We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“an excellent place to spend a night” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Florida City
Certificate of Excellence
Toms River
Level Contributor
122 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“an excellent place to spend a night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

My wife and I had an afternoon flight into Ft. Lauderdale. We were headed for the lower keys. I decided that I did not want to drive all the way in one shot. Florida City looked like a good alternative for an overnight stay. I was either going to stay at the Best Western or the Travel lodge across the street. Since the Best Western was on our side of Route 1 as you head south that was our choice. The entrance off of Route 1 is tricky. You need to slow down when you see the sign, get in the right lane, and get your directional on lest you get rear ended by the cars behind you. You cannot see the hotel from the road as it is set back pretty far from the road. Check in was a little slow as there were people ahead of us and there was only one person working the desk. We got a room on the 2nd floor facing the pool. This is nicer than a room facing the parking lot in my opinion. It was nice to see that the pool was being used by the younger set. The room itself was perfectly adequate. For whatever reason the wifi signal did not reach our room. You needed to go to the lobby area to pick it up. The bed was comfortable and we got a good nights sleep. The breakfast in the morning was a good one. They had scrambled eggs and plenty of bacon. The lady taking care of the buffet works very hard. As soon as things need to be refreshed they were. We walked to the nearby seafood restaurant for dinner. Check out did take on the long side however. They do need to improve it.

Room Tip: rooms facing the pool give you a better view, but there may be an issue of more noise if children ha...
See more room tips
Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sheltercove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    546
    504
    185
    34
    28
See reviews for
463
531
44
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I am really impressed by the room in this hotel. It is large, has nice furniture with lots of storage, a large closet, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, complimentary soap and shampoo, alarm clock, telephone, concierge notebook listing activities, restaurants in the area, private bathroom with tub, and a sitting area with a couch AND a table with 2 chairs. Flatscreen tv with cable channels, free wifi and plenty of lighting. There is free parking in their private lot right in front of your room and some of the lot is shaded. The bed is comfortable and the quilt on the bed is white.....you can see that it is clean. No questionable stains hiding in a flowered quilt! The ONLY negative I have is that the floors are carpeted and the room had a funky odor, as if the carpet got wet at some point. I should have brought my can of Lysol and that would have taken care of it. All told, I am pleased with this hotel and would definitely recommend it to everyone!

Room Tip: My husband and I stayed in room 125.....first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YakkerBun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Six Mile, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We had limited time here on the way to the Keys but enjoyed our stay. The courtyard pool area is lovely. Our room was large by any standards and very clean. The seafood restaurant around the corner was very good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbC7149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
78 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

It's been a while since we stayed at a BW and this visit was ok, but not remarkable. Maybe we should have spent some more $$ and chosen a poolview room: the atmosphere on that side of building was nicer as would the view have been (which was now P-lot). Your navigationsystem might have trouble locating this motel (ours had): Krome Ave goes all through Homestead and Florida City AND both access(side)roads to the motel are a bit hidden. There is a main P-lot and an overflow one, so that will probably be enough even if the motels is fully booked.

There were 2 people working at the frontdesk upon check-in, but neither of them seemed eager to help us .. why is it so hard to just be friendly to guests? As mentioned before, our room was on the P-lot side on the 2nd floor. Average but clean, comfy beds, noisy airco. LAN-internet worked fine. Breakfast was oke, seating is a bit tight.

The pool area was quite nice (pool towels available) and looked well kept in a bit of a tropical setting. Overall, we wouldn't mind staying here again, but there are other motels in the area that may be worth trying.

Room Tip: Spent some more $$ and go for the poolview rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anika43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, NL
Level Contributor
116 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We spent one night here. The room was clean and reasonably comfortable however you could hear the TV from next door. The breakfast was good with scrambled eggs and bacon.

When we arrived a bit early the front desk staff was pleasant enough but not very knowledgeable. Our room was not ready and when I asked what we could do and where to go, she suggested the Everglades. When I asked what we would do there she admitted she did not know as she had never been there. There were also no maps of the community available and no tourist info.

Room Tip: Get an inside room overlooking the pool so that you don't have road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BJH1936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here two nights in Nov while visiting the Everglades.

The room was a good size and clean. The hotel presented itself well...with a bright and clean lobby and nicely manicured grounds. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. The pool area looked nice but it was too cold to use during our visit. We didn't stay for any breakfasts as we were out early each morning.

The beds were not very comfortable- nor were the pillows. Wi fi did not work in the room- but would work in the lobby or at the pool area.

We did not feel comfortable driving around at night in the towns surrounding the hotel. ( Homestead and Florida City). The hotel itself however, was well lit and felt safe.

There is not much near the hotel- although we did find a Starbucks and Walgreens very close by.
Overall, It was a good base for exploring this side of the Everglades and there aren't too many other options.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbugs920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Florida City
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Florida City - Homestead
0.5 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Florida City
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Super 8 Florida City/Homestead
Super 8 Florida City/Homestead
#6 of 12 in Florida City
4.0 of 5 stars 802 reviews
2.7 mi away
Floridian Hotel
Floridian Hotel
#3 of 17 in Homestead
3.5 of 5 stars 531 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Florida City
Ramada Florida City
#9 of 12 in Florida City
3.0 of 5 stars 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys

Property: BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys
Address: 411 S Krome Ave, Florida City, FL 33034-4913
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Florida City
#5 Family Hotel in Florida City
#6 Business Hotel in Florida City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys 2.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Florida City/Homestead, Florida, close to attractions such as the Everglades National Park, the Florida Keys, Miami Speedway, and Biscayne National Park. Best Western Gateway to the Keys’ guests will find friendly helpful staff, newly renovated accommodations and convenient access a variety of key area attractions. Located in Florida City, adjacent to Homestead this Southern Florida area hotel features well-appointed guest rooms, each equipped with Flat Screen LCD television, refrigerator, microwave and free high-speed Internet access. Hotel guests will enjoy an array of amenities including a complimentary hot breakfast, an outdoor swimming pool and hot tub, Free guest laundry, free boat and RV parking and meeting facilities. Guests staying at the Best Western Gateway to the Keys will find an array of shopping nearby at the Prime Outlet Shops, the Cutler Bay Shopping Mall and The Falls Shopping Mall. NASCAR® fans staying at the hotel will appreciate being 5 miles from the Homestead/Miami Motorsports Complex, home to a variety of racing events throughout the year. This Homestead area hotel is also located less than 10 miles from key area attractions such as the Everglades National Park, Biscayne National Park and the John Pennekamp Underwater Stone Park. Visitors our hotel will also enjoy a day of fun in the sun at the beautiful Florida Keys or at Miami Beach, just a short drive away. The friendly, helpful staff at the Best Western Park Gateway to the Keys is ready to ensure a fun-filled memorable stay in Florida City, Florida. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gateway To The Keys Hotel Florida City
Best Western Florida City
Florida City Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing