodate your wishes. Some areas could use updating (like the carpet around the convention rooms). But if you stay on the upper floors, they are stunning. The hotel is primarily blue with blue themes that are quite relaxing. Executive suites are on the end of the hotel overlooking the beach.

Room Tip: First choice: Ask for an upper floor that overlooks the pool looking north along the beach so you wo...
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travel_Colorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sinceresfbh, Manager at The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2012

Dear Travel_Colorado: We read your review and were very excited to hear you had such a wonderful time at our resort. We greatly appreciate your compliments about our location, friendly staff, and rejuvenating oceanfront accommodations. I’m sure you enjoyed the lovely weather we’ve had over the past few weeks too! Thank you again for sharing such a great review and we look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful and refreshing retreat on the beach!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

Stayed two nights for business, but wanted to be close to the hustle and bustle a bit for fun. Great for the business trip, but also wished I had brought my family with me to enjoy it. There was a kids play area in the hotel, which I know my boys would have loved. Also convenient was the Starbucks on the first level. Didn't have time to enjoy the bars or pool area, but it was tempting. Room service food was good and prompt, not too pricey. And the staff addressed me by name, which was a nice touch. My exec suite overlooked the beach (and sunrise), which was a nice atmosphere for getting the day started. Beds were extremely comfortable and shower pressure was strong enough. Those are two of my must haves. Expectation met. Would definitely stay here and again and choose an executive suite. The view and space made it well worth it.

Room Tip: Executive suite in the south tower overlooked the beach. It was great.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kmac0127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

I attended a conference in this hotel. Overall, it was excellent, but some things could be better. Check in was fine and the staff seemed helpful. I was put in a first floor room where it seemed that people could look in the window. The conference facilities were perfect for our needs with a meeting for about 250 people. I ordered room service once and the food was excellent. The bed was very comfortable and it was quiet. Our Wi-Fi was compleimentary, but I think that was a deal with the conference. The work-out facilities looked nice, but I didn't use them. There was a spa there as well. Shula's Steakhouse was on-site but I also didn't use that.

What I didn't like: None of the hostels on this strip are on the beach. There is a very busy road that separates the hotels from the public beach. This hotel was better than most because it had a walkway over the road with an elevator that landed you beachside. The pool area was very basic and there were no hot-tubs. Just your basic square pool that was heated, but not terribly inviting. There is a bar pool-side with attentive staff serving over-priced drinks. I was really disappointed in the pool and beach - which is the main attraction here.

You can walk down the sidewalk in either direction and pass restaurants in the other hotels. For night-life, you really need to go to downtown Ft. Lauderdale which does have a small but fun club section.

Oh - the valet guys were really great - very quick and ready to give directions iv you bring a rental car.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrTom234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sinceresfbh, Manager at The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2012

Dear DrTom234: Thank you for sharing your review! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed our conference facilities and the quality of our food. Although it sounds like you were pleased with our accommodations , we apologize that you were not satisfied with our pool and beach area. Your feedback is very important to us, as it will help us to improve our product and services. Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#27 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,128 reviews
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#15 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,764 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#20 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#43 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,968 reviews
Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#16 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,001 reviews
Central Beach
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Res...
#11 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
5,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale

Address: 321 North Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#8 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#11 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#15 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#26 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#36 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: $182 - $466 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale 4*
Number of rooms: 433
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our waterfront setting offers diving, sailing, fishing, or just quiet relaxation. But beachside bliss is only the start: we have a rejuvenating spa and fitness center and a serene oceanfront pool here at the beautiful Westin Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort. An oceanfront resort with an inspirational setting on Fort Lauderdale Beach, it is our hope that your stay with us will leave you feeling refreshed. Discover the "Venice of America" and explore 300 miles of navigable waterways or relax on the warm sands of Atlantic Ocean beaches. Bask in the sunshine on our serene pool deck overlooking the ocean. Enjoy wonderful on-site Ft. Lauderdale dining or venture out to Las Olas Boulevard which features nightlife, shopping and restaurants. Restore body and mind in our 432 soothing and elegant guest rooms, each graced with the sumptuous Westin Heavenly(R) Bed. A daily Resort Charge plus tax, per day will be posted to each guest room for a variety of amenities and services. Valet Parking available for an additional fee per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Beach Resort And Spa, Fort Lauderdale
The Westin Beach Resort & Spa, Fort Lauderdale Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Westin Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing