We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riverside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riverside Hotel
Ranked #15 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Rothesay
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2006

We stay here pre-cruise Jan 26 to Jan 29. I picked this hotel, because of it's location on Los Olas Blvd. Yes, at $205.00 American, it was pricey, but asked for one of the new tower rooms over-looking the inter-coastal waterways. Well, let me tell you, the room was well worth the price. We where on the 11th floor, and could watch all the beautiful yacht's going up, and down the river. We had two queen size beds, and the room was quite large. The bathroom, was very clean, and nice with marble through out.

The Breakfast in the indego was a little pricey, but you just have to try the freshly squeezed orange juice, mmmmmm, very good. The food was good as well. The cheesecake factory was just around the corner, but Thur, Fri, and Sat, be sure to make a reservation. Very busy.

The water taxi was just to blocks away, and I just loved it. You could go from one side of Ft. Lauderdale to other, and the beach, for $7.00 all day, off and on it. You don't have to paid the big dollars for the tours on the water. The staff on the water taxi's are very informative, and tell you all about the beautiful homes, and yacht's.

Los Olas Blvd just outside the hotel, is very pricey, but you can find a bargain, if you look. I felt very safe if this area of town, had no problems, and the blvd came alive at night. Wow, the people, and the outside bars, and restaurants will amaze you. The hotel staff was very friendly, and answers all our questions, and offered suggestion about things to see, and where to go. They have a heated pool out back of there hotel. You must try it, have to use your room card to get in, and very quiet. Loved it.

The only thing I suggest is, that if you get a taxi to take you to the cruise ships, or other, get it in the front, and not the back of the hotel. We took it from the back, and the meter was already 8 dollars and something, and then we were passing the front of the hotel. I think he took the long way around. It is about $14,00 to the cruise port.

Would definitely stay at the Riverside again. Well worth the price.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank love_child56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    660
    484
    161
    75
    46
See reviews for
212
545
87
277
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2006

I've stayed in this hotel before, so I was aware of the incompetent staff, and I wasn't surprised that their web site had double booked me. I was surprised that the lobby, which was being "renovated" last April, still had the sign up with no noticable changes. I could only get a room in the older, "renovated" section of the hotel, and I wasn't impressed. The bathroom fixtures were rusting, there was no double lock on the door (broken), and the materials in the bathroom were cheap and sub-standard for a $200+/day hotel for certain. Adding insult to injury, then never cleaned my room in the 2 days I was there. On a positive note, there was a nice 32" TV.

Stayed January 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank SavvyNewYorker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Demorest, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2006

We stayed at Riverside Hotel for 2 nights precruise. We wanted to stay on Las Olas just to have a couple of days to walk around and window shop, take in some good food, and relax. We arrived late Friday evening and checked in. I reserved a room in the remodeled "classic" area. Elevator opened and it was the smallest elevator I have ever seen. 2 women with 2 suitcases could barely fit in this thing. Hallway to room was very nice...tiled floors with soothing colors. Room was very small. We had 2 double beds with a large cabinet housing TV. Room was very nicely decorated, but small. The view was the parking lot and receiving area for valet parking and unloading. Not as quiet as I would have liked. The bathroom was tiny, but nicely done and tiled. The water was always yellow. The bathtub in our room never drained properly, so you were standing in water the whole time you took a shower. They did bring me a refrigerator to store my insulin in. Nice stocked minibar. We walked down street and ate at Cheesecake Factory. Wonderful meal. The next morning we went shopping. Very expensive stuff, but gave us some exercise and some sightseeing. Ate lunch at Mangoes. Very nice lunch and reasonable prices. Caught water taxi below hotel and rode around looking at beautiful riverside homes. The next morning we ate breakfast at hotel restaurant. Very pricey, but good. Did not feel quality was worth 25 dollars for 2 people for breakfast. Anyway, I would not stay in this section of hotel again unless price really came down. For $190 dollars a night, I expect a little more. I am not complaining about hotel, just expected a little more for price that was paid. It was nice to stay here once and see what it was like, but will probably go elsewhere on next cruise.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank mtinga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
104 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2006

I booked this room with Hotels and paid $180 for a one night stay. I had viewed the hotel website and liked the photos and believed I was booking a room in at least a 3 or 4 star hotel. As previously mentioned DO NOT STAY IN THE OLDER PORTION of the hotel. (I missed those reviews and did not realize there was a difference.) The lobby is being "renovated" as mentioned..but you don't see any construction work, just a sign mentioning that they are "renovating". The elevator was vintage and I believe could only handle two people. The hallway to the room was cluttered with dirty dishes from room service. The rooms were almost scary. I did not have a secure feeling in this room. We put a chair up against the door for some sort of security. It was a very old room that did not give you a feeling that it was even clean. The toilet was an old toilet similar to what you would find in old public restrooms and when you flushed them it made a horrible noise. The shower fluctuated between hot and cold water and the water pressure also fluctuated. There was a "bottle opener" attached to the bathroom door. Our blinds did not work properly. The curtains did not close they were faux curtains. The "view" was of the parking lot and dumpster. For $180 I expected much better. I felt like I had booked a room worse then a Motel 6.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
8 Thank debging
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
203 reviews
174 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2006

Superb location on Las Olas Boulevard. Rooms are comfortable, well equipped and good size. Their restaurant serves fantastic steaks. Breakfast service was sometimes very slow, but all in all a good experience.

  • Stayed December 2005, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PFP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2006

We stayed December 27-30, 2005 in the Tower (Room 1119) and had an excellent experience. I was able to use rate quotes off the Riverside website to negotiate a good rate for a two queen room in the newer section of the hotel. Beds were very comfortable, no unpleasant odors, large bathroom, nice heated pool, great location on Las Olas Boulevard, and professional staff. Fyi, the hotel is within walking distance (3-4 blocks) of the Museum of Art, which is hosting the King Tut exhibit through March 2006.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TLHGator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
177 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2005

I recently spent 1 night in the older section of the Riverside Hotel. It's advertised as a 3-4 star hotel on Expedia.

The room was charming, as other reviewers have mentioned. Loved the 'gently-used' oak dressers and nightstands, the tall windows with elegant window treatments, and the quaint tile in the bathroom.

However, the word 'charming' does not extend to the seedy, dirty hallways leading up to the room, a whole lot of grime in certain parts of the room such as the towel rack, a hair dryer that had extensive, conspicuous cracks with exposed electrical wiring, a toilet that emitted the most disconcerting growl after the water disappeared, and a lack not only of wireless but of any internet access whatsoever. This is just a sampling of problems.

I'm sorry but at this rating and price, such things are unacceptable. In addition, as others have noted, the lobby is apparently being renovated. I say 'apparently' because there was no actual remodeling going on. Rather the lobby just doesn't look like a lobby. There's a tiny front desk almost out of sight from the entrance to the lobby, and a bunch of chairs scattered over an open area.

Even in Fort Lauderdale where classiness doesn't seem to extend from the yacht club to the hotels, this hotel comes up short.

Stayed December 2005
Helpful?
3 Thank bfly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#17 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,524 reviews
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
#42 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,528 reviews
The Aqua Hotel
#9 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Victoria Park
The Victoria Park Hotel
The Victoria Park Hotel
#3 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
Fort Lauderdale Marriott North
#16 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,321 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#24 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel

Property: Riverside Hotel
Address: 620 E Las Olas Blvd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301-2287
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#20 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#20 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riverside Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing