We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay and great staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale
Ranked #29 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay and great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

I stayed at The Westin Beach Resort for business and was impressed by the property and the level of service. Chaundra will not give me access to my room despite my plea and this made me feel safe. Alin at the concierge desk always had a pleasant word for me everytime I passed by the desk. A great place to travel to for business or relaxation.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maguy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sinceresfbh, Manager at The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, September 30, 2011
Dear Maguy L: Thank you for sharing your review with us on Trip Advisor. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and glad we could make you feel safe during your business travels. Come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,487
    1,072
    463
    199
    141
See reviews for
887
1,118
158
569
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (947)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, AZ
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

As a Platinum member for Starwood I spend 50+ nights a year in Starwood properties so I booked the Westin for 10 days during a work trip. Overall the hotel is nice and people are friendly. The location is fantastic, just across from the beach with a skybridge for easy access to the ocean. One notable item is that I had the absolute best housekeeping experience I've ever had at a hotel. The housekeeper on the 12th floor, Ivrosa, was the most attentive and meticulous housekeeper I've ever had in a hotel.
Pros: Location. Shula's Restaurant happy hour.
Areas for Improvement: Pool area is outdated. Air conditioning somewhat loud.
Overall it was a good stay!

Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sinceresfbh, Manager at The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
Dear MichaelScottsdale: Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay at our property. It was a pleasure reading your review about your hotel experience after staying with us for 10 days. As you mentioned, our location is very convenient and within walking distance from exciting nightlife and world-class shopping. We appreciate your comments about Ivrosa; she is a very hard worker and we are honored to have her as part of our team. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Beach Resort & Spa, Fort Lauderdale!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

My stay was for a business meeting that was called Refresh, Recharge, Revitalize and the Westin Beach Resort was the perfect place. I extended my stay two extra days since it was so refreshing and relaxing. The pool and beach was perfect. It was the staff that made this hotel feel like you were on a cruise ship, from the time I drove into the valet to Storm who took care of my luggage. The best was Adan E., the bartender at Waves. He knew how to keep you coming back. I did notice that it was very slow for a weekend off season. With such a great location on the beach, I surprise that they do not offer a beach resort package for the local residents. I have seen other hotels that are on the beach offer exist to their parking, pool, and beach for a annual charge each year.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sinceresfbh, Manager at The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
Dear TomB6072: Thank you so much for sharing such a lovely review of our resort. We appreciate the time you took to provide such positive feedback on our location, product, and guest services. It sounds like you have found your place to relax, revive, and experience renewal when away from home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
170 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

We had an Oceanfront room on the 11th floor, absolutely spectacular views of the Ocean from the room. Unfortunately no balcony although the glass doors opened. The room was clean and nicely appointed, not too spacious but the view made up for it. Our room was in the South Tower over the Convention Centre, which wasn't not a problem but could be for some as it is a fair walk from the lobby - to get to the room involved 2 lifts and a walk across the bridge from one building to the other. All staff were helpful and courteous, the pool is nicely located on the 3rd floor and is connected by walkway to the beach which is great. We ate in Shula's one night, great food but very expensive partly due to location but although it is virtually beachfront you do have the Road in between so as cars, trucks and bikes go past it's quite noisy. Two things I wasn't so sure about, firstly whether the hotel wifi is payable or not. I did use Shula's which is accessible in the lobby and is free, but I don't know about the hotel's own, I heard different guests with different views. It doesn't say in the brochure ( I appreciate you could ask at Reception). Secondly the poolside bar, which is open during the day, didn't appear to be open at night. We returned from Dinner on friday night around 8.30 only to find the bar area completely shut. This was surprising, Shula's has a bar area but that's indoors and less than casual. Location is great for walking to restaurants, bars and shops, and the beach is literally over the road. I'd go back.

Room Tip: HIgh floor, Oceanfront. No point staying there not to be able to see the Ocean from the bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paul b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

Pros:
Good location on the main strip
Great access to the beach, loved the sky walk
Spa has really nice & excellent masseuses, the rollersage is AMAZING!
Rooms are cute
Public areas are very clean (pool, restrooms, lobby etc...)

Cons:
did not receive maid service on the first day, told front desk on the way out to dinner and they said it would be taken care of by the time we returned, needless to say it never happened. normally not a big deal however we actually really needed it (full trash cans, not enough towels EX: 1 face cloth for 3 adults and brown mystery item finger prints all over the shower curtin from the last guests?)
very limited breakfast choices that were a little too over the top ($15 eggs and bacon), we ended up going in town twice to "the original pancake house" which was priced well and had really great food & service
lack of information - found out from our bellman during our check out that the lounge chairs on the beach were complimentary, this would have been a really nice thing to know!!! i thought they were part of the city of ft lauderdale beach rental program that typically go for $20 per chair therefore I never bothered to inquire...

there were a few more small inconsistancies however it is a nice hotel at a good rate and i would stay there again. i would just be sure to have a westin mindset and not a hilton midset, nothing wrong with either, just different. by the way, the hilton a few doors down was incredible when we stayed there in June from the hotel to the service, that will be my first choice EVERY time hands down when the rates are fair.

Room Tip: do not bother with a partial ocean view, either go for the actual ocean view or the city view...part...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amyz78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sinceresfbh, Manager at The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, September 20, 2011
Dear Amyz78: Thank you for taking the time to share your review. Please accept our sincere apologies for the troubles you experienced, as this is certainly not the Westin experience we aim to provide our guests. We have communicated the issue you addressed regarding room service with our housekeeping team to ensure all guest requests are acted upon immediately and in a timely manner. We do appreciate your note about our Heavenly Spa and the great service you received during your Rollerssage treatment. Our staff will be thrilled to hear your comments. Thank you again for sharing your feedback and we do hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, Indiana
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2011

Stayed in Ft. Lauderdale one night at the Westin before heading to West Palm Beach. We signed up for the points program and were upgraded to an oceanview room which was a nice surprise. We were pleased that the hotel was within walking distance to many nearby restaurants.

The room itself is nicely appointed, and has THE BEST beds and pillows. My husband said it was the best he has slept in years!! The "balcony" is basically taking a step and looking over, you couldn't actually sit outside. It was fine for us because it rained the day we arrived.

I agree with the other reviews that the louvered doors in the bathroom were strange. Seems like they could just put regular doors and drywall the remainder of the bathroom. However, the bathroom itself was extremely nice.

The staff in the bar area were very accommodating, the food we had was well prepared and the prices were good. We had room service for breakfast which was fairly pricey, (fruit and bread for about $35) but it was very good.

The pool looked nice, although we weren't there long enough to use it. The walkway over to the beach was great. I don't think any of the hotels in Ft. Lauderdale are located directly on the beach.

We got a great rate through Hotwire, just picked a 4 star hotel and were extremely pleased with the result! The only complaint I would have is that I do not see the need for valet parking. Otherwise, we would definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Skipper711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sinceresfbh, Manager at The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, September 19, 2011
Dear Skipper 711: Thank you so much for staying with us and choosing our hotel as your travel destination. We are delighted to hear that we were able to upgrade your room, so you could enjoy our beautiful oceanview accommodations. Most of our guest rooms offer picturesque views of Fort Lauderdale Beach or the Intracoastal Waterway. We appreciate you mentioning your opinion of the bathroom doors, as we are currently discussing ways to improve the privacy and functionality of this feature. Thanks again for taking the time to share your review and we hope your travels will bring you back soon to The Westin Beach Resort & Spa, Fort Lauderdale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranston, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

This is a very well appointed hotel with luxurious linens. It was like sleeping on a cloud. The view was overlooking Los Olas Blvd with the beach directly across the street. We had a walkway leading right to the beach. Good food and the staff was extremely accommodating. Would most definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sharonf19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sinceresfbh, Manager at The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, September 19, 2011
Dear Sharonf19: Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us and the rest of our Trip Advisor community. We are so glad you enjoyed our signature Heavenly Bed and Bath and the overall service provided by our enthusiastic staff. It is always so great to hear such positive comments and we hope to see you again in the near future. Sunny regards from beautiful Fort Lauderdale Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#17 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,520 reviews
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#14 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,889 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#24 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#21 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,887 reviews
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#49 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,654 reviews
Central Beach
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Res...
#8 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale

Property: The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale
Address: 321 North Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#8 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#10 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#15 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#26 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#36 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale 4*
Number of rooms: 433
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our waterfront setting offers diving, sailing, fishing, or just quiet relaxation. But beachside bliss is only the start: we have a rejuvenating spa and fitness center and a serene oceanfront pool here at the beautiful Westin Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort. An oceanfront resort with an inspirational setting on Fort Lauderdale Beach, it is our hope that your stay with us will leave you feeling refreshed. Discover the "Venice of America" and explore 300 miles of navigable waterways or relax on the warm sands of Atlantic Ocean beaches. Bask in the sunshine on our serene pool deck overlooking the ocean. Enjoy wonderful on-site Ft. Lauderdale dining or venture out to Las Olas Boulevard which features nightlife, shopping and restaurants. Restore body and mind in our 432 soothing and elegant guest rooms, each graced with the sumptuous Westin Heavenly(R) Bed. A daily Resort Charge plus tax, per day will be posted to each guest room for a variety of amenities and services. Valet Parking available for an additional fee per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Beach Resort & Spa, Fort Lauderdale Hotel Fort Lauderdale
The Westin Beach Resort And Spa, Fort Lauderdale
Westin Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing