We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fix stuff”

Museum of Discovery and Science
Book In Advance
More Info
$62.54*
and up
Fort Lauderdale Segway Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: There is always something new happening at the Museum of Discovery and Science. Spend a day of discovery exploring hundreds of interactive exhibits including the new EcoDiscovery Center. Visitors can take a ride on the Everglades Airboat Adventure, experience hurricane force winds in the Storm Center, dig for fossils alongside a giant prehistoric megalodon, get close to a confrontation between a saber-toothed cat and an Imperial mammoth, and enjoy the playful antics of North American river otters in their two-story indoor/outdoor habitat. See exciting science demonstrations, and presentations by community experts. Discover the amazing Everglades in the Florida EcoScapes exhibit. Hang out with bats, turtles and sharks. Meet an alligator and be charmed by a 6-foot-long snake. Take a ride to Mars or soar through the skies in an FA-18 cockpit simulator or take a ride in the 7D simulator. And immerse yourself in a six-story-high film adventure at the AutoNation(R) IMAX 3D Theater, home of the BIGGEST screen in South Florida featuring IMAX with Laser. Whether you're two or 82 visit the Museum of Discovery and Science and enjoy a full day of family fun.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator, Lockers / storage, Stroller parking, Activities for older children
Miami, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
“Fix stuff”
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Not bad seeing we had a groupon but most the exhibits were not working or missing parts, new exhibit not even setup yet only thing that made it fun were the otters swimming. Really needs a touch up and more exhibits

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vivalabigseth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    437
    284
    109
    30
    18
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Good Museum Trip”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Looking for something to do with our 6 and 7 year old grandchildren on a couple of days off from school, we explored our various options. We are members of the C'mon museum in Naples (our hometown) but for the most part the museum is geared for the toddler and they have been there several times in the past. Our original plan was to travel to Tampa to the MOSI but after reading some negative reviews, we decided on the Museum of Discovery and
Science. We happened to go on a day where there were many, many class trips (an unusually large amount according to the staff) but we didn't have any difficulty getting to the exhibits (most of which were interactive), the Everglades Boat Ride and the IMAX show. The children enjoyed their day and were disappointed when it was time to leave.

We found it clean, well organized, with a staff that was pleasant and helpful. Would recommend highly.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank a5lson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“We enjoyed a full afternoon at this nice and varied museum in Ft. Lauderdale”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

My husband and I purchased a Groupon prior to arriving in the Miami area for a week long stay. Since we had visited the area the previous year and experienced may rainy days, we figured that this would be good for a rainy day. However, this year, we experienced beautiful weather the entire week. We spent a full afternoon enjoying this great museum. This displays and interactive areas were very varied and interesting. From live animal and sea life displays through prehistoric, from weather to space, and lots in between. We spent about four hours and could have been occupied for at least another hour. There is an IMAX theater also; however, we didn't go see the movie. I expect a full day could have been spent here, if we had chosen to stay and see the 90 minute movie. Parking was convenient nearby. It was metered parking. We really enjoyed our afternoon at the museum and was glad we got the 50% off Groupon; otherwise we probably wouldn't have known about this museum nor tried it. It was a great break from the "typical" beach activities.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Egret1986061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Museum”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

It is a big museum and so few things inside. It looks unfinished...it is very interesting to go if you have kids, otherwise, don't bother.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Helga R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Great hands on Science Museum for all ages”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I went to this museum with my two daughters (ages 12 and 14) and they both loved it. There was lots of fun things for them to try out and quite a variety of exhibits. The variety of activities/exhibits means that this museum can appeal to a pretty wide range of ages. We went to this museum a couple of years ago and this one place that they both wanted to visit again (and that's coming from a tween and a teen!)

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michigan Mom of three
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Discovery and Science also viewed

Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 

Been to Museum of Discovery and Science? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing