We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An unexpected gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riverside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riverside Hotel
Ranked #15 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
florence forum
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An unexpected gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

A potential snow storm made my husband and I to make a decision to arrive early in Fort Lauderdale so we wouldn't miss our cruise. I usually research a lot before we vacation anywhere, so this was a challenge. I picked The Riverside Hotel because it was close to the airport and Port Everglades. I wasn't so much interested in the beach, since we would be visiting many beaches on our cruise. When I called to inquire about availabiltiy, I received a very pleasant person and felt this was a very welcoming hotel. Also, I inquired about taxi service, water taxi service, airport shuttles and such pertinent information that we needed. I knew about the area a little bit (we had stayed in Fort Lauderdale about 10 years ago, when our children were younger), however, we never stayed on Las Olas Blvd. and was curious.) When we arrived, I was pleasantly surprised! The lobby was elegant and the staff was so accomodating. We knew that we had a very early flight and our room could not be possibly ready, so we went to lunch and before we were even finished, we received a call saying our room was ready. The room itself was perfect for us. It was on the 12th floor and had a great view of the waterway. It also was immaculate. We decided to use the water taxi to explore the area. It was only 2 blocks away and very convienient. We strolled the boulevard and had dinner at our hotel, which was much better than most hotel dining that we experienced. We also were entranced with the singer that serenaded us during dinner. He was an older gentleman who had a fabulous voice that could sing anything from Motown to Frank Sinatra to Louis Armstrong. We also went to the store in the hotel and met the most pleasant employee there. She couldn't have been nicer and sincerely loved her job and her employers! Such a refreshing change! She said the staff felt like family with the owners. This was very evident! It was such a pleasure to speak to someone with such a positive attitude. In the morning we had a shuttle from the airport to the pier and it was so efficient. If this hotel keeps their standards up, I would certainly recommend it. It was an unexpected gem for us.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jange428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    660
    484
    161
    75
    46
See reviews for
212
545
87
277
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Rochelle, New York
Level Contributor
112 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

Riverside is a cute hotel located right on Las Olas Blvd. near Rt.1 in Ft. Lauderdale.

We had a room in the new wing which is light, bright and very comfortable.

The food at the Hotel Restaurants is very good and reasonable and the service across the board is pleasant and friendly.

If you are looking for an affordable hotel - but not right on the beach - this is a great option.

Room Tip: The older section of the hotel is more affordable but the rooms seem from the 1950's and are sma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

Great location on Las Olas Blvd...older hotel with great service..in the middle of all the action...all night entertainment out on the front sidewalk..20 min to airport..valet parking $23/day but well worth as the service was great

Room Tip: we booked a king but they gave us a queen..changed our room to a king with no problems we were next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
965 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 450 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stay here every year. You can't get a better location for great restaurants - right on Las Olas Boulevard...

The staff are super friendly and polite and are always very welcoming...

As we stay here every year, we sometimes get upgraded to the towers, which are a lot better than the standard rooms.

Definitely recommend...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff and Jenni G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

As with other reviewers, we picked Riverside because of its excellent location on Las Olas Blvd. We stayed in the Tower, as we read a few negative reviews of the old, original section of the hotel.
The tower did not disappoint. The room on the 12th floor was spacious, nicely appointed, with a large bathroom. We did not use the mini-bar, but we did take advantage of the balcony. Altogether, a fine room.
Check-in was by an extremely friendly, personable desk clerk by the name of Terri. She could not have been nicer or more welcoming. And the balcony was an upgrade she arranged, something we did not ask for, and which came as a pleasant surprise!
The problems started the next morning.
We ordered room service breakfast between 8:30 and 9:00AM. It came at 7:10AM... and yanked us out of a deep sleep. We sent it away, and it later came at just before 9:00AM. Turns out they had the right order, just the wrong room.
When the breakfast came, (scrambled eggs and bacon, with potatoes), it arrived without salt and pepper. Worse yet, there was a slip of paper from the kitchen sitting not on the tray, not on the food cover .. but on my food itself. Not good.
The morning took another unexpected turn when I turned on the shower and the very heavy lever twisted off and fell on my foot. Ouch!
After showering, I went downstairs and asked for the manager. The more I talked, the more he cringed. He was quite concerned and embarrassed by the problems, and insisted on taking the room service breakfast charge off our bill, which was very nice of him.
Actually, the manager was grateful to hear about the issues. And that is the main reason I am even posting this.
Any hotel stay can be made less satisfactory by careless human error. And, unless management is made aware of the problems, they usually persist. In that sense, it is always better to say something to someone at the hotel with the authority to solve a problem right then and there, rather than complain from a distance after the fact.
Any manager worth his or her salt will tell you if you wait until you get home to complain about something, they are powerless to help you. The fact is they want to know about problems to make their product better in the future.
Truth is, in the scheme of things, the little glitches were pretty minor. The hotel was quite comfortable, the staff was extremely friendly, and the management eager to fix any problems their guests encounter.
For that reason, I would not hesitate to stay their again.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room if you like stepping outside, or enjoying a glass of wine outdoors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrisco01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

I am traveling a lot in USA and abroad. I is a very good hotel - good loacation, frendly staff, pool, parking. I cannot find even single neggative comment about the Riverside hotel. I am staying the third time and every time I just love this place. I left it wishing to return here again. Thank you for a really good stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela231_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wezembeek-Oppem, Belgium
Level Contributor
79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We booked the hotel on the recommendation of the travel agent. We were traveling as a group of friends and were all were arriving at different times. At the hotel we could all meet together and meet everyone before we left together on a cruise. The hotel organized a reception with drinks and snacks - at extra cost of course. The day before the cruise there was an art fair up and down Las Olas which was quite interesting. The down side of this was it was difficult for cars or taxis to find the way to the hotel entrance - but all-in-all a positive experience.
It's a good town location but if you want to be close to the beach, this is not the place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#17 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,524 reviews
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
#42 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,528 reviews
The Aqua Hotel
#9 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Victoria Park
The Victoria Park Hotel
The Victoria Park Hotel
#3 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
Fort Lauderdale Marriott North
#16 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,321 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#24 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel

Property: Riverside Hotel
Address: 620 E Las Olas Blvd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301-2287
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#20 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#20 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riverside Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing