We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Gateway To The Keys
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Florida City
Certificate of Excellence
Temecula, California
1 review
“Nice Stay”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

I was pleasantly pleased with my stay at Best Western in Florida City. The hotel was clean and the staff was exceptional. I really liked the staffs efforts to accomadate my extra request for my stay. Very resonably priced for a nice place.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    661
    615
    210
    38
    33
See reviews for
552
650
55
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canton, CT, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 16, 2014

The hotel is convenient to visiting Everglades National Park. There are good restaurants nearby. The breakfast was well run with many choices of food. Fresh fruit would have been welcome. The jacuzzi was run down and needed to be updated.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Fred S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alto, Michigan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We will come back here again if we return to the keys. Our rooms were clean, beds were comfortable and clean, and service was great during our 4 night stay. Breakfast included hot bacon, eggs, waffles each morning along with the usual cereals, toast, bagels, donuts, muffins, coffee, or juice. Pool/patio area were nice just to hang out in the sun and palm trees. Hot tub was actually hot, unlike many places we go where they are barely warm. Cookies and coffee served all day in the lobby. My kids forgot their toothbrush and were each given brushes, paste, and Scope mouthwash to use. This hotel is just about 25 miles from our activities in Key Largo, but was over $100 a night cheaper than any Key Largo hotel. So we spent that $100 each night on a nice dinner for our family eating fresh Florida seafood instead.

We read a lot of the negative reviews on here and were admittedly nervous that we would not be happy with the quality of the service here, but my family gives this place an A+

Room Tip: We spent the five bucks a night extra to stay poolside and it was worth it. We wanted first floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EricAngie95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GATEWAYBW, Manager at Best Western Gateway To The Keys, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thank you for your great review. We are glad to hear your enjoyed your stay. I could not have sold what we have to offer than your title. We provide better service, clean rooms, more value at less than half the price of the Keys. Im really happy that your took that extra savings and spent it on some great meals. Nothing beats that kind of deal. As for the negative reviews, We strive very hard to provide a 5 star experience such as yours for every single guest. Our guests have come to expect this from us as just usual business. Sometimes we do not meet those expectations and they tend to be more vocal than others. But I am really glad you enjoyed your stay. It gives me great pleasure to see a great review such as yours and I really do hope you come back and visit us again. When you do comeback please call us directly at 305-246-5100 or email us a gatewaybw@aol.com . We can offer the best rates, discounts and no hassle cancelation policy.

Sincerely
Felix
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

First room had anemic AC. It was hot no matter how long we had it on, just wouldn't cool down. Second room had gnats that just kept appearing. It was like there was a nest in the room. Not wild about external doors. It was a little noisy. The Holiday Inn Express down the street would be a way better choice.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank MellerFeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GATEWAYBW, Manager at Best Western Gateway To The Keys, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
I'm sorry about your experience at our hotel. We had the A/C checked in your room and it was blowing cold. I apologize it was not able to get it to the temperature you needed. As a precaution we got the A/C changed and had it sent back to the company since it was a brand new A/C. I know you had concerns about exterior doors and the noise level and the gnats. Our rooms are made of concrete and have minimal noise from the outside. As for the gnats, they get it very quickly if the door is let open and have a lot of food in the room. We spray regularly since Florida is a breading ground for bugs. I assure you even though we are an exterior property our hotel is a better value and offer more then the hotels around. Im am again sorry we were unable to meet your needs and hope you come visit us again. Thank you for taking the time to write this review

Sincerely,
Felix
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
792 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

To our knowledge, this the only BW property in this area of Florida, and in my opinion was a pretty good value. This property is close to many venues and tourist spots in southern Florida. We used this hotel as the home base for our day trips to the Everglades National Park, Robert is Here, the Post Office, The Everglades Alligator Farm, Key Largo, and even as far afield as Key West, FL. Our stay lasted 7 days. It was every relaxing stay. The property is well maintained. Breakfast was good but not exceptional for BW standards. The pool and hot tub were clean. The staff was helpful. The hotel is in close proximity to Wal-Mart, Starbucks, and many good restaurants. The local McDonalds is just across the street. I recommend the airboat ride at the Everglades Alligator Farm and Robert is Here.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woodmister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GATEWAYBW, Manager at Best Western Gateway To The Keys, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Im really happy that your wrote such an informative review. As you can see there is a lot of offer here and much better value than most hotels around. We are only 15 minutes away from the everglades and 30 minutes away from the first island of the Florida Keys. I also agree with your tip of going on the air boat ride and Roberts is here. There milk shakes are the best. I did see your comments about the breakfast and sent you a message so that you can better inform us on how to improve. We here at the Best Western really appreciate your stay and wish you come and visit us again. If you do ever comeback, please book directly with us for the best prices/discounts and no hassle issues with cancellations and modifications. Please call us at 305-246-5100 or email us gatewaybw@aol.com.

Thanks
Felix
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

we arrived early to check in. I started with stomach bug on the flight to FL. After a long drive to the hotel the desk clerk was able to move things around and get us into a room early. You have no idea how grateful I was for that! Spending the rest of the day in bed sick I was able to get out and enjoy the Everglades the next day. The staff was very helpful to us. We have stayed at this hotel each year we travel to the Everglades and will continue to do so. Hotel is clean comfortable and we feel very safe here.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank pzipp67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GATEWAYBW, Manager at Best Western Gateway To The Keys, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
I am sorry to hear about your sickness during your stay. I am really pleased we were able to accommodate you on your early check in. Im sure some rest was well needed and deserved. We love to see that you spend every year in our area. Im sure it is great to get away from the cold. We are only minutes away from the Everglades and have a lot to offer in the area. Thank you complimenting the cleanliness of our rooms. The housekeeping staff really appreciate your kind words. We work hard to keep our hotel as clean and comfortable as possible for you. Please contact us for your next stay. Like I always say, for the best service, price and rooms, call us directly at 305-246-5100 or email us at gatewaybw@aol.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
halifax, Canada
1 review
Reviewed April 13, 2014

very helpful staff, the room was a good size and clean. The pool area was extremely nice. We will return to this hotel on our next vacation in this area. Location couldn't be better, it was near everything needed and more.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GATEWAYBW, Manager at Best Western Gateway To The Keys, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write this review. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive hard to provide a five star experience for all our guests. Its great to hear that when we do provide that for our guests. We are very conveniently located, just minutes from the Everglades and 30 minutes from the Florida Keys. We really hope you come back soon and when you do return, please book directly with us for the best prices, discounts, and experience. Please call 305-246-5100 or email us directly gatewaybw@aol.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Florida City
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Florida City - Homestead
0.5 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Florida City
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Super 8 Florida City/Homestead
Super 8 Florida City/Homestead
#6 of 12 in Florida City
951 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Miami-South-Homestead
2.7 mi away
Floridian Hotel
Floridian Hotel
#4 of 14 in Homestead
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Gateway To The Keys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Gateway To The Keys

Property: Best Western Gateway To The Keys
Address: 411 South Krome Avenue, Florida City, FL 33034-4913
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Florida City
#5 Family Hotel in Florida City
#6 Business Hotel in Florida City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Gateway To The Keys 2.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Florida City/Homestead, Florida, close to attractions such as the Everglades National Park, the Florida Keys, Miami Speedway, and Biscayne National Park. Best Western Gateway to the Keys’ guests will find friendly helpful staff, newly renovated accommodations and convenient access a variety of key area attractions. Located in Florida City, adjacent to Homestead this Southern Florida area hotel features well-appointed guest rooms, each equipped with Flat Screen LCD television, refrigerator, microwave and free high-speed Internet access. Hotel guests will enjoy an array of amenities including a complimentary hot breakfast, an outdoor swimming pool and hot tub, Free guest laundry, free boat and RV parking and meeting facilities. Guests staying at the Best Western Gateway to the Keys will find an array of shopping nearby at the Prime Outlet Shops, the Cutler Bay Shopping Mall and The Falls Shopping Mall. NASCAR® fans staying at the hotel will appreciate being 5 miles from the Homestead/Miami Motorsports Complex, home to a variety of racing events throughout the year. This Homestead area hotel is also located less than 10 miles from key area attractions such as the Everglades National Park, Biscayne National Park and the John Pennekamp Underwater Stone Park. Visitors our hotel will also enjoy a day of fun in the sun at the beautiful Florida Keys or at Miami Beach, just a short drive away. The friendly, helpful staff at the Best Western Park Gateway to the Keys is ready to ensure a fun-filled memorable stay in Florida City, Florida. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Best Western, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Gateway To The Keys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gateway To The Keys Hotel Florida City
Best Western Florida City
Florida City Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing