We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going back to the Hilton!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale
Ranked #31 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Going back to the Hilton!”
Reviewed May 21, 2011

Just got back after 4 days at the Westin. Previously we had stayed at the Hilton up the road and I can say that there is quite a difference. First thing is that the pool was not heated at all unless you count natural sunlight. There are no hot tubs like the Hilton and the Waves bar and grill is adequate at best. The Hilton has Ilios which is highly rated and offers breakfast(kids eat free) where the Westin does not unless you want to go to Shulas and pay an arm and a leg. Our first night we ate at Shula's and the prices were astronomical, the service was SLOW even though it was half empty. The food was good however but not outstanding.
My wife asked for a crib for our 2 1/2 yr. old and of course it wasn't in the room when we got there and had to wait for it to arrive. When it arrived it was way too small so our daughter slept in our bed with us! Our view from our tiny room was of the parking lot not ocean view, and they charge you for internet service (not at Hilton) The valet parking charge is ridiculous and had to wait for the car like every one else. Definitely going back to the Hilton in the future!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NDR0422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,536
    1,088
    474
    203
    144
See reviews for
912
1,147
160
584
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (973)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Linden, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2011

My friend and I stayed at this hotel over the weekend for a wedding (last weekend to be exact). The few things I liked about this hotel were, the location (beautiful), the clean rooms and the comfy bed. What I didn't like? Where do I start? Upon arrival we were told that our room is not paid for despite the fact my boyfriend called, booked the room and gave them permission to charge it to the card. My friend had to give them a new credit card so we can check it to our room. Another issue was when we wanted to check out, we were charged twice for the late check out. Thank God my friend realized their mistake. The front desk staff was very rude especially this one lady I forgot the name but she was there the whole weekend. The salon was a joke, we had a $65 pedicure which was also a joke! We booked it without asking for the price and then we we didn't show up we were charged $130, after calling and complaining we didn't have a choice but to go and get this overpriced pedicure. The russian ladies at the salon were rude, the pedicure lasted 20 minutes and trust me it was below average. The food wasn't good at all, especially the beach cafe, we paid $60 for 2 drinks, ceaser salad and a panini sandwich. Really? They didn't have a lot of good restaurants so our choices were limited. Yesterday I found out that the hotel didn't charge my boyfriend's credit card but my friend's when I told them which card to use and the front desk acted like they understood my request. Overall I'm not too happy with this place, my friend's wedding was amazing so that's what matters the most. Me and my boyfriend stayed at Westin few times before, in Hawaii and St. John and this one was the worst. I hope they will read my review and comment.
They are other beautiful hotels around Westin give them a try.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xadax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2011

My husband and I just returned from a four night stay at the Westin Beach Resort in Fort Lauderdale. We have travelled enough to expereince many different hotels and resorts. By far this was the best experience we have encountered. From the moment we set foot in the hotel we were greeted with wonderful service. Our oceanview room was excellent. Super clean and very inviting. We must mention our wonderful concierge Jorge Hernandez. His excellent suggustions for dinner and entertainment were great. Service for renting a car and bikes just a simple task! Always a smile and ready to help. It is evident that the employees of the hotel go out of their way to make a guest's stay very memorable. From the pool area/bar to the great fitness cener. We would also like to thank Alvin in Shula's restaurant. Breakfast every morning was a pleasure knowing he would be serving our table. As well the breakfast selection had amazing healthy and hearty choices. We would most certainly reccommend this for a great little get a way!!! Once again thanks to all at the Westin!

Room Tip: Ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank francesca91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2011

We stayed at the Westin on returning from our 5 day cruise. It was in a great location, easy to find, many restraunts within walking distance. Loved our room on the 15th floor over looking the city and waterway side. Was beautiful at night! Must say being able to enjoy the view from even taking a shower was really nice. Easy access from hotel to beach with the walkway over the road, Staff was very nice! Will be back no doubt!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DHYGJenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2011

Very comfortable Hotel only complaint shoul be balconies on the oceanfront rooms. > I usually enjoy My stay . moved over after horrible experiences at the W Hotel. Customer servie great . and they respect the starwood members unlike their sister hotel the W.

They understand why we join the membership not for our health

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MIMOSA997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2011

As a travel agent I have had the opportunity to travel to many destinations and stay at
many different hotels (Westin, Sheraton, Marriott, Hilton and their affiliated brands), and
I must highly compliment Jorge's outstanding service. He was ultimately helpful, knowledgeable,
polite and efficient. It was a pleasure to meet him and when I returned several weeks later
he even remembered my name and the event I had him research!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank butterfly7506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
123 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2011

Beautiful hotel as expected. Rooms were nice but lacked balconies which would have been wonderful overlooking the ocean. Pool is also overlooking the ocean but chairs fill up quickly and pool isn't very large given the size of the hotel. The white tea body lotion/shampoo is lovely as is the room fragrance. Concierge staff were always very helpful with directions, restaurant recommendations, etc. Great stay, but surprised to realize that parking was $25/ day which almost equalled another night in the hotel! The $ was never mentioned at check in. Wi-fi is also $10/day. Would likely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UofMgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#15 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,607 reviews
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#14 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,928 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#23 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#25 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,981 reviews
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdal...
#6 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
Central Beach
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Res...
#8 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale

Property: The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale
Address: 321 North Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#8 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#10 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#15 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#26 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#36 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale 4*
Number of rooms: 433
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our waterfront setting offers diving, sailing, fishing, or just quiet relaxation. But beachside bliss is only the start: we have a rejuvenating spa and fitness center and a serene oceanfront pool here at the beautiful Westin Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort. An oceanfront resort with an inspirational setting on Fort Lauderdale Beach, it is our hope that your stay with us will leave you feeling refreshed. Discover the "Venice of America" and explore 300 miles of navigable waterways or relax on the warm sands of Atlantic Ocean beaches. Bask in the sunshine on our serene pool deck overlooking the ocean. Enjoy wonderful on-site Ft. Lauderdale dining or venture out to Las Olas Boulevard which features nightlife, shopping and restaurants. Restore body and mind in our 432 soothing and elegant guest rooms, each graced with the sumptuous Westin Heavenly(R) Bed. A daily Resort Charge plus tax, per day will be posted to each guest room for a variety of amenities and services. Valet Parking available for an additional fee per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Beach Resort And Spa, Fort Lauderdale
The Westin Beach Resort & Spa, Fort Lauderdale Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Westin Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing