We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riverside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riverside Hotel
Ranked #15 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

My friend and I stayed 3 nights at the Riverside Hotel on Las Olas Blvd in Ft. Lauderdale, FL. The staff were courteous and professional and the location was great...lots of shopping, restaurants, spas, etc. within walking distance. Room was good sized and well-maintained; although, more accessible electrical outlets in the room and bathroom would be nice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dobrikowh, General Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Good Afternoon,
glad to see that you liked our location on Las Olas Boulevard. I also liked your recommendation in regards to the electrical outlet. We are looking into making improvements.

We hope to see you soon and want to wish you the Best for 2013.

Thank you,

Heiko Dobrikow
General Manager at The Riverside Hotel
Executive Vice President at The Las Olas Company
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    660
    484
    161
    75
    46
See reviews for
212
545
87
277
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
malone
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed in the hotel 2 days ago. I booked the hotel from The UK, speaking with the desk clerk I was assured it was a very up market hotel with recently refurbished rooms.
Our rooms had mold in the showers, one room had a serious mold issue, clothes put into the chest of drawers smelled of mold after 10 minutes in the drawers, the ac unit cover in one room was broken and not repaired, the cleaning lady left her old towels on the bathroom floor, the bed smelled of mold.
The elevators had not been cleaned in months; old carpet on the floor had holes in it.
This is one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed in, overpriced, filthy rooms, poor management, cracked floor tiles on stairs and hallways.
We received $75 in compensation.
Do yourself a favor don’t be conned into thinking this a plush hotel, avoid it

Room Tip: We were lied to by the desk manager,. He told us the rooms were recently remodeled. The rooms that w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kjd769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dobrikowh, General Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Good Morning,
thank you so much for your review and I am so embarrassed about your experience at our hotel. I immediately took action and met with my Executive Housekeeper and Director of Engineering. Since we did not have your name, we had every room walked and found the room you stayed in. It was located in the original section of the hotel. I immediately took the room off line, removed the carpet and replaced it with a new one. We blitz the room by regrouting the shower area and repaired the A/C cover, that had a broken piece.

Thank you for bringing this to my attention. We should have never rented you this room and I apology for the inconvenience.

Hope you give us another chance and you may enjoy the tower section of the hotel versus the original section of the hotel. The rooms are larger and were built in 2001.

Thank you again for your candor,

Heiko Dobrikow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

This hotel is on the river where the water taxi cruises. You don't need a car to go to great restaurants or the beach. It is also on a street with many, many eclectic shops and after dark it comes alive. The hotel is very clean and you can either stay in the old section which we did or the new modern wing. It has such atmosphere and is convenient to the airport and Port Everglades. We only stayed two nights but would go back in a heartbeat for a longer stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank talk49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dobrikowh, General Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Good Morning,
I am so pleased that you liked our location on Las Olas Boulevard and the conveninece just stepping out of the door to enjoy the shops and restaurants.

Hope to see you in the near furture.

Sunny regards,

Heiko Dobrikow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milledgeville, Georgia
Level Contributor
234 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

The Riverside is a beautiful old hotel nestled within the shopping district of Las Olas. They offer fine dining, a lively bar scene, a very private pool, and a very accommodating staff. Our room was well equipped, although since it is an older hotel, we realized there wouldn't be electrical outlets placed as often as we would like for our electronic needs. The housekeeping staff was very helpful in meeting our needs for fresh towels or to have the room freshened. The valet and concierge were excellent, and the front desk clerk remembered my name for all four days of my stay.

Shopping and restaurants are literally only steps away. There is a water taxi stop only two blocks from the hotel, and the Sun Trolley will stop at the front door on Las Olas if you prefer to travel by land. The airport is a 15-minute taxi ride away ($20), and if you're energetic, the beach is about a 30-minute walk. But be warned, there is lots to see along the way, so if you are a window shopper it will take much longer!

Room Tip: There is a new tower that offers more modern rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LuckyTravel4_2_24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dobrikowh, General Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Good Morning,
I just wanted to respond with a quick note of Thanks for this great review. I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay.

I appreciate to feedback on the electrical needs for the more outlets and we will correct this issue.

Warm regards,

Heiko Dobrikow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Pierce, Florida
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

There is a downtown Fort Lauderdale and it's not on the ocean. Only a short drive to the beach, this charming hotel takes you back to the early days of the area. Located on the New River and trendy Las Olas Blvd the hotel is surrounded by million dollar homes and yachts and some of the best flora and fauna you will find in South Florida. We have only stayed in the newer tower, but they also offer a more original version. Rooms are spacious and comfortable with great views from most. The staff is both professional and friendly and there is a nice pub and restaurant on the ground floor. The lobby is spacious and comfortable with a small garden right out the door, and a few steps away from the hotel is a great pool area for relaxing and enjoying the surroundings. Walk out the back door and you are on Las Olas Blvd with it's shops, restaurants and bars, or catch the Water Taxi at the local stop and tour the area from the Waterway. The Riverside is a perfect palce for a long-weekend getaway!

Room Tip: Ask for a river view at check-in. A balcony is nice when it's not too hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveltc36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dobrikowh, General Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Good Morning,
wow...a perfect 5 rating and calling us a "gem" was the delight to my staff, when I shared your review with them during our line-up meeting.

Thank you very much and come back soon,

Heiko Dobrikow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Six of us arrived at 11am on 10/31/12 after coming back from a cruise out of Miami. Two of the 3 rooms were ready.. understandably that check in wasnt until 3pm. The 3rd within an hour! Wonderful front desk staff!

We spent the afternoon at the pool. Pool area is in back of hotel and is surrounded by trees and faces the river. Lots of lounge chairs in the sun and plenty of tables & chairs under cover. Lunch and cold drinks were a phone call away, and delivered pool side. Food was excellant. Pool area was very clean and quiet. Spent the afternoon swimming and watching the large boats traveling just feet away.

The Riverside location is in th middle of Las Olas Blvd.... surrounded by shops, boutiques and restaurants. All within walking distance. The Italian Bakery across the street was a little too handy! We had breakfast on the front porch.... was relaxing and very good. Food prices are very much on par with a quality hotel.

Lobby area is open, but cozy with a nice area around a working fireplace. There is a tropical garden with tables and chairs to gather and converse. The Business Center was very good and easy to work in. Also internet access is free to registered guests.

We were at the Riverside for 2 nights... and would be my first choice for my next visit to Fort Lauderdale. I would highly recommend the Riverside Hotel and look forward to my next visit.

Room Tip: We had rooms on the 3rd and 6th floors in the older section of the hotel. All have been re-done with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dobrikowh, General Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Good Morning,
I loved reading your review and felt that we really did an outstanding job providing you group excellent service and a memorable experience.

We hope to see you in the near future,

Heiko Dobrikow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
89 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at this hotel because we have relatives nearby, but if I were merely visiting Fort Lauderdale I would still choose this hotel. It is located on Las Olas Boulevard, a fun shopping, dining, entertainment, cultural area. We have been there in the past for an art fair. This time there was a bike race. You can walk to the beach from here, or the art museum. It is on the canal. There is frequently live entertainment nearby.

The hotel itself is very clean and well run. Some of the room overlook the intercoastal where you can watch all manner of water craft go by. This time we also saw a manatee in the canal. Some of the rooms are more spacious and modern than others, so you should inquire about that. The old pine with pineapple embellishment furniture is nice, but the bathrooms in that section are compact. There is a more modern section that gives you a higher view and a bit larger accommodations.

The restaurant is always hopping with both outdoor and indoor dining. The breakfasts were fresh and delicious.

All in all a lovely place to stay.

Room Tip: We liked being above the third floor and overlooking the intercoastal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcubed48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dobrikowh, General Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Good Morning,
Thank you for a terrific review and perfect description on our hotel. I enjoyed reading your review.

Until the next time,

Heiko Dobrikow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#17 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,524 reviews
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
#42 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,528 reviews
The Aqua Hotel
#9 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Victoria Park
The Victoria Park Hotel
The Victoria Park Hotel
#3 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
Fort Lauderdale Marriott North
#16 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,321 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#24 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel

Property: Riverside Hotel
Address: 620 E Las Olas Blvd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301-2287
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#20 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#20 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riverside Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing