We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recent stay”
Review of Riverside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riverside Hotel
Ranked #22 of 127 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 8, 2014

I can say I have searched for a reasonably priced hotel prior, in a good location, with things to do prior to cruising out of Miami and Fort Lauderdale, I have found one. The hotel is in a good location, within walking distance of the beach, many bars, and restaurants. There is both a nearby stop for the water taxi and the hop on hop off bus. The staff was marvelous and very helpful. The rooms do like as if they need to be refurbished, but overall, I did enjoy my stay.

Room Tip: Choose room in the tower, they are newer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Don T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside1936, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Hi Don,

Thank you for the nice feedback and we look forward to having you back! Our rooms are undergoing a marvelous renovation this summer so next time you stay we'll hopefully be your favorite. Have a great summer!

Sunny Regards,

Kristi
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,549)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

806 - 812 of 1,549 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2014

Definitely a good place to stay if you are in Ft Lauderdale...the hotel is very clean and staff efficient. We were very disappointed on our first day because we had gone out and when we got back our room was not cleaned, apparently there was some misunderstanding about the check in date, but we had seen one of the cleaning ladies in the corridor and I must say her service was excellent. The lady called her supervisor and arranged for the room to be cleaned immediately. Well Done on service !!!

The entertainment on the weekend was also great..they had a gentleman singing, kind of a karakoe evening which was great entertainment. The hotel is situated in the perfect spot and has great restaurants in and around the hotel.

I would definitely recommend the Riverside if you are in Ft Lauderdale.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReneLeCordier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside1936, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Hi Rene,

Thank you for your feedback! We're happy we were able to turn around your experience right away and that you loved our service. We're also thrilled you got to see Wesley Phillips perform in front of the hotel. How wonderful is he? We truly hope to see you back soon!

Sunny Regards,

Kristi
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

If you don't want to stay at the beach, you should stay here. Perfectly located at Las Olas with lots of god restaurants both inside the hotel and within easy walking distance. The hotel restarurant Wild Sea was excellent. The pool area was very nice, right beside the riverwalk.

The staff was very helpfull, everybody really did their best for us making our stay very plesant.

I can very much recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lars J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside1936, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Hi Lars,

Thank you so much for the kind feedback! How amazing is the Wild Sea? So happy you got to try it. We're getting renovations this upcoming year and hope to see you back to get your opinion!

Sunny Regards,

Kristi
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

This hotel is located on Las Olas, and has a restaurant as well (I did not eat there)
I have stayed at this hotel a few times, and always stayed in what I'm told is the older part. Most recently I stayed on the third floor and in all honesty the musty smell in the room was pretty overwhelming. Thankfully I do not suffer from allergies. Somebody like my mom would not have been able to stay here. The room was clean, the water pressure not so good, and the air conditioner extremely loud. I had the option to pay more and stay in the newer tower, but declined. The pool area was nice and the service was excellent throughout the entire hotel. I would recommend this hotel for its location and pool area. The rooms, definitely not.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MuskokaTraveller32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside1936, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Hi MuskokaTraveller32,

Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor! We're thrilled you loved our location/pool area and apologize you didn't feel the same about the room. We do wish you would have taken our recommendation on staying in the Executive Tower but understand you had a preference. We will be getting some pretty fabulous renovations this summer that just started and should be done by October 2014! These will be in our Classic Wing and Executive Tower. We truly hope you join us again as we would love your opinion!

Sunny Regards,

Kristi
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

The hotel is updated and convenient. The restaurant (Indigo) was fine for breakfast (not included in the room rate) with standard items, but the menu was a little limited. The bar (Golden Lyon) was fine, but pricey. A bottled beer was just under $5 and a soda was just under $3. There was a man singing Friday and Saturday night.

Valet is apparently required and charged to the room. You have to pass the hotel and swing around to the back side for the valet station. I did not see that self parking would be an option.

The pool is across the street from the hotel, along the river, the opposite direction of Las Olas. You cannot bring any beverages or food of your own since they have a small bar there. The deep end was around 8 feet. There were a lot of chairs, including tables under an awning.

We stayed two nights for a concert and the hotel worked out well. The beds were a little firm for my taste.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TampaJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside1936, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Hi TampaJules,

Thank you for your feedback and tips to future guests! We're happy you had a nice visit with friends and truly look forward to your next stay! We suggest you take the opportunity to visit our restaurant Wild Sea for happy hour next time :)

Sunny Regards,

Kristi
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

I travel to the area for business, but always have a couple hours of down time. This is a great hotel right on Las Olas Blvd. I've stayed twice and gotten good rates on-line both times, so don't know if the regular prices are reasonable or not. Reminds me a bit of the Biltmore in Coral Gables...on a smaller scale. Haven't eaten in the restaurants yet. Rooms are big, comfortable and clean. Very quiet in the tower rooms. Very pleasant front desk service.

Room Tip: Ask to be upgraded to a tower room...with a view of the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJGordon59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside1936, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Hi PJ Gordon,

Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor! What a compliment to be compared to the Biltmore! We're getting renovations on our rooms this year, projected to be done by late October. We hope to see you back to get your feedback!

Sunny Regards,

Kristi
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Purchased on Priceline for the night before sailing from Port Everglades. This came as a pleasant surprise. Excellent value for money with a surprisingly large room and bathroom.
The room service was excellent.
Cons: Facing Las Olas means noise, even many stories up. The hotel bedding could use an update. The grout in the bathroom needs attention.
Pro: The hotel staff is excellent and cheerful.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gnarfle23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside1936, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Hi Gnarfle23,

Thanks for your feedback! We love entertaining Cruise guests and hope you had a fantastic trip! We will be getting renovations this summer and hope you will join us for your next cruise to check them out!

Sunny Regards,

Kristi
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#15 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
2,799 reviews
Pier Sixty-Six Hotel & Marina
#43 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
4,933 reviews
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#24 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort La...
#39 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
3,173 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#20 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,731 reviews
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#44 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
3,993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel

Address: 620 E Las Olas Blvd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301-2287
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#20 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#20 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: $153 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riverside Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing