We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Visions of Sugar Plums” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Broward Center for the Performing Arts

Broward Center for the Performing Arts
Book In Advance
More Info
$62.54*
and up
Fort Lauderdale Segway Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Musical and theater productions, including touring Broadway shows, take the stage here.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
87 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Visions of Sugar Plums”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Nutcracker Ballet, a traditional favorite,highlight of the season. The Florida Ballet Company at the Parker Playhouse gave a fantastically costumed and choreographed performance. Even the occasional squealing child in the audience became quiet as a mouse, so rapt was everyone to the dancers' magic and children's chorus's "toe" walking. Maybe next year a full orchestra to replace the tinny, overly loud recording of Tchaikovsky's great Christmas present. But a great multicultural dance experience for all. Repeat for next year for sure.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    271
    109
    19
    6
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
690 reviews
395 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
“Great Show”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

We recently saw "The Book of Mormon" here and were blown away by the performance! It is a Great Show! And the Broward Center is a wonderful venue. However, $12 for parking and $11 for a small glass of wine is surely patron abuse. Not to mention the crazy fees charged by Ticketmaster to order online. For the addons we could almost have bought another ticket!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank cordyroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida, Usa
Level Contributor
264 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Fabulous theater!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

I've attended shows at many theaters around the country and the Broward Center still remains one of my favorite venues. While living in South Florida I was a season ticket holder for many years and loved it! Since moving from South Florida I try to see a show every time I come back to visit. The Broward Center attracts outstanding shows including the one I just saw -- Book of Mormons; an outstanding show in a beautiful theater makes for a wonderful cultural experience. Additionally, the Broward Center is located close to many fabulous restaurants for either before or after the show. Makes for a great night out!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
94 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Book of Mormon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

My husband and I won Book of Mormon lottery tickets and had the good fortune to see this show from the second row. The show was beyond funny. I am a huge South Park fan and this show did not disappoint. The theater itself is charming and well located right on the river. The parking in the garage was reasonable at $12.00 with an adjacent skywalk that led directly into the theater. The theater itself (inside and out)was lovely. Even the box office staff were super friendly. Thanks for a great night!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank JulieBee813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great venue”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

Upscale theater? They have a club section that is not crowded. Regular seating is comfortable. Parking garage next door, valet parking. Lots of dinner choices in the neighborhood

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jrobb3030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Broward Center for the Performing Arts also viewed

Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 

Been to Broward Center for the Performing Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing