We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice little Mother and Son Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of SUKHOTHAI RESTAURANT - CLOSED

SUKHOTHAI RESTAURANT
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice little Mother and Son Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

A friend took me to lunch here the other day and found it to be a great little spot for good
Thai food. The fact that it has been here for 23 years says volumes about it. Independents tend to come and go. I had the Basil Chicken and it was not too heavy and the spice was just right. My companion had the Red Curry. I tried it and it was good also. When we requested more rice, they were right on it with another heaping bowl. Recommend it for a casual lunch or dinner. It won't break your budget either.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pamibowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    38
    11
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great dinner - beautiful ambiance!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

We were recommended by Captain Adam from Spirit of Ft. Lauderdale after a lovely sunset cruise. Although it was late, the owners greeted us warmly. The restaurant was beautiful with low lighting and lots of ambiance... our server was very attentive and cordial. Our dinners were delicious. Highly recommend this restaurant for great Thai in Ft. Lauderdale!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bornninitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
95 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Best Thai Rest in FLL”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

I go to Sukho Thai at least 2-3 times a month, also order for pick up all the time. Love the food there. Owner is always there, always checking on guests and saying hello to all her guests. I really recommend this place if you are looking for good Thai food!

Helpful?
Thank VenezolanoFLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
233 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Valentine's Day Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

On Valentine's Day, we went to an old reliable for us, Sukhothai, in Fort Lauderdale. This restaurant is a long time favorite of locals, known for the friendly service and extensive menu. Susie or one of her staff will greet you at the door, and you will usually be quickly seated. It was a rainy night, and we were able to sit right away. We had called previously for a reservation, and they said it wasn't necessary, as we were coming at 7pm. It's common in Fort Lauderdale for people to eat later - restaurants half full at 7 will be packed at 830 or 9. Service was immediate, and we ordered drinks. One negative note: my Chinese beer order was not as cold as it could have been. Positive note: second beer was delivered in ice, like champagne! We had spring rolls as an appetizer, and they were good. For main course I had green curry pork, which was tasty, and not too hot (asked for medium heat - scale goes up to Thai!). My companion has her favorite, Pad Thai, which she very much enjoyed. Portions are generous - most people take a doggie bag home. Summing up: a nice Thai restaurant with great service and reasonable prices, lots of repeat local customers. PS - best Thai meal I ever had was in St. George, Utah.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nancysid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, Ny
Level Contributor
128 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Convenient Location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

The food was filling but did not seem to be real Thai food. Very good if you like Americanized, bland food, as there was a lot of it. But there must be more authentic Thai restaurants somewhere in south Florida.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Pointlessly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SUKHOTHAI RESTAURANT also viewed

Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing